Chevron Left
Back to Communication in the 21st Century Workplace

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Communication in the 21st Century Workplace by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
3,626 ratings

About the Course

The workplace is more diverse than ever before. As the world population grows and our connectivity increases, it is common to work alongside colleagues from different generations, life experiences, cultures, genders, orientations, and religions. The increased diversity coupled with the shift toward remote and hybrid work environments means it's more critical than ever to develop appropriate communication strategies and practices. This course will teach you to identify and adapt your own communication style to not only increase team productivity, but also build bridges with colleagues from all backgrounds. By the end of this course, you will be able to: 1.Identify your own communication style 2. Describe methods to increase effective communication 3. Discuss how changing demographics affect workplace communication 4. Differentiate between the five working generations and their communication preferences 5. Identify the communication benefits of different work environments, such as in-person, virtual, or hybrid 6. Discuss effective techniques for communicating with a diverse workforce 7. Implement a flexing communication strategy to better communicate with one’s workplace team...

Top reviews

KV

Dec 1, 2020

I learned new strategies to effectively communicate with peers, direct reports, and executives. This same strategy I can also use in communicating with other people besides the people you work with.

UK

Apr 26, 2020

The content of the course was good. Lectures were effective which iincluded joint discussions. . I especially liked the last statement after every lecture "where ever you maybe have a great time"

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 756 Reviews for Communication in the 21st Century Workplace

By Usman G

Jun 21, 2023

The course was more subjective, and less practical. I hope the content will improve. Thanks for the awesome materials to read.

By Walker, B

Jul 14, 2022

It really showed me the things I need to consider in my ways of communicating with my teams and other people.

Thank you

By Mara L

Jan 19, 2022

There were definitely useful situational analyses and tools applicable to communication and conflict resolution in 2022, but a lot of the material, in my opinion is outdated and almost unrealistic in today's 21st Covid-Century Workplace. Some of the articles included dated back to 2006, 2013 and were about focused on 'communication and technology', comparing workplace and technology in 2013 to 2022 feels quite distant.

I would love to retake this course if it is updated to reflect the workplace and communication of 2022. Which includes pandemic, innovation and technology impact, diversity in the workplace and the need to better understand and address cultural, race, gender, sexual to generational differences in the workplace.

By Elaine W

Sep 25, 2018

This course is extremely content light, with quizzes that pick out very small points that frankly, don't make a lot of sense. Most of it was a waste of time.

By Tien C B

Dec 27, 2022

Even though the content is clear and concise, it should be elaborated with examples and real-world practices.

By Vera D

Mar 14, 2021

This was a useless course. I found only one thing that might be useful, which is "delivering bad news". All the rest is useless or obvious without saying, in my opinion. It is also hard to listen to the content because the teacher is over gesturing everything and the lecture becomes theatrical. The quiz questions are awful, you have to try several times to pass. Some of the links (which are required readings and some quiz questions ask about them) are broken and some others are behind a paywall.

By Jonathan S

Jan 3, 2021

They should show more slides with actual points on the screen for a way for the learner to take notes on what they are saying. They also do not touch half the things in the quiz. Did not pass one quiz in this module without retaking at least twice. I would not recommend this course to anyone.

By Soumajit M

Jan 18, 2023

good

By Jan U

Mar 24, 2022

This course had been of developing vision of how to be well communicated inside the business spaces today. Additionally, more than an opinion, I would like to give about this course structure is one of the best I have seen and that I have experienced a good atmosphere so just I would like to say i would like I have been more accuracy with the workshops because per timely and being agreed with the schedule I have had to doing faster that I used to.

