Chevron Left
Back to Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Writing: The Craft of Character by Wesleyan University

4.5
stars
1,664 ratings
481 reviews

About the Course

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

Top reviews

SS
Aug 10, 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

N
Sep 25, 2020

The course was very well-structured and challenging. The instructor is very experienced and good, thus used relevant materials for this course, be it the guests, or the assignments, or the examples.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 478 Reviews for Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

By Raul N C G

Dec 21, 2018

Good course and interesting exercises. The instructor tackled the course in a bit different way that works fairly well for the course and its content.

By Trish S

Nov 8, 2016

This course offers great ideas and tools on how to make a character more 3D. Helpful links are offered and the discussion boards are very well done.

By Thangella S

Aug 12, 2020

The course is short and to the point and the assignments are also creative and challenging! Thank you Wesleyan University for such wonderful course!

By Aisha K

Jun 30, 2016

Excellent scaffolding of exercises to provide a broad intro aspects of character development. Enjoyable, meaningful, and great teaching methodology!

By Polina K

Feb 23, 2019

I learned a lot thanks to this course. The teachers are wonderful, and so is the information provided. I can feel my writing improve. Thank you:)

By Perri Z

May 31, 2017

I enjoyed listening to and reading each assignment's parts , all relevant and added more to my own learning perspective in developing characters.

By Hiobi H

Sep 5, 2017

Merci une fois de plus pour ce cours très très instructif. Les enseignants m'aident à poursuivre mon projet de littéraire actuellement en cours.

By Donna R

Oct 12, 2020

The craft of character was very enlighten and gives you the knowledge of creating characters and giving them an identity to be place in a story

By TJ S

Jul 5, 2018

Don't shy away from the challenging course material contained within, especially in Module 2. If writing was easy...y'know where this is going.

By Maria-Elisa D

Jan 29, 2021

I learned a lot from this course. It was interesting, it was fun, I felt motivated to writing scenes and creating characters. Love it, thanks!

By Emily H

Mar 4, 2020

Really great video examples and writing prompts. Peer reviews have been insightful and I've enjoyed reading other's work. Great series so far!

By abrar a

Mar 20, 2018

I love the professor. Her tips and lessons and also the assignments.. They were quite challenging and took time to understand.. but I loved it

By Victoria

Dec 5, 2017

Great exercises that are very effective. A well-taught course with clever instruction designed to get you to the heart of writing character.

By Jael P

Jan 30, 2021

I really enjoyed this course. I learned a lot about how to put my characters into writing instead of letting them float around in my head.

By Mariana

Mar 14, 2016

Wonderful! Very informative. Filled with examples, literature and very interesting interviews! Thank you so much! You're a great teacher!

By Gina A

Feb 23, 2021

I truly enjoyed this course, Amy Bloom's way a teaching opened my eyes to a lot of new information, and the excercises were very useful.

By Yvette H

Oct 24, 2017

Really loved this course but the assignment instructions could be simplified. I cut and pasted them then added bullets to sort them out.

By Frank W

May 29, 2021

Thank you for the excellent content in this course. I found it very helpful and thought provoking. Looking forward to the next course.

By Jaime E

Jun 6, 2020

I loved the assignments. They were the right amount of challenge and really enjoyed the instructor. Really helped me grow as a writer!

By Martha P G

Sep 29, 2020

Very helpful course. I am a beginning writer, and the information and the assignments showed me how to form and develop characters.

By James H

Dec 29, 2016

Excellent course. It regenerated my creativity which is what I hoped for and it cleared up some confusion I had about point of view.

By Rodrigo d c c

Jan 12, 2021

Very good content. Very well thought out. I like the divisions and the assignments are a real match for the whole table of content.

By Ramona K

Oct 29, 2018

This gave me a new perspective on Character and I believe it will help my characters become more true to life than they have been.

By Aruna N

May 7, 2018

Really useful materials and exercises, working through the question of characterisation in a systematic and thought-provoking way.

By Deleted A

Nov 9, 2016

Is too bad that for those who can't pay can't be evaluated on the assignments. But the whole course is very good and interesting!