Chevron Left
Back to Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners by University of California San Diego

4.3
stars
1,224 ratings
371 reviews

About the Course

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Top reviews

DL
Apr 17, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

MZ
Apr 14, 2020

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 369 Reviews for Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

By Afshin P

Apr 25, 2017

Thank you.

This course was very effective for me.

It has a lot of details, and I need to review some issues agian

By Florent C

Mar 2, 2020

Très bon cours malgré le fait qu'il faille passer par une plateforme externe de Coursera pour les cours

By Flávio H V d M

Apr 30, 2021

The course is very nice but very difficult at the same time. It is not a course for true beginners!!

By Surabhi D

Jun 4, 2016

Stepic issues with not syncing progress and assignment completion. All else was good. Well paced.

By itay b

Sep 19, 2016

very interesting!, i liked the stepik interactive lesson very much, i prefer them over lectures

By bpathakjee

Mar 26, 2017

Limited intro course compared to one offered few years ago but still Great start , Thank you

By Tarik A

Aug 20, 2020

Please add more video course and meaningful assignments instead of all readings. Thanks

By cristina g g

Apr 29, 2018

It doesnt seem for begginers in coding but still there is a lot of helpful information!

By SABARIKRISHNANBB R

Jan 1, 2020

Way more to be "digestible" to beginners in bioinformatics and non-computer students.

By Paul J

Jul 27, 2017

First time coding, so found some parts challenging, but worked it all out in the end!

By Daniel H

Feb 12, 2019

A very interesting course, but perhaps not necessarily for "begginer" programmers.

By Michael E L

Jul 4, 2017

Great intro course even if tedious for those who know next to nothing about coding

By Hamza A D

Feb 28, 2020

Good course although could be improved with more simplicity and less complexity.

By María J F P

Nov 14, 2018

This is definitely NOT a beginners course. Very interesting and useful, though.

By Mariane M R

Dec 18, 2020

/Não é nada fácil e muito menos nível iniciante, mas consegui pensar bastante.

By Juan J M

Aug 1, 2020

This is a challenging course for absolute beginners, but definitely rewarding!

By Helena C P d A B

Jul 31, 2016

It's good, but I would prefer that the python was taught within the course.

By Zein A Z

Jul 6, 2020

too hard for beginners, it started simple and escalated to hard very fast

By SUDARSHAN L

Jul 29, 2021

It's really difficult for someone without any programming knowledge.

By 王兆愉

Apr 13, 2021

Not recommended for real beginners who have no programming knowledge

By Abraham M E

Jul 1, 2018

It is a little bit basic, but a great introduction to bioinformatics

By María A B

Feb 17, 2019

I have learnt a lot, but sometimes I missed some help or feedback.

By Chaoying M

Sep 10, 2021

It's a good course, but of course not for 'real' beginners.

By Kirolos M

May 31, 2020

Great for beginners ,yet with some to-be-cleared concepts

By marty

Apr 27, 2020

A little difficult for beginners but definitely worthy!!