Chevron Left
Back to Building Database Applications in PHP

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building Database Applications in PHP by University of Michigan

4.9
stars
870 ratings
191 reviews

About the Course

In this course, we'll look at the object oriented patterns available in PHP. You'll learn how to connect to a MySQL using the Portable Data Objects (PDO) library and issue SQL commands in the the PHP language. We'll also look at how PHP uses cookies and manages session data. You'll learn how PHP avoids double posting data, how flash messages are implemented, and how to use a session to log in users in web applications. We'll then build the first 'complete' application that has multiple screens to Create, Read, Update and Delete (CRUD) our data. This brings all the previous concepts together and will form the basis for all later web applications. It is assumed that learners have already taken the Building Web Applications course in this specialization....

Top reviews

AA
Jun 29, 2018

Awesome course, I think anyone who wants to do web app stuff should try this. Although it would a little difficult to go through the autograder, but believe me, It's worth it. Dedication is the key.

T
Nov 27, 2020

The course was very instructive, all the details were explained two or three times in a single video and the course instructor was very charismatic and fun to listen to! Thanks for the course!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 188 Reviews for Building Database Applications in PHP

By Hiroki U

Sep 1, 2020

Excellent course for understanding how Web application works.

Explanations were so clear, and it helped me understand about the topics like session,cookie, ...etc .

By Asad J

Aug 28, 2018

One of the best PHP contents I have ever seen. I practiced and learnt a lot. This course gives nudges in the rightful directions. Still have a long way to go.

By Fabio B S D R M

Jul 4, 2018

Very Good Course, Got completely stuck in week 4 for the first time in a long period of courses in coursera and had to work hard to complete the assignment.

By Achraf A

Jan 11, 2018

Excellent course! I recommend it to anyone who want's to learn PHP.

Thank you very much, Charles Severance & the University of Michigan for this course!

By Tautvydas K

Oct 26, 2020

It's so nice to keep learning PHP while the teacher is soooo great! All material is explained in a clear way and really convenient to understand it

By Carl B

May 14, 2018

Well structured course. Really liked the idea of working on one big project but learning new things to improve it. Really good tutorial videos.

By Juan M

Jun 24, 2020

Awesome, I love how Dr. Severance explains and I think this boosted my knowledge and feel more confident of creating better web applications.

By Tom B

Apr 1, 2021

Dr. Chuck rocks! An excellent introduction and that ramps up and provides an opportunity to learn critical skills for business programming.

By Abhishek S

Jul 12, 2020

Can't appreciate Dr.chuck enough for raising my interest in this field even though i am from a completely different branch in Engineering.

By Daisy D

Mar 19, 2018

A very important course for backend web development. Thanks to the professor and teaching staff for making this course so much fun . :)

By jonathan j

Nov 17, 2020

Thank you Dr. Chuck its a very concise lectures on database applications in PHP.That's a really fun graduation.Thank you very much

By Fahim R

May 8, 2020

This course become very helpful to me. Now I've clear concept about PHP sessions and about CRUD application. Highly recommended.

By Matthijs O

Dec 6, 2020

Compared to the preceding courses in the specialization this one costed me much more effort. Very interesting material however.

By Corey W

Jan 7, 2020

This course really helped me fill in all the gaps that being a self taught developer left. Can't wait to continue with others.

By Shubham N

Sep 3, 2019

Best Course For Database using PHP and you will learn a lot using assignments. Thank You sir, For this informative Course.

By Juan M R

Jul 4, 2018

This course will show you how to work on database in php from a basic way of thinking.And basic means the real god base.

By James K

Sep 7, 2020

Learned a lot, very practical course covering the basics of PHP, lots more to learn but this is a great place to start.

By Anit A

Jul 6, 2018

This course is very nice as it helps to understand the basic of building the functional logic of any web application!!

By david r

Jul 29, 2019

i think if we tought of how create a class object would make this course best.

but overal fantastic and well presented

By Krzysztof W

Nov 16, 2018

More challenging than the previous two but really rewarding. Now I can design and maintain basic CRUD applications.

By Ravi S R C

Jul 3, 2020

This is an excellent course. Experienced lectures, far good and easy to understand.

Once again , Dr.Chuck ROCKS!!!!

By Rafael D C J

Sep 5, 2020

Probably the best one from the specialization, Dr. Chuck really know when and how to bring everything together.

By Jeroen N

Jul 14, 2019

Another highly educational class by the University of Michigan, presented by the entertaing Charles Severance!

By Manuel C

Apr 7, 2019

It was a really fun course to learn and it was exactly what I was looking for! Would recommend it to a friend!

By Juan D V P

Dec 27, 2020

Curso muy completo sobre construción de aplicaciones web con PHP, se tocan temas con MVC, CRUD, GETs y POSTs