Chevron Left
Back to Data Structures and Performance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Structures and Performance by University of California San Diego

4.8
1,618 ratings
341 reviews

About the Course

How do Java programs deal with vast quantities of data? Many of the data structures and algorithms that work with introductory toy examples break when applications process real, large data sets. Efficiency is critical, but how do we achieve it, and how do we even measure it? This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science, and in particular, we recommend that you have taken the first course in this specialization (which also requires some previous experience with Java). In this course, you will use and analyze data structures that are used in industry-level applications, such as linked lists, trees, and hashtables. You will explain how these data structures make programs more efficient and flexible. You will apply asymptotic Big-O analysis to describe the performance of algorithms and evaluate which strategy to use for efficient data retrieval, addition of new data, deletion of elements, and/or memory usage. The program you will build throughout this course allows its user to manage, manipulate and reason about large sets of textual data. This is an intermediate Java course, and we will build on your prior knowledge. This course is designed around the same video series as in our first course in this specialization, including explanations of core content, learner videos, student and engineer testimonials, and support videos -- to better allow you to choose your own path through the course!...

Top reviews

DB

Oct 13, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

SS

Dec 19, 2015

The course curriculum is well designed and teaches students the basic data structures needed to be a successful software engineer. The project is good, and the weekly assignments are challenging.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 330 Reviews for Data Structures and Performance

By Zoran H

Feb 05, 2016

It is raising the standard.

By Andrei C

Feb 14, 2016

An exceptional course in intermediary programming!

By Lee H

Aug 28, 2017

A good overview of some fundamental data types. The programming assignments are fun and reasonably easy to implement if you have some CS background.

By Baljeet S

Dec 11, 2015

Learned a lot of useful ideas specially how to implement your own data structure efficiently.

By Lachezar

Apr 14, 2017

Well-structured course with great content.

By Amar R

Feb 14, 2016

Really liked this course! It tested my patience and logic....I am glad that I am finally been able to complete this with "flying colors :)"....Will take some break before the advanced data structure though! until then ...

By Thirumal V

Dec 20, 2015

Great stuff! Don't give up on the first assignment, the rest are more easier...

By Abdalla M

May 23, 2017

Loved it

By Rasul A

Apr 03, 2016

Good course about algorithms.

By Utku A

Apr 03, 2016

Projects are a lot of fun to do! I strongly recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn about algoritms and data structures.

By Ali S

Feb 21, 2016

A very useful and instructive course. The difficult abstract ideas are explained very clear way. You learn the basic theory, learn to develop understading why and where use a specific Data Structure and the porjects and examples are real world problem.

I am very happy that i had found this course and finished it. Thanks a lot

By Gábor C

Jul 25, 2016

Good course!

By Sudharaka P

Feb 17, 2016

Great course. I learnt a lot about data structures and Java in general.

By Subhaprada C

Sep 19, 2016

Brilliant course. Learnt a lot about Data Structures like Trees, Tries, HashMaps etc. The best part was implementing the back-end for the text-editor project. Highly recommend it.

By Kamaldeep T

Sep 17, 2016

Great course overall. Excellent, well compiled set of lectures and assignments.

By mohamed m

Jun 06, 2016

One of the best courses of data structures in the world !

By Harish B N

Jan 14, 2016

Excellent Course!

The explanation is so detail with examples, even a person new to algorithms can understand the concepts.

By Sangam S

Jan 30, 2016

Loved the assignment, challenging and fun.

By Obi

Jan 27, 2016

great course, straightforward and paced very well

By ahmed h

Oct 29, 2015

This courser deserves 10 stars and not just 5. I hoped that the team have started the series from the very beginning as to replicate the course 8A. I am perfering their style than from the very short Duke's course.

Still Many topics to come from this extremely successful team

thanks

Ahmed

By Dee W

Aug 02, 2016

I love this class. There are a couple of data structure classes in Coursera and i think this class fits me the most. I like that it teaches data structures and how to use them in the real world. So, you will be building actual programs with the data structures you learn . It skips alot of the math stuff and I love it because i am not trying to be a "real computer scientist" . I dont need to know how to write a math proof on how a algorithm works what not. Maybe in the future when i want to do research, but as of right now, I just want to build cool software and have fun.

By DARWIN G V

Nov 26, 2015

great!!!!!!

By Devershi

Jan 16, 2016

After so many years, I actually understood the core concepts of data structures. Thanks all three instructors. The amount of effort they are putting to make the things easy for the students is awesome.

By XING D

Jul 10, 2016

Fantastic, enjoying and challenging.

By Jianmo N

Feb 03, 2016

Clear & Explicit!