Chevron Left
Back to Classical Sociological Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Classical Sociological Theory by University of Amsterdam

4.8
stars
2,192 ratings
622 reviews

About the Course

This Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) will offer the participants an introduction into the most important classical sociological readings between the 18th and 20th century. Highly influential social science scholars, such as Karl Marx, Max Weber and Emile Durkheim, will be discussed during 8 sessions. Combined with small tests, based on the video’s and recommended readings, the participants will be encouraged to dive deeply into the complex texts and get familiar with classical sociological concepts that are still very relevant today....

Top reviews

SS
Jan 6, 2019

Simple,neat and interesting way of explaining the content. Didn't get bored. Good refreshment if you already know the stuff and good introduction if you are new to sociology. Professor is really nice.

DT
Oct 28, 2018

This is a course which helps you understand the origin of Sociology. The content of this course includes all the sociologists who played a great role, also the lectures are delivered in a superb way.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 610 Reviews for Classical Sociological Theory

By Dirghayu P

May 3, 2021

I have really enjoyed this course. The course materials are very good. It was a real challenge to complete this course. I am glad I did.

By Anjaly J R

Jun 16, 2020

The professor's passion for Sociology is contagious. He excellently summarized complex sociological theories into understandable sentences.

By Kovyazina K

May 10, 2021

Absolutely fantastic lecturer Dr van Heerikhuizen! I would recommend any series of lectures with him! A total pleasure for years and mind.

By Shivaji G

Apr 14, 2021

I liked the instructor hope he comes on YouTube and do daily analysis of current world events in perspective of sociological methodologies

By Xiaoyu H

Mar 29, 2019

This course is fantastic! The ideas of those great sociologists are intriging and the professor's expression is impressing. Thanks a lot!

By Pratyush

Jan 4, 2019

Great course on the Classical Sociological Theories supplemented with sufficient reading material to give greater insights into the same.

By Alessandro D

Mar 25, 2018

Thank you Professor. With simple words you navigate a freshman through these great thinkers work. It has been a very interesting journey.

By C M

Sep 29, 2020

It is a great starter course for those who want to get a view of the Classical Sociological world.

Also, Mr. Bart Van is a great teacher.

By Justin M

Jul 3, 2018

Great interesting course. The reading is a bit much at times, but if you take the time to read it, it can really inform your viewpoints.

By Paola G

Apr 22, 2019

El curso cumple con todo lo que promete, es claro y las dudas que se generan son resueltas por los profesores. Sin duda lo recomiendo.

By Pilar G

Mar 8, 2020

Una muy buena ocasión para hacer una revisión de la teoría sociológica clásica. He disfrutado mucho y plantea analogías interesantes.

By Diana M

Oct 3, 2019

Just excellent! Thank you professor for explaining so well difficult concepts. Could you go on in Contemporary Sociological Theories?

By Åke G

Jun 28, 2017

Amazing teacher - really great introduction to classical Sociological thought!

Looking forward to the contemporary Sociology course!

By Muhammad T S

Mar 17, 2016

A must have to understand progress of human thought in general; also get experience of what a sincere and committed teacher is like.

By LUIS D L T P

May 31, 2017

I liked very much the way is taught. It is very good to clarify some ideas and recall some others. It was great, thankyou very much

By Raíssa A

Jan 31, 2021

A good introduction to classical sociological theory. The professor teaches in a very didactic and clear way. It totally worth it.

By Aleksandra P

Mar 26, 2019

The course is of a much of an interest, i enjoyed it a lot and the lecturer was great as well as the material, would learn more.

By Николай Х

Jun 14, 2018

For now my favorite course. Bart van Heerikhuizen is a great teacher. He has to take a second part on contemporary sociology.

By Eisar H

Mar 13, 2016

The professor's love for the subject matter is evident and the retention factor of the material has exceeded my expectations.

By Laura L P d C

Jan 22, 2016

Excellent professor!

I look forward to the next course about Modern Sociological Theory!

This course was very meaningful to me!

By Saul M

Feb 3, 2021

Excellent explanations and reflections made by the author, readings punctual, and whole course well structured. Recommended!

By Shirien N

Mar 31, 2020

Very good course. It teaches you the core of the important social scientists. Very interesting and good tests and readings.

By Claux L B

Dec 6, 2016

A wonderful course full of interesting information! I just loved each of the explanations, examples and suggested readings.

By Daniela G

Aug 17, 2020

Excellent course. Captivating lessons with an incredible theory. Still waiting for Modern Sociological Theory. Mind blown!