Chevron Left
Back to Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners by University of California San Diego

4.3
stars
1,224 ratings
371 reviews

About the Course

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

Top reviews

DL
Apr 17, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

MZ
Apr 14, 2020

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

Filter by:

351 - 371 of 371 Reviews for Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners

By Celine A

Jul 16, 2020

Too complicated for a beginner's course, the quizzes don't match the stepik chapters.

By Inukonda J H

Jul 6, 2020

It is hard for beginners. Especially for some who has no computer lesson background.

By Víctor R D

Aug 15, 2020

It has been the most stressful and frustrating course, certainly not for beginners.

By Spencer P

Jun 16, 2020

Its called Bioinformatics for "Beginners", when it is still extremely difficult.

By Vidya B

Jun 15, 2020

This course is not for begginers. please change tag line.but good to learn

By Jad A

Jan 19, 2021

Takes A LOT more time than they say and the explanations aren't clear

By beatriz.rdias@hotmail.com

Nov 5, 2020

Really not for beginners. Wish i would know this before engaging.

By Vaishnavi R

Jun 8, 2020

This course is definitely not for beginners.

By Lina S P R

Jan 9, 2021

Is NOT FOR BEGINNERS, WAS SO HARD.

By Kaelyn B

Nov 8, 2020

This course was supposed to be for beginners, but I found that this is not the case at all. I had to spend about 10 hours a week for about four months outside of the course using other resources to actually be able to complete it. The fact that each question in the interactive learner does not show the full code is extremely limiting and frustrating for people completely new to learning to code. I would not recommend this course to others as a result.

By Berea R A

Jan 20, 2021

As a biologist, I find this course way more avanced than for beginners.

The Codecademy links provided are useful and do teach the basics of programming, however the Stepik tasks associated are far beyond what's explained on Codecademy, giving me the impression that to be able to pass this course you need to have a basics on programming more than on biology.

Mad respect to the biologists that are able to finish this course without going crazy.

By Charly C

Jun 9, 2021

Terrible el curso, mucha información está mal, loe ejercicios pesimamente explicados. Si sabes copiar y pegar puedes hacer el curso.

No lo recomiendo para nada, es una pérdida de tiempo, todo mal hecho. un asco de curso.

By George K

Nov 26, 2020

This course is definitely not for beginners. It takes too much more time than it mentions and fails to guide beginners in the bioinformatics field properly. Would not recommend it at all.

By Nicolás F T O

Feb 19, 2021

This course is terrible, it's poorly explained and it's by no means for beginners, a lie, I can't find a way to quit this course but if I knew I would do it immediately.

By Kushagra J

Aug 18, 2020

The course is surely not for beginners and it takes a lot more time than 4 hours a week.

By Hesham A

Aug 27, 2020

Not for beginners and the output window is badly programmed.

By sree s

Apr 5, 2021

I am a beginner and this is very difficult to understand.

By Litasha G

Apr 18, 2021

This course is not at all beginner level.

By Nour A M

Jun 27, 2021

I​s very difficult for biggeners

By Gamal A E N M A E N

Sep 17, 2020

its not for beginners

By Jeremy P

Jan 15, 2021

not for beginners