Chevron Left
Back to Classical Sociological Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Classical Sociological Theory by University of Amsterdam

4.9
stars
2,202 ratings
625 reviews

About the Course

This Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) will offer the participants an introduction into the most important classical sociological readings between the 18th and 20th century. Highly influential social science scholars, such as Karl Marx, Max Weber and Emile Durkheim, will be discussed during 8 sessions. Combined with small tests, based on the video’s and recommended readings, the participants will be encouraged to dive deeply into the complex texts and get familiar with classical sociological concepts that are still very relevant today....

Top reviews

SS
Jan 6, 2019

Simple,neat and interesting way of explaining the content. Didn't get bored. Good refreshment if you already know the stuff and good introduction if you are new to sociology. Professor is really nice.

DT
Oct 28, 2018

This is a course which helps you understand the origin of Sociology. The content of this course includes all the sociologists who played a great role, also the lectures are delivered in a superb way.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 613 Reviews for Classical Sociological Theory

By Lo E

Nov 13, 2018

I was a sociology student many years ago and recently I need to do research again. The course gives me a very good revision and retrieve my memories of what I have learnt before.

By Pamela C

Nov 28, 2018

Well explained. The teacher is awesome. I had read some of these thinkers before taking this course, but I have learned many new thing. I am really satisfied with this course.

By Glenda H

May 13, 2017

This course provides a good theoretical background for thinking about the context of why modern society is moving in the direction it is. Its content is good food for thought.

By Pratik N D

Oct 14, 2017

Extremely insightful, illuminating and interesting. The professor is a wonderful teacher who was able to express such an abstruse topic to a layman like me in a lucid manner.

By Beau Y

Mar 15, 2017

I really enjoyed this class. An easy and essential introduction to classical sociology! Thank you professor. Can't wait to take your next class on modern sociological theory.

By Andrew G

Sep 10, 2015

Excellent course. Very well and entertainingly presented. Very clear and informative content. Would love to it extended as a Part 2 to cover the more 'modern' Sociologists.

By Katherine I

Sep 7, 2018

An interesting yet efficient overview of several of the main classical theorists. The professor is very engaging - would definitely want to take another course with him!

By Luis R F

Aug 13, 2017

Thank you very much! I wanted to take a similar course for long time. Now I have more knowledges about the classical sociology. I hope to see more from your university.

By Maksim K

Oct 5, 2015

I like it!!!

The Course is smart, interesting & appropriate level. Thanks to the instructor and the team. Thank you to the Amsterdam University for another great course!

By Rizwan A H

Sep 6, 2020

The course has been very enlightening and interesting at the same time. And the professor, especially, generated great curiosity in me to explore and love the subject.

By Dean W

Mar 3, 2021

This is a wonderful course. It is very clearly organized and the video lectures are interesting and engaging. The key concepts were very clearly explained. Thank you!

By Atta U K

Jan 4, 2021

Classical sociological theory course was fantastic, I learnt a lot from the course particularly about the importance of sociological theories in the contemporary era.

By Patricia F

Dec 2, 2020

I study sociology in my high school, also at my graduation course and I may say that Mr. Bart van Heerikhuizen made it more understandable and interesting. Thank you

By Pedro S F

Jan 18, 2020

curso maravilhoso, me ajudará muito em ministrar aulas de sociologia, o professor dá uma aula leve e que te leva no caminho lógico para deduzir os termos empregados!

By Yuka I

Jan 5, 2019

I really liked this course and how enthusiastic the professor is. Highly recommend for those who wish to get a glimpse of sociology from other majors, like myself.

By FS

May 17, 2021

Really really enjoyed this course and it motivated me to take more courses from Coursera. The professor was so wonderful and the content is immensely interesting.

By Cheong C W

Nov 8, 2015

Very enthusiastic teaching by the professor. I enjoyed tracking my progress throughout the course. Concepts were explained very clearly and in an memorable manner

By Tomas M

Jul 19, 2020

The professor is able to explain complex concepts with phenomenal clarity, provide colourful examples and do it in excellent English. Highly enjoyed the course!

By Abril O D

Jun 28, 2020

A really good and well-explained course. Absolutely enjoy it. It is very helpful even if you are familiarized with the authors already. Thanks to the professor.

By Berenice F N

Nov 21, 2019

Un curso muy completo y muy interesante, quien lo imparte tiene un excelente dominio del tema, que hace el contenido comprensible y fácil de asimilar¡ Muy bueno

By Steve R

Sep 1, 2020

What an amazing lecturer. I learned so much about the theories of these sociologists and how they relate to the challenges we face in today's world. Thank you.

By Jorge M

May 25, 2020

It is an enriching and fruitful journey, for the recognition and understanding of the different visions of what is the classical and modern sociology

Thank you

By Victoria C

May 18, 2020

Very well organised course, readings are short and interesting, classes are fantastic, very clear and divided into very clever chaprters and videos. A must do!

By Yasir A

Jan 3, 2020

I have learned a lot in this course, It was well explained and the questions helped to understand the questions. Thank you very much for providing this course.

By Juan S M V

Oct 15, 2015

That is Awesome, really interesting, it´s real knowledge, you find new ways to see social sciences and in that way the adventures in the world, being by famous