Chevron Left
Back to Design Patterns

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Patterns by University of Alberta

4.7
stars
952 ratings
197 reviews

About the Course

This course extends object-oriented analysis and design by incorporating design patterns to create interactive applications. Through a survey of established design patterns, you will gain a foundation for more complex software applications. Finally, you will identify problematic software designs by referencing a catalog of code smells. You will be challenged in the Capstone Project to redesign an existing Java-based Android application to implement a combination of design patterns. You will also critique a given Java codebase for code smells. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Demonstrate how to use design patterns to address user interface design issues. • Identify the most suitable design pattern to address a given application design problem. • Apply design principles (e.g., open-closed, dependency inversion, least knowledge). • Critique code by identifying and refactoring anti-patterns. • Apply the model-view-controller architectural pattern....

Top reviews

SH
Aug 24, 2021

Wonderful course. It can enhance tour knowledge and give opportunity to explore more about design patterns. There are wonderful examples, assignments and quiz. I would highly recommend this course.

KP
Oct 26, 2020

This course was not easy, especially when you have zero knowledge on subject. But it is very helpful subject and will certainly be a plus for you career in software development.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 198 Reviews for Design Patterns

By JAAFAR I

Jan 9, 2020

good course

By Malykhin N

Oct 11, 2019

good course

By Mohd I K

Jul 5, 2019

Great work!

By Vaibhav j

Sep 27, 2021

Excellent

By Christophe N

Dec 30, 2020

Very Good

By RAJDEEP S B

Apr 17, 2020

Excellent

By Thành N K

Sep 11, 2019

so useful

By Cesar F C M

Sep 22, 2017

Excellent

By DIEGO M G R

May 29, 2019

Great!!

By SydEney A

Jan 25, 2021

Topper

By Flavio S d S

Mar 30, 2019

Great!

By Yoimar M B

Oct 25, 2021

good

By Thăng N

Aug 1, 2021

Good

By Sujoy k

Sep 23, 2020

fine

By Tejesh K 1

Nov 8, 2019

good

By Thanh M

Aug 13, 2021

OK

By Sarim S

Sep 22, 2021

I think its a decent course for beginners/intermediate programmers. The course doesn't go over all of the design patterns just the major ones which was a bummer. I really like how they explained everything in an easy to understand way in this course but I really wanted the difficulty to ramp up as we went towards some of the harder patterns, unfortunately that didn't happen nevertheless this is a decent foundation in design patterns in my opinion. Definitely recommended to anyone starting out or finding design patterns hard to understand alone.

By Raphael S C

Feb 3, 2020

Nice content and material, very well explained! It would be better if the assignments used more plain console programs instead of an Android App. Even though it's nice to use the patterns in a "real world" app, the focus in the patterns get lost sometimes due to the complexity of the environment and the code for such an app. In a simpler environment, It also would be possible to have harder assignments, which would lead to a better overall result.

By Gabriel F S

Oct 6, 2019

The course provided me a high level vision of Design Patterns and its application to solve main common software design problems. It worth to do the course.

In my opinion, some more practical exercises would provide better knowledge fixation, also use Android applications on the Capstone assignments was a poor choice, cause it is high resource consuming and has some limitations depending on the OS you are using.

By William C

Apr 14, 2019

Good. Feedback from assignments is ok. There could be more elboration on the final code-smells stuff (maybe some example solutions). The example code given does not compile, I had to spend a reasonble amount of time fixing the build errors. Course content was good and informative.

By Matthew G

Jul 6, 2020

I liked learning about the many different design patterns touched on in this course. I think more could have been done with practically implementing the patterns (starting from scratch). The Capstone project again involved a great deal of overhead which wasn't really justified.

By Davide R

May 17, 2018

I love always extra additional optional material for who want to go in deep. Maybe some pdf with other design patterns.

I don't like at all android studio as development environment.

In order to study design pattern maybe could be better some simplest and lightest environment.

By Shannon F

Feb 16, 2018

I think it gave a good overview of the content. I felt they needed to have more written content.

I understand there is a lot out there already on design patterns but it would have been nice if they had developed texts that went with the videos.

By Ivan W

May 23, 2020

great content. Instead of just introducing every design pattern, this course chose to introduce some classic patterns for every category and focusing on connecting them on a high level - writing "reusable, flexible, maintainable" code.

By Mohammed S

Oct 3, 2019

Very good course but I think you should give many practical examples. I searched a lot to get the full knowledge about one pattern. Anyway it's very recommended to anyone need to level up development skills.