Chevron Left
Back to Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization by deeplearning.ai

4.9
38,156 ratings
4,057 reviews

About the Course

This course will teach you the "magic" of getting deep learning to work well. Rather than the deep learning process being a black box, you will understand what drives performance, and be able to more systematically get good results. You will also learn TensorFlow. After 3 weeks, you will: - Understand industry best-practices for building deep learning applications. - Be able to effectively use the common neural network "tricks", including initialization, L2 and dropout regularization, Batch normalization, gradient checking, - Be able to implement and apply a variety of optimization algorithms, such as mini-batch gradient descent, Momentum, RMSprop and Adam, and check for their convergence. - Understand new best-practices for the deep learning era of how to set up train/dev/test sets and analyze bias/variance - Be able to implement a neural network in TensorFlow. This is the second course of the Deep Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

CV

Dec 24, 2017

Exceptional Course, the Hyper parameters explanations are excellent every tip and advice provided help me so much to build better models, I also really liked the introduction of Tensor Flow\n\nThanks.

XG

Oct 31, 2017

Thank you Andrew!! I know start to use Tensorflow, however, this tool is not well for a research goal. Maybe, pytorch could be considered in the future!! And let us know how to use pytorch in Windows.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 3,991 Reviews for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization

By Manpreet M

Jan 29, 2019

Good content and explanation. There are good practical suggestions given in the course. Also, TensorFlow programming is introduced which is nice!

By Saeed A J A

Jan 29, 2019

Thanks for your guidance

By Patrick M

Jan 29, 2019

Thank you so much for this course. It's been really insightful and helpful

By Rob

Jan 30, 2019

Really enjoyed the last section on TensorFlow

By Aravind D C

Jan 28, 2019

Very good course to understand the nuts and bolts behind the deep learning

By 王新越

Jan 29, 2019

The course is useful for me ,and I have learned much.

By Graham M

Feb 07, 2019

Very practical. Great to get to TensorFlow by the third week.

By Minhao Z

Feb 09, 2019

This course is extremely helpful to real-world NN projects.

By Yingyu F

Feb 09, 2019

Tensorflow I will to use @ instead of tf.matmul but failed in grading....

By Alberto M C

Feb 08, 2019

Daunting material to go through, but massively important and well explained!

By Pruthvi R R G

Jan 27, 2019

Superb Course for beginners!

By Deepa K

Jan 27, 2019

Highly recommended

By Luca C

Jan 27, 2019

Knowing this makes the difference. How do you evolve from being a monkey behind a keyboard knowing how to tensorflow a NN to homo sapiens? The concepts provided in this course will make the job.

pros: + workflow to address and optimize your supervised learning problems

+ wide and easy-to-get overview on most essential concepts

+ improves your understanding of NN; those who are already familiar with these concepts might still benefit from this clear and insightfull presentation

cons: - programming assignment will not suffices to give you a sufficient knowledge of tensorflow to make your own applications, you should integrate a bit. (However, mastering tensorflow is not the intention of the assignment).

By RAMA R R

Jan 27, 2019

Great Course

By Ananya R

Jan 27, 2019

Great Course, just like the rest in the specialisation! Really like the method of teaching!! Some sections of the assignment were coded before hand but would have been nice to be able to code them as well. Thanks

By Jesus P

Jan 28, 2019

Great course

By Manawaduge D

Jan 26, 2019

Excellent resource for learning deep learning basics and techniques. Clear and intuitive instruction style.

By Paul F

Jan 27, 2019

Great learning experience. I'm going to keep going. I want to learn more.

By 龚鑫

Jan 27, 2019

very nice, I learned a lot from that course!

By Kaiqiang W

Jan 27, 2019

Pretty Good!

By Shravan

Jan 27, 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed this course. Thanks very much Andrew sir!

By Muralidhar P

Jan 27, 2019

Really good course for practical purpose... Many concepts I learn from here

By Pochadri A

Jan 27, 2019

very good understanding of the hyperparameters for various optimization algos is given, with very good intution.

By Luiz A N J

Feb 10, 2019

Excellent course, the theoretical basis is given with amazing explanations by Andrew Ng. To best way to learn more about optimizations in Deep Learning.

By Gregory R G J

Feb 09, 2019

Thumbs Up!