Chevron Left
Back to Managing the Company of the Future

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing the Company of the Future by University of London

4.8
stars
2,657 ratings
917 reviews

About the Course

The aim of the course is to provide you with a comprehensive framework for understanding both the traditional principles of management inside companies today as well as the alternative principles that are becoming increasingly important. It provides both theoretical and practical perspectives on the nature of management in today’s organisations....

Top reviews

KK
May 28, 2016

I really enjoyed the course. Lots of information. The professor knows what he is talking about and he is very interesting to listen. Most of all, I enjoyed the case studies in the end of every module.

SS
Aug 13, 2020

It was a great course which help you to gain knowledge about how to run the company in a good manner and the readings are in a good quality as well as sir. julian birkinshaw was explaining so clearly

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 911 Reviews for Managing the Company of the Future

By Leonard F

Sep 15, 2017

A great course which I would thoroughly recommend all those in managerial/leadership positions to do.

Innovative and flexible so able to learn at your own pace especially in our increasingly busier lives. Most of my learn was do on my commute to work.

J. Birkinshaw is an incredible commuicator/presenter and depth of knowledge on this subject ultimately makes the course what it is

By Chris C

Apr 12, 2020

Great, easy introduction into how work is rapidly changing and how we can prepare for it. Good frameworks on describing the different types of businesses-traditional vs alternative, and details under various aspects of each. Lots of real-world examples. Passionate instructor. The course is similar to a short, perhaps week-long/summer MBA-level course, good value for the time!

By Ibragimova R

Jul 16, 2020

This was an awesome course I have ever taken.The professor's explaination in a simple and clear way through analyzing companies that we are familiar with was an effective shot.Thanks a lot for this opportunity.I learned a lot of interesting things about management and successfully passed this course. Thanks a lot for making it free otherwise I couldnt get a certificate.

By antonio b

Jan 24, 2021

Very concise, but extremely helpful and interesting. I would have loved to have some more weeks to deepen some aspect further. I will read the referenced books. Unfortunately the blog was not very active, but I will check time to time if some interesting topics are discussed further. Thank you so much and I hope to see more in this area from the London Business School!

By Shane K

May 10, 2020

I found this course very enlighting. It gave a brief insight into why we manage companies in a predominantly traditional way, the pro's and con's of such systems and what could be possible by exploring the unthinkable.

Thank you to the professor Julian Birkinshaw for presenting the syllabus in such an easy manner. I enjoyed it.

All the best

Shane Kingston

New Zealand.

By Manuelita G V

Jun 14, 2020

Dr. Julian Birkinshaw is just an erudite Professor! I learned a LOT from this course that I can share to my students. The discussions on Traditional and Alternative Principles of Management and the underlying concepts with concrete examples gave me a better perspective on how to manage a company. Bravo! Looking forward to more courses with you. Thank you so much.

By Stella-Maris

Jul 4, 2020

This course helped me understand how to manage the future company. I really enjoyed this course because it was not just theoretical, I found ways of adapting things I've learnt to my current situation where I'm having to manage my colleagues in the present outbreak of a pandemic disease.

Thank you very much Prof. Birkinshaw for such a useful and engaging course!

By Dr. M B

Dec 24, 2020

This is a fantastic program that I have recommended to all lot of friends and will register my senior management team to undertake. I have learnt a lot and broaden my understanding of management, managing teams, creating a new management structure for my business. Thank you London Business School for the program and our facilitator for the brilliant delivery

By ruben g

Jun 11, 2020

Worth every minute! This course has given me perspective on how i can better lead my team by giving them sufficient freedom to manage their own time and deliverables. This course is a step in the right direction on finding the balance between emergence and hierarchy which i believe is the best way on how to bring success to my team and to our organization!

By Brainerd P

May 22, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed doing this course. Julian was an excellent teacher, and his videos were spot on! I have learnt a lot in terms of management models particularly for our times, including our extraordinary Corona times. I think much of what Julian proposes in the hybrid model will actually take off in our post-corona business world. Thanks again. Cheers.

By Mangesh P

May 21, 2020

It was really a great learning experience.The course has been designed and delivered in a fantastic manner.

