Chevron Left
Back to Communication in the 21st Century Workplace

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Communication in the 21st Century Workplace by University of California, Irvine

4.2
1,016 ratings
186 reviews

About the Course

In today's fast-paced business environment, employees at all levels find themselves being asked to handle more tasks, meet more deadlines, take on more responsibilities, and adapt to more change. Added to these challenges is the constantly shifting diversity of the workplace, where coworkers cope with generational, gender, age and cultural differences. Communication, both verbal and nonverbal, is at the foundation of everything we do and say, and is especially important in the 21st century workplace. The good news is that communication is a learned skill, and can be improved upon with the right training. The focus of this course is to heighten students’ awareness of workplace communication, and add new interpersonal skills, with the end result of becoming a more competent communicator overall. Target areas include: the process and functions of communication, behavioral patterns, perceptions as reality, verbal and nonverbal cues and behaviors, confidence, assertiveness, tact, anger management, criticism and constructive feedback, conflict resolution, team building, leadership, interviewing, and communicating more effectively with technology (email, Skype, texting, etc.). Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Define communication and its role in the workplace 2. Describe benefits of effective communication in the workplace 3. Identify and explain most common audiences and techniques for communicating with each audience 4. Identify and solve common obstacles to effective communication 5. Summarize the 5 Step Technique and explain its usefulness in communicating with your manager 6. Discuss the best approaches and communication techniques for delivering bad news to your manager 7. Describe ways to make positive connections with your staff. 8. Discuss techniques for deciphering the communication styles of executive managers 9. Discuss techniques for identifying the characteristics and drivers of executive managers 10. Discuss techniques for persuading executive management 11. Identify best practices for working successfully with virtual/remote teams 12. Apply proven techniques for effective conference calls and webinars...

Top reviews

NA

Apr 12, 2016

This course is really helpful. I would recommend it to my friend to learn how they can improve their communication skills at workplace and can be a good employee and a great manager.

MM

Feb 01, 2016

The content of the course was good. Lectures were effective. I specially liked the last statement after every lecture "where ever you may be have a great time"

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 185 Reviews for Communication in the 21st Century Workplace

By Luidgi S

May 27, 2019

Simple and easy practical tips that we can apply in our routine.

By Kaab A

Jun 22, 2019

Very simple course that can be done even in a busy routine.

By James O

Jul 11, 2019

It is very difficult to download the videos. Why?

By Shreya K

Jul 25, 2019

The course is very useful to get the complex question of "How do I talk to ---- in my work place in different situations?" answered. The instructors are great!

All in all this is a very useful course and I would definitely recommend that anyone who is relatively new to working (less than 3 years experience) should take it to learn the right way to communicate.

I took a star off only because a lot of the readings for the first and second week were not accessible because the website asked for payment. And some of the quiz questions could have been structured better.

By Ecila A

Aug 12, 2019

Practical lectures

By Yee M A

Aug 23, 2019

This course support me to apply more effective communication strategies in work place.

By Naitry D

Aug 31, 2019

Please decrease the time to take retest from 8hrs to 2hrs

By Hasan K U

Feb 06, 2019

Actually this course is a "key to success" for most of the new generation work environments however the presentation of the course seemed a bit too shallow when you compare the amount of "required readings" they suggest before weekly quiz. I had very hard time passing any quiz just by listening and taking notes during course videos. Nearly every question asked in the quiz is from extra readings and I believe these readings somehow should be infused into the course videos. There's a reason we're taking online courses and if it's all about reading them in the internet then there's no need for video courses.

By Rene P R

Sep 06, 2016

I like the course content but the presenter needs to have a more friendly way to present it.

By Lin D

Dec 29, 2015

speak speed is little bit too quick, difficult for non-english speaking student

By Margaret F

Sep 12, 2016

While the course materials themselves were very useful, the quizzes didn't feel like an effective test of the material and consisted of very few questions, which didn't leave room for error (especially problematic because some questions were subjective).

By Sharyn L K

Oct 08, 2015

Less required reading and more targeted lectures would make it great. It often seemed that the questions in the quiz weren't properly covered in the material provided.

By Mohamad K

Jan 04, 2018

Interesting course, rich of information ans examples. I suggest that the required reading material be transformed into videos.

By Kristen H

Sep 07, 2015

materials/lectures are brief and could go deeper.

By Stefan V

Sep 17, 2015

Ok course. Well tught, but overall I prefer more business related classes.

By Yawovi A

Sep 14, 2016

Quite nice course

By William P

Sep 07, 2015

It's a bit hard to answer the quiz since the presentation is not speaking about the qu

By Mustafa

Feb 27, 2017

I need access to the quizzes

By Mohamed f r

Sep 18, 2015

the course is not that strong when it comes to communicating with direct reports .

By Angela

Aug 22, 2015

Gives just enough info. Great, but I wish it was more detailed.

By aman g

Nov 01, 2015

Has good collection of resources for improvement of communication skills

By Robin V

Nov 14, 2015

A good introduction to Workplace Communication.

The resources supplied were extremely helpful.

I didn't pay so much attention to the slides that came with this - in fact, I'm not even sure how relevant they are looking back.

I had expected the overview videos to be an insight to the resource content, but it wasn't quite compiled that way.

The tests could have been longer, and perhaps could have contained obvious solutions - in some instances the solutions provided were all applicable, leaving the student to select the best option. In other instances the options available weren't even discussed in the content, confusing the student.

By Hong J

Jan 17, 2016

It is basic course with simple information

By Nguyen M C

Jan 14, 2016

I think that , this course need to add more keys critical important point in each lesson by keywords on Videos. And examples how to use these skill on nature life

By James B

May 07, 2016

The extra/outside content provided is great. As others have stated, but clearly not adjusted, some of the quiz questions aren't clear items covered in the material (which is frustrating).