Chevron Left
Back to Object-Oriented Data Structures in C++

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Object-Oriented Data Structures in C++ by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
2,017 ratings
519 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches learners how to write a program in the C++ language, including how to set up a development environment for writing and debugging C++ code and how to implement data structures as C++ classes. It is the first course in the Accelerated CS Fundamentals specialization, and subsequent courses in this specialization will be using C++ as the language for implementing the data structures covered in class....

Top reviews

EQ
Jan 12, 2020

Honestly, this is a great crash course in OOP for C++ (though the ideas can be applied to any language). Previous experience with C++ is almost a necessity, the lessons can be complicated for novices.

AR
Jan 31, 2021

Great course, simple and difficult all at the same time. Great introduction to these topics. Every thing that is included is there for a reason as every thing is straight to the point with no filler.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 518 Reviews for Object-Oriented Data Structures in C++

By Taranpreet s

Sep 25, 2020

Great explanations by the professor, only reason I am giving 4 stars is due to less support from course staff. Although assignments are well designed, instructions for few are confusing.

By Mudit T

Jul 10, 2020

It could have been done in a better fashion, e.g., keeping the difficulty constant, but making some things easy and some things hard just makes the student wonder about their own skills.

By PREMDEEP A

Jan 4, 2021

Good Course. I really liked the explanation for "how namespaces are used in C++". It is one of my most valuable take-ups from this course besides many interesting fundamentals taught

By Sai G R K

Dec 11, 2020

Week 1,2 and 3 were good but in the revised week 4 , a concept used in the lecture was not covered and it was hard to understand the code written for tower of hanoi in C++

By Isaac C

Feb 19, 2020

You learn a lot of important concepts very quickly. Assignments and test are fun and really evaluate your concepts. I'd love to have seen more of operator overloading.

By Yu W

Nov 4, 2019

I think it's a bit too easy. I was expecting extensive knowledge and practices on C++ OOP like inheritance, abstract class, virtual functions, more advanced topics.

By Gunjan B

Feb 7, 2021

The final programming assignment was actually a normal coding assignment rather than pure C++ object oriented programming. Overall the course is enjoyable.

By Doug E

Feb 27, 2020

Great course! It would be a bit better if there was more code-writing involved to reinforce the language, rather than directly quizzing language esoterica.

By Thomas B

May 2, 2020

Excellent but the support staff seems to have disappeared recently. Moreover the leap between the lecture material and assignments is a little too large.

By Hernan T

Apr 6, 2021

The course was nice but the project was awful. I'm glad I have some 'pro' code to study from but I felt it wasn't relevant to the level of the content.

By SAURABH P

Aug 11, 2020

The skims through the topics. The explanation of the concepts is good but merely the overview. More projects with more difficulty would benefit more.

By Kartikay B

May 27, 2020

Overall good course, with brainstorming practical exercises and challenges.

A Medium to hard kind of course and student should "know" C++ language

By Ali M

Nov 14, 2019

The course is very high level. Will like to see more detailed lectures and gradded assignements to get a better handle at pointers and classes.

By TIANMIN L

Dec 13, 2020

Nice course to refersh my C++ knowledge. However, there doesn't seem to be any tutorial on debugging. I ended up using gdb on cloud9.

By omar m

Oct 17, 2020

the finale project subbmition mechanichs was not the best thing i tried as it caused me a delay of 3 or 4 days to end this project

By RAGHAV S

Jun 16, 2020

Helps me to understand basics of c++ but i would say u should know atleast any one other language to understand more efficiently.

By Angela Z

Jan 11, 2020

In general i'm not sure C++ is the language i want to learn - hope the value will show up in the future. Eric is really helpful.

By John K

Nov 13, 2019

I enjoyed the course, it had been years since taking anything C++ related. Was a good start to refreshing my knowledge there.

By Sidharth R

Jul 27, 2020

it was very helpful in getting to know DS and really helped build up a great patience when solving the bugs in my code

By HUANG, T

May 29, 2021

Though some terminologies are driving me crazy, I like the design of those programming assignments and the forum!

By David R

May 25, 2021

The instructor is very great in his teaching style, but I feel that the projects are somewhat lacking in rigor.

By Christopher M P

Dec 16, 2019

Computer-graded code is a nice change after waiting weeks for an assignment to be graded in some other courses.

By Oguz H

Sep 30, 2020

The course is great. Unfortunately, the final project is covering very little part of the course if any.

By Ali M

Feb 13, 2020

The course is good. I gave it 4 out of 5 because the Tower of Hanoi lesson needs some improvements

By Rajeev G

Aug 5, 2020

The language used by the instructor was a little complex and fast. It was difficult to catch up.