Chevron Left
Back to Design Patterns

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Patterns by University of Alberta

4.7
stars
1,067 ratings

About the Course

This course extends object-oriented analysis and design by incorporating design patterns to create interactive applications. Through a survey of established design patterns, you will gain a foundation for more complex software applications. Finally, you will identify problematic software designs by referencing a catalog of code smells. You will be challenged in the Capstone Project to redesign an existing Java-based Android application to implement a combination of design patterns. You will also critique a given Java codebase for code smells. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Demonstrate how to use design patterns to address user interface design issues. • Identify the most suitable design pattern to address a given application design problem. • Apply design principles (e.g., open-closed, dependency inversion, least knowledge). • Critique code by identifying and refactoring anti-patterns. • Apply the model-view-controller architectural pattern....

Top reviews

ZP

Sep 17, 2019

I have never had a chance to study CS at the university so I am always looking for ways to improve my knowledge - to keep up with fellow programmers. And this course met my requirements perfectly. :)

RJ

Mar 17, 2022

The course and the instructor was so good. The curriculum was well designed and of appropriate length. I really enjoyed and learnt skills that I would be able to apply while developing real software

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 231 Reviews for Design Patterns

By Sakshee S

Apr 17, 2020

very good teaching skills. i understand most of the things very fast.

By Hany S

Jan 10, 2019

Really useful course, it let me understand the patterns deeply

By Ignas P

Nov 2, 2020

Content was good, but some "starter code bases" were missing.

By Stephan V

Sep 9, 2021

Excellent content. I wanted to see more coding assignments.

By Rateb K

Jan 16, 2021

Very Insightful! Not a fan of the peer-graded assignments

By Максим Р

Apr 21, 2020

Nice course, but slightly faster than I wanted it to be

By DHRUV S

Dec 21, 2019

There should be more explanation of code examples

By Gayathri S

Jul 28, 2020

Capstone challenge can be even more challenging

By Pawan K

Apr 10, 2021

it was good to learn it from here.

By John P O

Sep 18, 2020

Very informative course.

By MOHAN S V P

Aug 19, 2022

great learning

By Andrés W

Dec 10, 2017

Great course

By Siddharth S

Mar 28, 2019

Nice course

By Philipp K

Nov 29, 2021

Guter Kurs

By nguyen d

Jan 14, 2018

Great

By Mobile E

Jul 5, 2021

good

By Pratik

Feb 28, 2021

Good

By Isha J

Apr 13, 2020

good

By Revelo A

Jul 6, 2020

Many of the explanations concerning design patterns are too abstact and there are not enough practical exercise to understand them deeply. For many topics you won´t be able to get a good idea about the practical application.

By Aurel M

Mar 27, 2020

Forum is not useful, unfortunately. No involvement by teachers, just a bunch of guys asking for assignments to be graded. Grading by others is much too lenient, i.e. even if you make errors, you are awarded too many points.

By Luis F P M

Aug 14, 2022

This course comprised everything about good programming and architectural practices. However, I consider that it should be splitted into two courses more to board in detail more concepts and practice them.

By Raffaele M

Jan 8, 2018

Missing course notes, even though there are a lot of references about the GoF Design Pattern. Most of the UMLs and codes are poorly reviewed.

By Dániel S

Dec 8, 2021

The course material is really good, but it's not too deep. The assignments don't really help to understand the subject.

By George P

Sep 21, 2018

Very light course... I would say very easy and does not get into depth...

By RODRIGO J B F

Oct 7, 2020

Bom, porém a qualidade das atividades poderia ser melhor.