Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to the Biology of Cancer by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
4,191 ratings
885 reviews

About the Course

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Top reviews

AH

Mar 18, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK

Aug 01, 2020

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 871 Reviews for Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

By Ishita H

Jul 28, 2020

This was such a fun and informative course. I'm really satisfied with the course material and guidance by the lecturers.

By SARIDEVI S

May 19, 2020

The lectures and the quiz after every lecture are very helpful to attend the quiz. I really enjoyed learning this course

By Irene K L .

May 02, 2020

Very interesting and made me learn more. Dr. Ken Pienta was really an inspiration to me. Thanks for issuing this course.

By ksr K

Jun 22, 2020

Excellent course for learners who are really interested in Cancer studies and also the instructors were really awesome.

By Ashlin M

Jun 17, 2020

well explained and excellent course.

I recommend others to take a look at this course to understand the basics of cancer

By ANJANA J

Jun 07, 2020

It was an amazing experience.The short and precise details significantly enriched my basic knowledge of cancer biology.

By Caline A d B

Apr 22, 2020

simples e efetivo em informações, dando uma base para avançar nos estudos e desenvolver conhecimento mais aprofundados!

By Halima A M S A

Apr 20, 2020

A very well prepared course material. It cover the key knowledge about cancer. I enjoyed it and I learned a lot. Thanks

By Jia B

Oct 16, 2019

This course gave me a whole understanding of cancer and I can’t wait to explore more specific fields related to cancer!

By Fahimehsadat S

Jul 23, 2017

I just want to say thanks a million, the course has been well designed and taught. all modules are really informative.

By Nana F

Sep 19, 2019

Very good introductory course about cancer. Very well done. Looking forward to the next course.

Thank you very much.

By MARIA B

Apr 25, 2020

Muy buena opción para tener una visión general del cancer, sus riesgos y cómo se enmarcan las principales terapias.

By Devananda D

Apr 02, 2020

Its really useful and helpful.. It increased my basic knowledge and gave a vast idea at higher level on the topic..

By Sampreet R

Jun 18, 2019

Excellent Introduction to Cancer Biology. The language and teaching style is so easy to follow. Excellent material.

By Marcelo

Jun 10, 2018

Muy buen curso, muy nutrido. Los profesores explicaron todo de manera muy profunda. Lo volvería a hacer si pudiera.

By Vaishnavi A

Jun 05, 2020

This course module of oncology is really well planned and very easy to learn for the students. Thanku coursera..!!

By Ravisha G

Jun 07, 2020

A course highly recommended to individuals who have a keen interest in exploring the basics about cancer biology,

By Ornela B

Jan 25, 2018

The materials, the structure and the pace of the program was excellent. A great introduction course about cancer.

By Febiana R D

Jan 10, 2018

I'm biologist but I never scrutinize the cancer things. This course make me understand basic knowledge of cancer.

By Arnob M

May 24, 2020

All the chapters of this course is good but the imaging chapter is not good and the tutor can not teach us well.

By Piyush S

Aug 29, 2018

This course is very good for beginners and generating interest in this field. Would love to recommend to others.

By MENAKA T

Jul 18, 2020

Lecturer explain everything as detaily I am enjoying throughtout the course and learn more than what I expected

By ANUSRUTHI K

Jun 16, 2020

Really it was very helpful to gain lots of knowledge to start up my Carrier in this field. Thank you very much.

By Thalia D P d V

May 13, 2020

Curso perfeito, de todos os cursos que já fiz foi o que melhor me explicou, aprendi muito a respeito do câncer!

By OLUWAJIMI E D

May 11, 2020

Very elaborate, straight to the point. I strongly recommend it to whosoever want to learn about cancer biology.