Chevron Left
Back to Managing Employee Compensation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Employee Compensation by University of Minnesota

4.7
stars
1,240 ratings
294 reviews

About the Course

Whether you're writing paychecks or wondering where yours comes from, this course is for you! We begin by asking: "To succeed, what kind of a person does your organization need to attract, retain, and motivate?" From there, we'll explain how to align your organization's objectives, its pay philosophy, and ultimately the way it designs and implements its salary structure, short-term incentives, long-term incentives, and benefits. Interested in learning more about the technical aspects of compensation, but don't know where to begin? We'll give an overview of key the key technical skills: compliance with pay regulations, understanding stock options, shopping for health insurance and pension providers, and designing incentive plans. Lastly, we'll discuss non-monetary methods of motivating employees. Upon completing the course, you should be able to have an understanding of compensation both strategically and technically. Learners will also gain introductory familiarity with pay regulation in the US....

Top reviews

KM
Apr 22, 2019

This is a very useful course for any HR professional who wants to have an overview on Employee Compensation and Benefits. Thanks for detailed and thought- through lectures and the great opportunity.

S
May 7, 2020

Both the professors were amazing! However, I would like to point out that since everyone undertaking this course is from the USA, it's better to skip out on the portion about US Law and compliance.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 293 Reviews for Managing Employee Compensation

By Rudra P D

May 19, 2020

The content of the course is good but the language of model 1 to 3 teachers was difficult to understand sometimes.

By Margarita C

Jun 16, 2020

Detailed, but easy to understand. For topics that need more research, references are provided. Thanks!

By Anaya J

Jul 22, 2020

Amazing course! Neatly designed, can gather good knowledge and good assignments & quizes to improve.

By john f

Sep 20, 2020

Really Detailed and focussed approach towards Compensation in USA and North America

By Ellen I

Jun 24, 2020

I enjoyed this course it was simple yet very informative. Kept my attention.

By Maria J

Jan 10, 2018

You'll love the experienced teacher, the younger one... maybe not that much.

By Loi S M

Aug 9, 2020

The course is clearly designed to reflect the learning outcome purpose.

By Dr A B

Aug 29, 2020

Some more practical examples in the course will be better for learners

By Neha P

Jul 12, 2020

The course content was really good.Both the professors were great

By Дмитрий Л

Sep 24, 2017

Good course, but a lot info here is about the USA labor system.

By SHRESTHA M

Apr 22, 2020

it was bit confusing in the starting but later it got well

By Felicia G

Sep 20, 2017

This course was challenging but very insightful.

By Avereliya A C

Jan 16, 2017

Good course content with great examples

By Kadisha R H

Sep 11, 2017

Very interesting & enlightening course

By Asad M

Mar 18, 2020

good knowledge related course

By Sai M M

Oct 6, 2020

it was really great learning

By POOJA R S

Aug 6, 2020

helpful and knowledgeable

By holly

Jan 18, 2019

well organized

By Isaline

Mar 29, 2018

Great course!

By Md. K

Jan 14, 2019

great course

By YECHAN K

May 19, 2020

good

By Danilo V

Aug 21, 2018

I like this course, because it is very practical. However, the part related to FLSA and pensions and health policies is very specific to the reality of the USA. Living in another country, where there is a strong public presence in these sectors, I found myself uncomfortable and I found these sections less useful.

By renu m

Apr 24, 2018

The module is well balanced except for the section on US specific pay requirements. For a global audience, knowing US C&B laws and procedures is useless and I would recommend this being an optional module. Loved the non-monetary benefits module with Mike Davis. He is very clear and the concepts were very succinct.

By Dinu K D

Sep 15, 2020

I feel that the US norms on pay compliance piece can be removed for Non-US folks, as it does not make any sense to complete the same. Apart from that, I feel it has opened up a lot of untapped areas with respect to compensation. Thanks to both the professors.

By Victoria M

Jul 23, 2018

Although this course did have some helpful information, it was very focussed on American compensation and benefits. I would recommend to those looking to work in the American market, but not as much so for those working internationally.