Chevron Left
Back to Cryptography I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cryptography I by Stanford University

4.8
stars
3,582 ratings
757 reviews

About the Course

Cryptography is an indispensable tool for protecting information in computer systems. In this course you will learn the inner workings of cryptographic systems and how to correctly use them in real-world applications. The course begins with a detailed discussion of how two parties who have a shared secret key can communicate securely when a powerful adversary eavesdrops and tampers with traffic. We will examine many deployed protocols and analyze mistakes in existing systems. The second half of the course discusses public-key techniques that let two parties generate a shared secret key. Throughout the course participants will be exposed to many exciting open problems in the field and work on fun (optional) programming projects. In a second course (Crypto II) we will cover more advanced cryptographic tasks such as zero-knowledge, privacy mechanisms, and other forms of encryption....

Top reviews

BH
Jan 13, 2020

Provides a comprehensive introduction to cryptographic history, current technology, best practices and known attacker techniques. A great deal of material is covered in a relatively compact program.

BC
Mar 10, 2017

Cutting edge cryptography topics. Good explanations and slides, but pause button is highly recommended. Can be a bit too mathematical for the general public, and not very formal for mathematicians.

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 742 Reviews for Cryptography I

By Sarah R D

Oct 19, 2018

Awesome!

By Alexandre B

Nov 18, 2017

Amazing.

By 赵浩亮

Nov 22, 2018

perfect

By Parsa H M

Sep 16, 2018

perfect

By hell

May 18, 2017

awesome

By ycr0123

Mar 9, 2017

so good

By 汪阳

May 17, 2016

希望有中文字幕

By wanghui

Nov 18, 2020

great!

By DIVYANSH S

Jul 18, 2018

thanks

By YUEQING L

Nov 28, 2017

Great!

By 马致远

Nov 21, 2017

感觉收获很大

By Deleted A

Oct 30, 2017

great!

By HMY

Oct 21, 2017

讲得非常好!

By Rolando A C V

Jan 24, 2017

nitido

By Le H

Nov 9, 2016

Great!

By Adrian D A

Apr 6, 2021

cool

By Tanmay S

Dec 15, 2019

good

By Ovchinnikov E M

Mar 24, 2019

kaif

By Amit S

Dec 26, 2017

good

By QiangqiangNiu

Nov 20, 2017

good

By Rishav C

Dec 30, 2016

none

By Deleted A

Apr 30, 2016

Nice

By Adriano A

May 7, 2019

god

By Steven X

Mar 16, 2017

:)

By Rob A

Mar 6, 2020

This must be an incredibly difficult course to try to teach in six/seven weeks. There's a ton of material to cover and I appreciate that the course touches on all of the basics of crypto that are actually in use.

My only complaint is that some of the questions on the quizzes were really repetitive week-to-week. In particular, every week features a question (usually #3, if I remember correctly) that had you choose which constructions out of five choices were "secure" as per the definition of security for that week's topic. The problem was that the correct and incorrect answers were always similar, even though the security concept for each week was different! In other words, there are some things that will NEVER be secure for any crypto system. Every version of the question had several choices that fell into this category. It got to the point that I usually got the question correct on the first or second attempt without even trying that hard. In reality, that question should have required a lot more brain power from me because those security challenges are actually sometimes very subtle and difficult.

But that's truly my only criticism. I loved the course and the programming assignments. I'll be keeping an eye out for any more courses taught by Dr. Boneh.