Chevron Left
Back to Managing Employee Compensation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Employee Compensation by University of Minnesota

4.7
stars
1,244 ratings
296 reviews

About the Course

Whether you're writing paychecks or wondering where yours comes from, this course is for you! We begin by asking: "To succeed, what kind of a person does your organization need to attract, retain, and motivate?" From there, we'll explain how to align your organization's objectives, its pay philosophy, and ultimately the way it designs and implements its salary structure, short-term incentives, long-term incentives, and benefits. Interested in learning more about the technical aspects of compensation, but don't know where to begin? We'll give an overview of key the key technical skills: compliance with pay regulations, understanding stock options, shopping for health insurance and pension providers, and designing incentive plans. Lastly, we'll discuss non-monetary methods of motivating employees. Upon completing the course, you should be able to have an understanding of compensation both strategically and technically. Learners will also gain introductory familiarity with pay regulation in the US....

Top reviews

KM
Apr 22, 2019

This is a very useful course for any HR professional who wants to have an overview on Employee Compensation and Benefits. Thanks for detailed and thought- through lectures and the great opportunity.

S
May 7, 2020

Both the professors were amazing! However, I would like to point out that since everyone undertaking this course is from the USA, it's better to skip out on the portion about US Law and compliance.

Filter by:

276 - 294 of 294 Reviews for Managing Employee Compensation

By Victoria M

Jul 23, 2018

Although this course did have some helpful information, it was very focussed on American compensation and benefits. I would recommend to those looking to work in the American market, but not as much so for those working internationally.

By Zsolt A H

May 31, 2020

My biggest problem with this course is that is really US specific. As an European habitant and worker it as really hard to understand the methods what are in the US. It's interesting but too specific.

By Andreea P

Apr 23, 2020

Very interesting. However, I would suggest to have a less US-focused approach as a lot of us are not living in US and we could not care less about the labor laws there.

By Natalia K

Apr 11, 2020

This course should be revised to become more useful for international audience , specially week 3 contains just US law information and no other counties examples.

By Nikita P

Sep 24, 2017

The information in the course is pretty obvious and is quite clear without any knowledge about HR. Expected deeper dive into the topic.

By Mohit S

Nov 5, 2020

This course is weaker than the first and third. The third week of the course if not useful for the people who don't live in USA.

By Anshu P P

Jun 11, 2020

good, but me being Indian expected Indian compliance and labor laws. US compliance module was of no use to me

By Denis O

Apr 8, 2020

Peers assignment description does not match with the grading criteria

By Anitha.M.B

Sep 14, 2020

It's an important course to learn every management student.

By Sindhu J

Sep 6, 2020

Good one

By Ankita K

May 7, 2020

good

By Janni B N

Nov 12, 2020

INTERNATIONAL LEARNERS - this course is quite US focussed, and especially WEEK 3 where you have to do a peer-reviewed assignment which can be very time-consuming if you, like me, do not know a lot about the US system and laws around pension, insurance etc. I personally did not enjoy that aspect of the course as it was irrelevant to my learning and I was quite resentful to have to spend so much time on something I will never use. It was a futile exercise for me.

Other aspects of the course were also US focused. Few bits in WEEKS 1-3 were universally applicable, while WEEK 4 was much more general and learnings from this week can be applied anywhere taking cultural context into account.

By Chea M C

May 29, 2020

I like Mike's lesson very much! That is the week 4. Very informative and practical! Meanwhile, for week 3 lesson, not too meaningful for the learners from outside of The States. I strongly recommend the learner to focus in week 4 lessons if you are from outside of The States and you are looking for some ideas can benefits to your HRM in your organization. Week 1 and week 2 lessons are helpful too.

By anurag s

Feb 1, 2018

Not as good as other courses in the series. Highly repetitive content in week 4.

It must be realized that the course is being taken by students across the globe hence doing an assignment based on a job in USA is very difficult. Besides entire week 3 is dedicate only for rules in USA which is not at all useful for students outside of USA

By Anna Z

Sep 9, 2020

I'm highly dissatisfied with this particular course. It was hard for me to understand the reader because of his manner of speech. He also kept making mistakes and using fillers all the time. The worst course in the specialization!

By Svetoslav A

Sep 12, 2020

Too much unnecessary information for people who live outside the USA.

By Līga Ā

Aug 3, 2020

Very informative and boring course - a huge disappointment. The course consists of 4 week modules and week 1-3 is mostly about US laws, regulations and compensation system, which is useless information for students outside US. Week 3 is only (!) about US and the Peer-graded Assignment is analyzing US job. Course instructor Alan Benson seems to be smart and with great knowledge in this area, but his teaching style is boring, very informative, complicated and monotone - a lot of terms, numbers, definitions and confusing "explanations". I haven't been able to understand most of what he was talking about and looking at course discussions I assume that most students have the same situation as me. Comparing to other courses in HR for People Managers program, which I have also taken and I am very satisfied with, this course does not belong there (only week 4, which is taught by Mike Davis and which I enjoyed).

By David C T

Nov 22, 2016

Too US-centric. Very strange concept of non-monetary benefits. It very common to forgo cash remuneration for non-monetary benefits (mainly for tax advantages) which was largely ignored in this course.

By Kassandra D C

Mar 20, 2020

reopen my course so i can complete my subscription