Chevron Left
Back to Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners by University of California San Diego

4.3
stars
1,224 ratings
371 reviews

About the Course

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Top reviews

DL
Apr 17, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

MZ
Apr 14, 2020

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 369 Reviews for Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

By Juris L

Jul 7, 2019

Amazing course with amazing pace and approach. Would recommend just one thing: describe and illustrate a bit more.

By Daniel C

Apr 4, 2017

A very entertaining way to learn programming and applying this new acquired knowledge to real problems in biology.

By Sim K H

May 12, 2020

In this course, I learnt how to think and code logically in order to computationally solve a biological question.

By Sofia R

Jul 14, 2017

Awesome! There's biology information and there's programming practice!

It's fantastic, thanks to the instructors!

By Shoken L

Jun 22, 2021

I am more motivated to learn bioinformatics than I was before taking this class. Thank you for the great class.

By Mrinal S

Sep 2, 2020

Very useful and informative course with thorough knowledge on how to code things related to Bioinformatics.

By Eyal W

May 23, 2018

Great course, very interesting.

Some of the python quizes are confusing but the comment are surely helpful!

By 常真

Dec 6, 2016

thank you guys,the most difficult lesson I have got,but I love the feelings when I finally accomplish it.

By Satavisha R

Jun 15, 2017

Amazing course. I learned plenty and can't wait to learn further more and apply the concepts to my work.

By Martin H

Jun 18, 2018

Great course. Its challenging but also very rewarding. Will try to keep up with the subsequent courses.

By brennon s

Jul 31, 2017

Well written and easy-to-follow. Requires very little searching for information not presented in course

By Juan M

Aug 26, 2019

Very helpful, definitely recommend the course. Helped me learn Python and the basics of Bioinformatics

By Franco D

Oct 23, 2019

Pretty good course, be ready from a Programming perspective (Python) because it ramps up pretty fast.

By Mufeeda C

May 22, 2020

I would suggest this course who have intermediate knowledge in programming, not for beginners.

By Parth P

Aug 15, 2020

this was an awesome way of learning! especially the external interactive tool is jus amazing!

By Divyanshi T

Apr 20, 2020

it was an amazing course, i have learned so much and would definitely recommend it to others.

By pratik

Jan 22, 2017

Good course for someone beginning in bioinformatics with background on computer programming.

By Edgardo P F J

Aug 11, 2020

Provides a good introduction to bioinformatics. Perfect for those interested with the area.

By Aakash R D

May 17, 2020

A very good course for people who know biology well and are computer science engineers

By Wujiduan

Aug 13, 2019

An excellent course for the beginners who want to start learning about bioinformatics!

By Pietro

Jul 28, 2016

Excellent course for beginner like me!!!

Thank again for introducing me to this matter.

By Muhit I

Jul 17, 2020

Very good course to start learning Bioinformatics with a focus on python programming.

By Wichayapat T

Aug 30, 2020

Good starting course for a programmer who doesn't have much knowledge on the biology

By Qiang C

Jan 1, 2018

I have got to understand how to search motifs and do motifs alignments using pythons

By Pablo R M

Apr 10, 2017

Excellent course! Instructors are great and the exercises using Stepik are awesome