Chevron Left
Back to Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
1,186 ratings
373 reviews

About the Course

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

Top reviews

EG
Jul 1, 2020

Great course, it taught me things that I would have never learned otherwise, in this course you must take your time, don't rush, because if you do you will miss the most important points of the curse.

AM
Jan 19, 2021

This was such a wonderful course. I got to learn a lot about strange lands, imaginative description etc. Generally how to set my world and describe it in a convincing manner. I totally recommend it.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 366 Reviews for Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

By Jose D d O F

Feb 25, 2018

This course is awesome, it made me think about setting and description in a whole new way. The material is just great.

By Gabriela R

Jul 17, 2016

My favorite of the specialization. Rich in information, challenging and engaging assignments, and nuggets of wisdom.

By Juan S P S

Aug 26, 2020

It's a thought-provoking course, suitable and helpful for anyone who is interested in develop good writing skills

By Amy L

Feb 19, 2021

This was the toughest course for me, but I learned quite a bit about settings, time, and place in story writing.

By Eneida A M

Dec 14, 2016

In this course I practiced an exercise that changed forever my way of writing a setting description. I loved it!

By Esmeralda C G

Feb 28, 2021

It was a great course, with very useful videos and lectures. The exercises were perfect to learn new abilities.

By Srinivas R

Jun 26, 2017

Taught me how to slow time down, be more observant, engage all the senses and immerse the reader into the story

By Stephanie K

Mar 22, 2017

This was so helpful in getting over significant roadblocks with ongoing work, and getting me to write new work.

By swapna g

Nov 16, 2019

The class was very helpful. I learnt the art of using physical details to make my story vivid and interesting.

By Fernanda B

Oct 25, 2017

This teacher is the best. Even though I recommemd all courses, I love Amity. She never lets us lose our focus.

By Anna V

Nov 28, 2016

the most informative and most structured out of all Creative Writing Specialization courses so far. Thank you!

By Esha B

Apr 2, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed the course. I feel what I have learnt in this course will take my writing to a new level.

By Leo J R J

Nov 26, 2018

Another great class! Lectures were insightful, assignments interesting and feedback from classmates helpful.

By Anne B

Jun 6, 2019

Challenging, very useful course, gives me the confidence to dig into my imagination and improve my writing.

By Heather F R

Aug 31, 2016

Excellent course. I learned a lot. Amity Gaige is a terrific instructor. I enjoyed her method of teaching.

By Amanda C

Sep 13, 2016

A great course to get you thinking about the what and where of your story. I highly recommend this course.

By Atharva D N

Jun 28, 2020

The course was very interesting and very helpful. I learned so many things in this course, thanks a lot.

By Jamie M

Feb 28, 2018

Fantastic course! I learned a lot about setting and the assignments were well-thought out for learning!

By Karena A

Mar 26, 2019

THis course showed a different perspective of writing fiction than what I have done in the past. Nice.

By Chibuenyim A B

Nov 29, 2020

This course has taught me so much. I can say that I am a better writer than I was before I enrolled.

By Adam T

Sep 30, 2020

Amity was an excellent teacher and it looks like she really put thought and energy into the lessons.

By John N

Jun 4, 2021

Amity Gaige is insightful and helped me understand setting better. She is also not bad to look at.

By Gicela H y G

Sep 11, 2016

An excellent course to help you involve in the art of setting and description. I recommend it 100%

By Ruby G

Jul 17, 2021

I really learned a ton. I loved the delivery of Amity Gaige and her personal touches on writing.

By Rahul S

Dec 31, 2018

It was challenging but an experience and after completing it am sure I have skipped my skills