Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to the Biology of Cancer by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
5,778 ratings
1,161 reviews

About the Course

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Top reviews

AH
Mar 17, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK
Jul 31, 2020

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

Filter by:

1026 - 1050 of 1,138 Reviews for Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

By Ranim A Z

May 13, 2020

screening and treatment parts were hard for me because I'm not a specialist, yet the course is a perfect introduction for non-specialized interested people

By James R

Nov 16, 2020

This course is a great introduction to the disease of cancer. An update to this course would be wonderful as it was completed in 2016. Very interesting.

By Sudarson B

Nov 17, 2019

It is a basic course to get you interested in the field of cancer biology. Suitable for undergrads and above. The course delivered on what they promised.

By Alexander J S

Sep 14, 2019

I did a module, just like this during my undergraduate days. Whilst I found it quite basic and just a refresher, the content is well presented and clear.

By Khin S O

Nov 23, 2016

This is very interesting course of basic of cancelling pathway and the biology of cancer that can fundamental to the study of research of cancer. Thanks.

By Humera S

Jun 23, 2019

It was very interesting. but the recent critiques of cancer Hallmarks and theories related to cancer heterogeneity should be included

By Ummi C

Aug 16, 2016

The class was clear and concise. I was hoping to get more challenge and in depth explanation but it is indeed an introductory class.

By Aditya A D

Apr 2, 2020

Tougher assignments and a final exam consisting of dummy experimental data to test the knowledge of the students would be welcome!

By Deleted A

Jul 9, 2017

Its a good course that outlines the basics of cancer biology. Highly recommended for anyone interested in understanding cancer.

By Syed S A

Aug 23, 2020

Should have two separate modules. from Week 5.

One for MBBS students and technologists. One for Higher Academicians

By Kazi T

Feb 2, 2019

Some content could be a little more informative and rigorous. "Intro" essentially meant seeing the surface only.

By Michael L

Jul 27, 2017

It's a great introduction course for cancers. Both contents and quiz are bit too easy and lack of challenges.

By 梁金大一

Sep 3, 2016

I mean, I am really fond of Biology and the Biotechnology, I think I will really appreciate this opportunity.

By Gopal B

May 31, 2020

The course was very helpful and I gained a good source of knowledge from the best teachers around the globe.

By Renata Z D

May 1, 2017

El curso es muy educativo sin embargo me hubiera parecido importante profundizar un poco más en cada tema.

By Neal B

Aug 2, 2020

This course helped me expand my knowledge and understanding of cancer. The course is good for beginners

By Wan W

Sep 6, 2018

may not just simply read the powerpoint. I wish more details and emerging researches to be taught.

By Simone E G

Aug 8, 2016

I really enjoyed the course. Very professional training, with lots of insight in cancer therapy.

By Yaksh P

Jul 29, 2017

Very helpful course it was. Looking forward to such courses in the future. Thank you very much.

By Mark

Feb 6, 2017

Extremely informative, but loses 1 star for reserving tests ONLY for members with subscriptions

By Paula F

Feb 23, 2020

Very good intro to the subject. I liked the format of the questions from the imaging module.

By Preksha J

Jul 28, 2019

great course enjoyed thoroughly the entire video series will continue to do different courses

By Remi A

Jan 12, 2020

Wish te videos were more engaging. Nonetheless, a very interesting and informative course!

By Louis D

Feb 1, 2018

Well organised, appropriate content; simplified yet relevant in scope and quality.

By Khalid M E

Oct 1, 2016

this course very useful to my that i gained a lot of information from this course.