Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to the Biology of Cancer by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
5,711 ratings
1,152 reviews

About the Course

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Top reviews

AH
Mar 17, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK
Jul 31, 2020

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,130 Reviews for Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

By Alexandra C P

Mar 18, 2019

Fue un curso genial. El material es muy completo y además los profesores explicaron muy bien todos los temas abordados. Fue un excelente complemento para mis estudios. Agradezco mucho la oportunidad y la excelencia con la que fue elaborada este curso.

By Danny H

Oct 24, 2016

Great introductory course to cancer. I love how the course includes the clinical side as well as the biological implications of cancer and provides the information in a very simplistic style. The coursework is not overwhelming and I loved this course.

By Gnaneshwar P V

Jan 6, 2018

Best way of learning ..this course provided with detailed information covering all basics from cell to clinical studies and treatment.best for people who likes to know about cancer and for people who are working related to cancer from other fields.

By Withanage D D

Aug 8, 2020

I am a university undergraduate from Sri Lanka. This course was very helpful for me. I learned a lot about cancers and also this course solved some misunderstandings I had about cancers. A big thanks to all the lecturers who helped me to learn.

By Loïc J

Nov 17, 2016

Very good course giving a broad overview of what cancer is and how we diagnose and cure it.

Don't expect to be a specialist of cancer after it, it's only an introduction. But it is a good introduction giving some bases if you want to go further.

By Katherin V C D

Feb 18, 2021

Un curso muy bien estructurado y claro que te introduce hacia la biología del cáncer, sus principales marcas, el desarrollo de la metástasis, la forma cómo es detectado, tratado y monitoreado. Recomendado si eres principiante en el tema.

By Susanta S

Mar 10, 2018

In this short course, the presenters on each faculty have explained well the must to know of Cancer Biology. I was knowing nothing about cancer and can understand now different cause of cancer, diagnosis and treatment of the same. Thanks

By Zhang Y J

Sep 18, 2016

The course is quite simple and easy to follow. Very suitable for students who have no understandings in this area. The workload is also small so I suggest those who were major in biology or chemistry you dont have to follow this course.

By Daniela A P S

Aug 17, 2020

It is a course that star to basic but explain everything about cancer biology for a simple and actual form, i am so grateful for learn with Jhon Hopkins Hospital and i hope apply all this knowledge in my carrer and in my future job.

By Alina I

May 13, 2017

I am a medical student, and I was familiar with most concepts delivered in this course, but I can assure material is delivered extremelly clearly and can be grasped by anyone with basic biology background. Great introductory course!

By Jaswandi

Jun 17, 2020

Indeed a great course for one who wishes to know the basics of Cancer occurrence, progression and treatment. Kudos to the professors for putting up the otherwise complicated topic in much simpler word possible. Thank you very much.

By KHUSHMAN T

May 28, 2019

This course is very informative and covers majority of required and interesting information about cancer and its treatment. Anyone interested to have a knowledge about cancer basics would surely benefit by attending this course.

By Rahul D

May 23, 2020

It was indeed an awesome course. This course helped me in knowing so much about Cancer which I never knew before. It was indeed very interesting and all the professors have so proficient presentation skills. Thank you so much.

By Oduro G K

Dec 25, 2020

I don't know If Ken will get to see this message but I will say thank you so much Sir. And i have more questions and I would want us to get interactive ,if possible, (my email: odurogyau@gmail.com). Happy holidays , stay safe

By Arkajit D

Apr 26, 2020

This course was very informative and interesting. It mainly deals with the cancer, its effect and how cancer cells grow. It also describes about the screening and treatment of individual cancer. Overall course was very good.

By Madushani D

Aug 22, 2020

Great course! Comprehensive and well organized. This course offered detailed descriptions of the fundamentals of cancer biology in the most simplest manner, which was easy to understand and follow-up without any difficulty.

By KOH J Y

Jul 31, 2020

very informative and well made slides, easy to follow and the content is really interesting! i had engaged learning throughout with the mini quizzes at the end of each video to recap certain key points. highly recommended!

By Marcus D

Jan 12, 2017

Wonderful course, lots of information. Dr. Pienta is an excellent teacher. Thanks also to his staff and lab assistants for helping to create such a well-designed program. I will definitely recommend this course to others!

By Andrea M

Jun 12, 2016

Thank you for the course. I am looking forward for even more detailed lectures about each specific cancer types, from the molecular mechanisms involved in transformation and progression, to treatment and patient manageme

By Vinícius A M d S

Dec 7, 2020

A very good introduction course, I've already started reading some books about cancer and thanks for this course I can understand it better! I'm really excited to study more about it and join the fight against cancer!!!

By Sherianne T Y T

Jun 24, 2020

A good introduction to cancer biology which is suitable for beginners. Even though I have some background knowledge on the molecular basis of cancer, I still learnt a lot about imagining and treatment of common cancers.

By Soham R

Jun 17, 2020

AMAZING TEACHING BY THE TEACHERS AND THE CONTENT TAUGHT IN THE COURSE IS REALLY GOOD. IT IS TAUGHT IN A INTERSERTING FASHION AND ALSO HAS SOME FEATURES WHICH MAKES IT STAND OUT. IT PROVIDES A NICE LEARNING EXPERIENCE.

By Abdul K

Apr 28, 2020

So impressive gave me each and every fine detail of cancer,I very glad that I joined this course and I have learned about Cancer and I got to know that how cancer can effect the body also the changes in the body

Thanks

By Yiwen Z

Feb 16, 2020

Very informative and educational for beginners. As a chemist working in pharmaceutical industry, I always wanted to learn some background knowledge about cancer biology. This is the course of choice for any newbies.

By hiranmayi d s r

May 18, 2020

I am beyond satisfied with the course that was provided. The subject was in-depth enough to understand the subject and develop a passion for doing further studies in cancer biology. The teaching was really great.