Chevron Left
Back to Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1 by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.4
stars
930 ratings
238 reviews

About the Course

Cloud computing systems today, whether open-source or used inside companies, are built using a common set of core techniques, algorithms, and design philosophies – all centered around distributed systems. Learn about such fundamental distributed computing "concepts" for cloud computing. Some of these concepts include: clouds, MapReduce, key-value/NoSQL stores, classical distributed algorithms, widely-used distributed algorithms, scalability, trending areas, and much, much more! Know how these systems work from the inside out. Get your hands dirty using these concepts with provided homework exercises. In the programming assignments, implement some of these concepts in template code (programs) provided in the C++ programming language. Prior experience with C++ is required. The course also features interviews with leading researchers and managers, from both industry and academia....

Top reviews

VT
Aug 21, 2016

Very useful course. It built my Cloud Computing basis from scratch. Fisrt course gives me the enthusiasm to start the later ones. A good place for studying and sharing with course mates. Thank you!

MR
Jul 15, 2017

Great course, I would recommend to everyone who wants to understand the basics of cloud computing. The course material is excellent, the instructor Indy is phenomenal and the exams are marvelous.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 230 Reviews for Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

By Joshua S

Oct 15, 2017

A solid introduction into the field of distributed systems. I especially liked the material on distributed hashing. The Quiz questions, in particular section 5 could use a bit of clarification, as I sometimes found it difficult to understand exactly what was being asked. That said the lecture slides, and organization of the material was quite good, and I recommend the course.

By Alex S

Nov 1, 2020

The content of the course - quite good, well explained

The quizes - mostly ok, but some of the questions were repetitive

The programming assignment - the C++ skeleton is quite bad bad, uses ugly code andneeds to be rewritten; also the chcker has an unpreditable behavior; sometimes, grades you with 90, sometimes with 30.

By Гайдай А

Oct 19, 2020

The course is quite interesting and useful in terms of lectures and tests, especially tests with written answers. But it needs refinement in terms of the task (outdated and there are no options for java or other popular languages), and a little more information about multicast with examples of problem solving)

By Coherence

Aug 17, 2020

Actually I wanna give it 3.5 star. This course is released a few years ago so it might not be maintained very well. Also the assignments are a bit of uncovered by the slides. The code assignment is not well code styled. The c code are integreted with c++ which makes me feel not good.

By gaurav

Dec 27, 2018

It was a good course for the start. The concepts were taught with ease examples were there for more understanding. The programming assignment could be made more finesse, as there was a lot of issue like windows incompatibility, 64 bit incompatibility, memcpy passing vector in ENSend.

By Ehtisham R

Sep 11, 2016

Great course but the main problem is that very little help is available. Programming assignment is not able to understand meaning not able to find how to start (what should be the first step?)

pace is little fast. learned a lot about Cloud Computing. Homeworks are really challenging.

By Niels R

May 29, 2018

The lectures are clear and informative. The quizes pose the right amount of challenge. The template code provided for the programming assignment is terrible, but the assignment itself is not that complex and quite doable for most people with object oriented programming experience.

By Pavel Č

Oct 16, 2016

The course gave me an interesting overview of different problems from the cloud computing field. The course start looks little bit slow, but later it gets more interesting. However I was disappointed with code quality of the assignment framework.

By rajat b

Feb 28, 2017

GREAT course ,the concepts and theories have been explained thoroughly. But I also believe providing a few reference materials would have been better for a theory oriented course like this one.overall still the best could theory course online

By Sparsh T

Mar 14, 2020

The course was without doubt amazing.

The videos was pretty good and the Quiz at the end of each week helped a lot to recollect stuff.

The programming assignment was a little hard though and it wasn't clear as to what we were supposed to do.

By SUDHEER K K

Aug 14, 2017

Great Course, helped me to learn basic understanding of Cloud computing. I feel lot energized now, to talk to colleagues in discussion about Computing. Appreciate info in discussion groups helping solve or direction unsolved questions.

By Lev D G

Oct 7, 2020

Solid distributed systems' fundamentals class. The programming assignment was really evaluating my reverse and software engineering skills rather than my grasp of distributed systems' fundamentals

By Kristofer P

Dec 6, 2016

Great lectures. However, the starter code for the programming assignment is quite atrocious. Overall, would highly recommend to anyone wanting to learn high level concepts in distributed systems.

By Ganesh S

May 17, 2019

This course though looks quite simple but is very exhaustive and needs lot of dedicated effort to complete this course. Overall a very good learning experience related to cloud computing.

By Ravi A

Oct 2, 2020

Course is nice, but one will get tired trying to keep up with so many protocols, algos.

Prior experience on any one distributed compute framework or Cassandra would be extremely helpful.

By DiegoBlanco

Nov 20, 2016

The programming assignement was very long in relation with the resto of assignements (quiz). However, the course's content is very interesting and complete.

By Loïc F

Dec 11, 2019

Great course overall as it gives a deep understanding of the cloud technologies. Some homework are too tedious to finish and not really interesting.

By ganesh h

Dec 26, 2016

The contents cover a vast set of topics. just what i was expecting. I was hoping some good books, papers would be suggested

By Zhikun L

Jul 15, 2017

Really hardcore computer science course. Sometimes, reading original papers is necessary to really understand the topic.

By Tyler F

Oct 2, 2016

Great, and highly relevant/topical, content. However I found the quiz assignments to be needlessly tedious at times.

By Tien N

May 8, 2017

Many homework questions are confusing while there is no assistants/moderators to clarify in discussion forums.

By Fabrizio T

Apr 30, 2018

Great fundament courses. I refreshed many concepts, I forgot due to different skills I covered in my career

By Ruiwen W

Jul 30, 2020

should make the exam easier, and this course only teaches concepts and it asked you to do a C++ assignment

By Kartiki B

Jul 9, 2017

Please discuss in brief the steps for solving programming assignment. The rest of the course is fantastic.

By Matthew E

Jan 1, 2017

Very good intro to a number of distributed computing topics. Challenging assignment and engaging material.