Chevron Left
Back to Design Patterns

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Patterns by University of Alberta

4.7
stars
807 ratings
160 reviews

About the Course

This course extends object-oriented analysis and design by incorporating design patterns to create interactive applications. Through a survey of established design patterns, you will gain a foundation for more complex software applications. Finally, you will identify problematic software designs by referencing a catalog of code smells. You will be challenged in the Capstone Project to redesign an existing Java-based Android application to implement a combination of design patterns. You will also critique a given Java codebase for code smells. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Demonstrate how to use design patterns to address user interface design issues. • Identify the most suitable design pattern to address a given application design problem. • Apply design principles (e.g., open-closed, dependency inversion, least knowledge). • Critique code by identifying and refactoring anti-patterns. • Apply the model-view-controller architectural pattern....

Top reviews

ZP
Sep 17, 2019

I have never had a chance to study CS at the university so I am always looking for ways to improve my knowledge - to keep up with fellow programmers. And this course met my requirements perfectly. :)

KP
Oct 26, 2020

This course was not easy, especially when you have zero knowledge on subject. But it is very helpful subject and will certainly be a plus for you career in software development.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 159 Reviews for Design Patterns

By Farsan R

Sep 16, 2018

Good for people already know the stuffs and need some kind of brush up. Otherwise have to be willing to study contents from web to truly understand the patterns.

By PRATIBHA J

Dec 28, 2018

Awesome learning experience alongwith examples.

Smaller, simpler and more number of code writing & design making exercises can make it more awesome.

By Anuj A

May 26, 2020

The demo could have been also possible with any simple IDE, as installing and configuring Android Studio could be irrelevant for some students.

By Pablo P

Aug 10, 2020

I really enjoyed how the concepts are explored. My humble suggestion is to increase the level of examples in the code smells section.

By DHANANJAY S

Dec 25, 2019

Very good course content and appropriate assignments. Having more examples before assignment would help little more in my opinion.

By Vishwas K

Sep 30, 2018

Well explained & organized. Good coding assignments to better understand & retain the learnt topics.

By Apurv A S

Aug 27, 2020

The course is excellent. It covers a lot of design patterns that we may use.

By Nagabushan P

May 15, 2019

Very Interactive and like the way tutors relate to the real world examples!

By Wilson T M

Nov 12, 2018

It's a good course but you do not have the support of a coach (instructor).

By Davis A

Aug 5, 2018

Powerful though I think more updated example could give a richer expierence

By mugnaio

Oct 16, 2017

very good course, is a must if you are serious about Object Oriented Design

By Vinay K S K

Dec 19, 2019

Good Learning but too much to cover and easy to loose track of the topic.

By Sakshee S

Apr 17, 2020

very good teaching skills. i understand most of the things very fast.

By Hany S

Jan 10, 2019

Really useful course, it let me understand the patterns deeply

By Ignas P

Nov 2, 2020

Content was good, but some "starter code bases" were missing.

By Максим Р

Apr 21, 2020

Nice course, but slightly faster than I wanted it to be

By DHRUV S

Dec 21, 2019

There should be more explanation of code examples

By Gayathri

Jul 28, 2020

Capstone challenge can be even more challenging

By JOHN P O

Sep 18, 2020

Very informative course.

By Andrés W

Dec 10, 2017

Great course

By Siddharth S

Mar 28, 2019

Nice course

By nguyen d

Jan 14, 2018

Great

By Isha J

Apr 13, 2020

good

By Revelo A

Jul 6, 2020

Many of the explanations concerning design patterns are too abstact and there are not enough practical exercise to understand them deeply. For many topics you won´t be able to get a good idea about the practical application.

By Aurel M

Mar 27, 2020

Forum is not useful, unfortunately. No involvement by teachers, just a bunch of guys asking for assignments to be graded. Grading by others is much too lenient, i.e. even if you make errors, you are awarded too many points.