By SEBASTIAN L M

Aug 16, 2021

the course is really easy to learn and there are a lot of materials available to learn from, but at the same time there are sites that require you to pay or subscribe to their page using money just to view their content so that is a bit of a bind fir me specially because i'm just a student without much money but its alright because i can search the internet for more information whatsoever all and all its a pleasure to learn this course in coursera

By HILARY H

Aug 18, 2020

Thank you to Margaret Meloni and Patricia Bravo for this great course. It was indeed great pleasure to learn from you in improving the communication skills. FIRR, DISC Model, 3S by John Maxwell and etc are the key words that i learn not just improving my communication skill with my colleagues but also my family and peers too. Thanks too UCI for conducting this great course.

By Susan J C

May 6, 2020

This course was excellent. It was my first experience with Coursera and the Univ of Cal, Irvine. The lessons were through. The resources were appropriate and helpful. I really enjoyed the mix of videos and readings. As an employee of an international company, I believe the lessons were 100% applicable, helpful and will continue to refer back to my notes and resources prov

By Kamrul H

Nov 25, 2020

Communication is the key to personal and professional success. In this course I learned about how to effectively communicate with direct manager, coworkers, people who direct report to me and a great deal of other people associated in professional life.

I recommend this course to anyone who is interested in improving communication skills.

Thank you.

By GLADSON V C

Apr 3, 2020

This course is really helpful. I would recommend it to my friend to learn how they can improve their communication skills at the workplace and can be a good employee and a great manager. The content of the course was good. Lectures were effective. I especially liked the last statement after every lecture "where ever you maybe have a great time"

By Stacy R

Apr 3, 2018

Phenomenal quick and efficient class! It was great how the style intentionally had us focused on her non verbal and verbal cue, and had little note taking and PowerPoint slides. The diversity in research, quizzes, videos, and added comedy really has me honed in on get the ,last out of this course! Quick class, completed in 1 full day.

By Kimberly C

Jun 9, 2022

Thoroughly enjoyed this course and the added information and videos. Realizing the importance of how to communicate with each individual as well as the generation the individual comes from will help improve my communication skills going forward. This course brought things to the table I had truly not thought of until now.

By Arjun R

Mar 18, 2023

This course, which is part of the career success specialization by UCI, has provided me with valuable insights into effective communication techniques, building better business relationships, and navigating workplace diversity, including different personality types, preferences, and generational traits.

By Manal E M S

Jun 10, 2022

It was a wonderful journey...While I wanted to improve my communication with others and increase my knowledge in this aspect, I knew a lot about myself now I look at communication with others in a different, more positive and profound way. Thank you, Coursera, for making this great content available!

By M. N R K

May 8, 2020

The content of course is awesome and it was a great learning process. Lectures delivered by the instructors are so effective and make me learn excellent communication skills. The videos are nicely crafted with thorough content. Overall a great learning experience and I stupendously enjoyed the course.

By Edina P

May 14, 2020

I have learnt communication in the past but those were always too general. What I liked the most in this course is that it specified situations and levels in the organization - as the customized communication will lead to the most effective collaboration and leading.

By Akash S

Jun 29, 2020

This course help me a lot to get a basic knowledge and value of communication in our day to day life. it taught me how to make them impressive and effective that also help to polish our personality and behaviour. this course is very good n I love it while doing it.

By Teresa S

Mar 11, 2022

The course was incredibly informative and insightful! It has given me a very different perspective on how to more effectively and empathetically communicate in both my personal life, and professional one. Time well spent! Thank you for offering this class!

By مريم ع ز ا

Oct 15, 2023

Consider evaluating MBTI and strengths in individual patterns Identify ways to increase effective communication Select the four categories of MBTI and what each of them tells us Thank you for the amount of information I have benefited from and will apply.

By Ethan G

Jul 13, 2022

As a neurodivergent who struggles with communication skills, especially in the workplace as I have yet to land a full-time career, I can say that this course has given me some effective strategies for ensuring that I am heard and that I hear others.

By Sheila C

Mar 23, 2021

Top-notch professors. Excellent material/readings! Very helpful information which is useful to identify many key areas to improve on my workplace communication, this will only help me today and in the future. There is no downside to this course!