Chevron Left
Back to Design Patterns

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Patterns by University of Alberta

4.7
stars
952 ratings
197 reviews

About the Course

This course extends object-oriented analysis and design by incorporating design patterns to create interactive applications. Through a survey of established design patterns, you will gain a foundation for more complex software applications. Finally, you will identify problematic software designs by referencing a catalog of code smells. You will be challenged in the Capstone Project to redesign an existing Java-based Android application to implement a combination of design patterns. You will also critique a given Java codebase for code smells. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Demonstrate how to use design patterns to address user interface design issues. • Identify the most suitable design pattern to address a given application design problem. • Apply design principles (e.g., open-closed, dependency inversion, least knowledge). • Critique code by identifying and refactoring anti-patterns. • Apply the model-view-controller architectural pattern....

Top reviews

SH
Aug 24, 2021

Wonderful course. It can enhance tour knowledge and give opportunity to explore more about design patterns. There are wonderful examples, assignments and quiz. I would highly recommend this course.

KP
Oct 26, 2020

This course was not easy, especially when you have zero knowledge on subject. But it is very helpful subject and will certainly be a plus for you career in software development.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 198 Reviews for Design Patterns

By Shalini K

Nov 15, 2017

Pros - Simple explanations for some of the most used design patterns. Quick guide for daily use.

Cons - Requires some Android programming knowledge. Completing previous course 'Object Oriented Design' helps.

By Omar T B

May 25, 2020

Very rich content. However, i don't think the community reviewing system for assignments

is the best, if there is a more controlled reviewing option can be used, i think it will be better.

By Nozomu K

Apr 25, 2019

I learned both fundamental and how to apply design pattens. Especially having assignment is a great merit of this course. I wish it would have more assignment for each design pattern.

By PLN R

Jul 31, 2019

Quite a good course to understand the fundamental design patterns that we can apply in software design. Liked the amount of student indulgence that is encouraged in the project.

By Farsan R

Sep 16, 2018

Good for people already know the stuffs and need some kind of brush up. Otherwise have to be willing to study contents from web to truly understand the patterns.

By Hasan A S

Jan 13, 2021

good but needed more practical explanations for design patterns , most of the course listing and explaining in general about different types of design pattern

By PRATIBHA J

Dec 28, 2018

Awesome learning experience alongwith examples.

Smaller, simpler and more number of code writing & design making exercises can make it more awesome.

By Anuj A

May 26, 2020

The demo could have been also possible with any simple IDE, as installing and configuring Android Studio could be irrelevant for some students.

By Pablo P

Aug 10, 2020

I really enjoyed how the concepts are explored. My humble suggestion is to increase the level of examples in the code smells section.

By DHANANJAY S

Dec 25, 2019

Very good course content and appropriate assignments. Having more examples before assignment would help little more in my opinion.

By Morten D

Jun 21, 2021

The videos and the tasks were very good, but I dislike the dependency on other students to progress on the course.

By Robert O

Oct 2, 2021

I​t was a very educative and engaging MOOC. Thank you University of Alberta for such a great opportunity

By Vishwas K

Sep 30, 2018

Well explained & organized. Good coding assignments to better understand & retain the learnt topics.

By Apurv A S

Aug 27, 2020

The course is excellent. It covers a lot of design patterns that we may use.

By Nagabushan P

May 15, 2019

Very Interactive and like the way tutors relate to the real world examples!

By Wilson T M

Nov 12, 2018

It's a good course but you do not have the support of a coach (instructor).

By Davis A

Aug 5, 2018

Powerful though I think more updated example could give a richer expierence

By mugnaio

Oct 16, 2017

very good course, is a must if you are serious about Object Oriented Design

By Vinay K S K

Dec 19, 2019

Good Learning but too much to cover and easy to loose track of the topic.

By Sakshee S

Apr 17, 2020

very good teaching skills. i understand most of the things very fast.

By Hany S

Jan 10, 2019

Really useful course, it let me understand the patterns deeply

By Ignas P

Nov 2, 2020

Content was good, but some "starter code bases" were missing.

By Stephan V

Sep 9, 2021

Excellent content. I wanted to see more coding assignments.

By Rateb K

Jan 16, 2021

Very Insightful! Not a fan of the peer-graded assignments

By Максим Р

Apr 21, 2020

Nice course, but slightly faster than I wanted it to be