The trainer of this course has thorough knowledge and presents the concepts in an effective manner giving apt example.

The course has changed my outlook towards managing thing at workplace.

Thanks a lot coursera and London Business School.

Regards

By Sajin S

May 13, 2020

Excellent course offered for middle management and senior level executives. Professor Julian's classes and findings were extremely helpful. We could co-relate the things with our day to day professional life. It has personally helped me to sharpen my management skills.

I would definitely recommend to my colleagues and bosses to take this course.

By BALARAMAKRISHNA V S V

Dec 31, 2020

It is exceptionally good course with real life examples and case studies. The Learning is very enjoyable. Julian Birkinshaw teaching made me feel like like he is teaching me on one to one. I will be thankful to him for a life time. My year ending 2020 with this course made me felt like , despite COVID 19 , this year given some thing positive.

By Ganda R

Oct 5, 2020

A very relevant topic, and packaged in good and thorough case study. I never imagine an online course can be this comprehensive and enjoyable. Extremely well done in creating this course in such a beautiful way. I recommend this to every manager so they can understand alternative management style and even create another new management style.

By Vikas M

Sep 7, 2017

Fantastic Perspective on managing companies and teams of the future. I found it unique because it focuses on the fundamentals of long term growth and survival ie...optimal organization design and managing principles ...which in today's fast paced business environment are routinely compromised in pursuit of profits. I learned a lot thank you.

By AKHILAJAY K

Sep 27, 2020

The professor has exclusively explained all the details of management in detail .I have learned a lot from this session and it will be extremely useful in my future endevaours .I thank Professor Julian for helping me guide through the various principles of management and also explaining the key concepts which takes place in the organization

By Gilles C M

Nov 2, 2020

This course is well planned and executed. It has great insights, knowledge of the management and consulting industry. Great connection to real world application and specific examples helps visualized the concept easily. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking to engage in restructuring management or business, or simply opening one.

By Vella N

May 7, 2020

I would like to say special thank you to professor Julian Birkinshaw who has created an amazing course. I wish there will be more courses and lectures with this amazing professor. Right now, he is the absolute authority to me when it comes to study of management. Also thanks to all the people involved in providing the course. Well done!

By sulagna k

Jun 3, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. The content was very relevant and the pace of the lectures was perfect. It definitely changes the mental make-up once one gets done with the course. The case studies are great and make the study even more engaging to go through. The concepts are a must in theses changing business dynamics. Thank you!

By Yanqiong C

Aug 3, 2020

I do enjoy my learning, great thanks to Professor Birkinshaw!He is so honest and critical in analysis the true phenomenon in the traditional companies, I would recommend the management in the companies to his course and also his books, there they can find the right positions and strategies to manage the company and the team better.

By Torsten L

Apr 12, 2020

What a fantastic course with a clear inside of management models. The tutor J Birkinshaw is detailed with examples and precise. The course is easy to follow but challenging. Good supply on information and reading materials. Thank you for the course it's been certainly an eye opener for me in currently working in a Leadership role.

By Renzo P

Jun 7, 2020

So interesting course about how will be transformed the Management in the future. Companies are stucked in the traditional way of management inside of them. So, the Professor show some of the new ways of Coordination, Decision Making, Motivation and Purpose/Goals, moving toward new ways of management of the company of the future.

By Ntombikayise N

Jul 3, 2020

Best course i have taken thus far. The lecturer ensured we understood the work well and more than example was given for each scenario which made it easier to the theory with a perspective on reality.The peer graded assignment also came with great feedback. Thank you to Coursera and London business school for this great course.

By Jerry Y G

May 16, 2020

The course is refreshing views on how a manager of the future should be acting. While there are still many aspects of traditional culture that can only slowly be changed, a lot can be done now to help the managers of today to inspire and empower their work force, and slowly experiment with better management techniques.

By Sudip R

Dec 28, 2020

Excellent insights given by Prof Julian Birkinshaw. Todays world is uncertain and Business models has to constantly acclimatize to the changes. Conventional model alone wont be able to handle the VUCA world. This course has given me a overall outline and model. I am thankful to Prof Juilan for the wonderful narratives