Chevron Left
Back to Design Patterns

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Patterns by University of Alberta

4.7
stars
859 ratings
175 reviews

About the Course

This course extends object-oriented analysis and design by incorporating design patterns to create interactive applications. Through a survey of established design patterns, you will gain a foundation for more complex software applications. Finally, you will identify problematic software designs by referencing a catalog of code smells. You will be challenged in the Capstone Project to redesign an existing Java-based Android application to implement a combination of design patterns. You will also critique a given Java codebase for code smells. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Demonstrate how to use design patterns to address user interface design issues. • Identify the most suitable design pattern to address a given application design problem. • Apply design principles (e.g., open-closed, dependency inversion, least knowledge). • Critique code by identifying and refactoring anti-patterns. • Apply the model-view-controller architectural pattern....

Top reviews

ZP
Sep 17, 2019

I have never had a chance to study CS at the university so I am always looking for ways to improve my knowledge - to keep up with fellow programmers. And this course met my requirements perfectly. :)

KP
Oct 26, 2020

This course was not easy, especially when you have zero knowledge on subject. But it is very helpful subject and will certainly be a plus for you career in software development.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 173 Reviews for Design Patterns

By marco s

Feb 15, 2021

Excellent. I've applied some concepts of the course right away on my job. It helps you to name things that you usually see in code bases.

By Liton M

Oct 13, 2020

The Course was very interesting and helpful. I think it will help to grow up my software development career and drag to the next level.

By Zois A

Oct 17, 2020

This course covers exactly how we are supposed to think as engineers, when it comes to using design patterns and writing clear code.

By LIUZHENTAO

Aug 10, 2020

This course is really content-rich. And the course projects are practical and useful! I am looking forward to the next course!

By Ali S

Apr 1, 2018

Its a wonderful course for all the software engineers who use object-oriented paradigm for software application development.

By Rafael A E H

May 1, 2020

Great content, I would add a few more patterns, not necessarily for grading, but to have them as guide for when needed.

By Zhao H

Jan 23, 2021

This is a very very excellent course of which I've ever taken & would like to recommend it to my friends to expore.

By Huu A H N

Feb 6, 2021

Very practical approach of explaining design patterns. I also learned new anti-patterns. Thanks instructors!

By Maruf H

May 30, 2020

Brief introduction to design patterns. The lectures, quizes, assignments are all good. Recommended to take.

By Ebrahim A

Aug 3, 2018

you can just open the video to look to the beautiful instructor lady and how can she simplifies everything

By Dr. T J H

Sep 7, 2020

Nice examples for the design patterns, especially not just the default example for the Decorator Pattern.

By Mwenemwami D B

Mar 18, 2019

Good course, really loving this specialization though I am a bit behind with progress as I wasnt well

By W M C B

May 4, 2020

Very valuable course. A must taken by all Software Engineers who will be working in this area.

By Sandor W

Nov 26, 2018

Not great for last minute preparation. Missing some design patterns out of the 23 patterns.

By An V N

Apr 28, 2018

Awesome course! I learn a lot from this course for the ongoing project in my company

By Tirumalesh B

Jun 13, 2018

The course is very good. It deals with many design patterns and also anti-patterns.

By Fabrice L

Apr 17, 2018

Good coverage of design patterns, but a lot of lecture and not enough examples.

By David K

May 12, 2020

Very Informative. Captures the most important Patterns with good explanation

By Ítalo D

Feb 18, 2020

Very good course. I could refresh a lot of concepts and learn new practices.

By Moussa D

Mar 19, 2019

Very good course to get a first and clear grasp of various different pattern

By Patty E

Nov 26, 2017

Good real world examples of when and how to apply common design patterns.

By DIEGO S

Oct 30, 2020

An amazing course with and an amazing teacher. Its a really great course

By Heena H

Feb 7, 2019

wonderfully explained, with rememberable examples. very well documented.

By Ramiro V

Dec 2, 2020

Excelente curso, muy bien presentado, muy buena bibliografia, gracias

By Aishwary B

Aug 14, 2020

A nice course to get a view on design patterns. Highly recommendable.