Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to the Biology of Cancer by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
5,534 ratings
1,119 reviews

About the Course

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Top reviews

AH
Mar 17, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK
Jul 31, 2020

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 1,097 Reviews for Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

By Lamia K

Aug 6, 2016

Great course, thank you very much! I hope to become a scientist and join you in the fight against cancer

By Cristiano T

Sep 10, 2020

Es un curso básico y bien completo. Consigue abranger diferentes áreas con informaciones actualizadas.

By Azeem K

Jul 8, 2020

Got a thorough understanding of how cancer spreads, how it can metastasis and the methods of treatment.

By Yuqi Z

Jun 22, 2020

Nice introductory course with clear information. Looking forward to more advanced courses about cancer.

By Raisul I

May 28, 2020

I was very much interested to learn about cancer biology. This course helped me to fulfill my curiosity

By Arturo S

Nov 11, 2017

Fantastic course, even as a licensed clinician, learned quite a few things we hadn't covered in school.

By Emiel d J

Apr 11, 2016

until now very informational. the lecturers are very good and share the information in a enjoyable way.

By Vivian S

Aug 20, 2020

I'm an undergraduate student interested in either life sciences of biology and I loved this course :))

By Harini C

Jul 30, 2020

This course was so useful as i'm pursuing my academics on medical nanotechnology and bio engineering.

By JUNAID A M

May 15, 2020

I really learnt a lot from this superb course. The instructors are so knowledgeable and hard working.

By Ricardo A T Z

Jul 19, 2016

A very complete journey into the knowledge and outcomes of cancer. Perfect for everyone starting out.

By Juan G C M

Jun 25, 2016

I did not think to find an on line free course about biology of cancer nonetheless this one is great.

By Nayonika R

Jun 22, 2020

Really informative course, enhanced my understanding about the general biology of cancer. Thank You!

By Oluwatosin E A

Nov 11, 2019

A fantastically structured course. It is well simplified and the modules are strategically coherent.

By Glener D M

Nov 21, 2017

Mais do que um curso. Um curso indispensável para quem planeja seguir no segmento de bioinformática.

By Nivea S

Jun 29, 2017

Very good introduction, giving the basics to understand how cancer works, its imaging and treatment.

By Sangadzhieva Z

Sep 24, 2020

Great job! It's really good course, teachers gave us a actual and necessary information. Thank you!

By Juan M P S

Sep 21, 2020

This is a great introduction to cancer biology, it really helped me learn a lot! Thank you so much.

By Ashish T

Jul 26, 2020

THIS COURSE HELPED ME A LOT IN INCREASING MY KNOWLEDGE AND UNDERSTANDING OF AND ABOUT THIS SUBJECT,

By Zarhaan K

Apr 29, 2020

Very good course that explains accurately the incidence and seriousness of cancer in today's times.

By Youssef N

Aug 22, 2019

It is a very interesting course that is exactly to the point and i feel that i'm really privileged.

By marihan

Oct 8, 2016

This Course is so interesting , it is full of alot of treasures and alot of informations. Thank You

By Shalmali K

Sep 2, 2020

The course is good for new learners, lots of insights into cancer and helps understand the basics.

By Abe N

Mar 11, 2017

Great course, great motivatiin instruction, now I must pursue more cancer-related learning venues

By Gregory D B

May 23, 2016

I just completed week one and I am thoroughly impressed with this course so far. Outstanding work!