Chevron Left
Back to Developing Front-End Apps with React

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Developing Front-End Apps with React by IBM

4.3
stars
391 ratings

About the Course

React is one of the most popular frameworks in the Web and Front-end application Development category. In this course, you will - build rich Front-End applications with React and ES6 - connect React components using data and state - write rich React components with advanced features like Hooks and Redux In addition, you will explore how to access the React web framework user interface (UI) library and run rich React applications. You will find ways to use React components and change their properties and states in a dynamic user interface. You will learn to connect to an external server from a React page. The course introduces different testing tools that you can use to test the component without manual verification. Throughout the course, you will complete numerous hands-on labs to gain practical experience. At the end of the course, you will demonstrate your React skills with a final project to add to your portfolio. This course will help you succeed as a front-end or full-stack developer. It suits those in IT looking to step up in their careers or new graduates seeking to establish their client-side skills. Note: This course requires knowledge of HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and Git/GitHub...

Top reviews

PF

May 28, 2023

The course provides a real learning experience. I was able to understand and put into practice what was taught in class and deliver the project.

Y

Jan 30, 2023

I have learned a lot of things in the same time I love the hands-on activity it makes me interact with the things that I learned before

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 107 Reviews for Developing Front-End Apps with React

By Joshua M P

Dec 11, 2022

Another IBM course, another massive disappointment. IBM really, really needs to hire a trained and professional curriculum and instruction design expert. The instructional process goes: introduce concept -> explain concept -> "play" with concept -> assess understanding. And, don't assume knowledge of concept B if you're still just explaining concept A. The number of times this course assumes that you know how to do D, when they're just now explaining C and have already covered A and B is just too damn high. At this point, I will never take another IBM course again. They're unreliable. They're garbage. Even the content is ineffective. If you want a good course, take one from Google or Meta.

By C C

Mar 29, 2023

There is not enough material for beginners to complete the last course without a struggle. There is no support when you are stuck, I spent 20 hours reading and researching, and following the steps but didn't come right because I can't tell what I'm doing wrong. I've taken a few courses through Coursera and I was really disappointed with this one. I'm not saying to make it easier but the instructions are not clear and the videos are rushed. Too little info for beginners.

By Matthew D

Jun 7, 2023

Genuinely one of the worst coding classes I've ever taken. Imagine this, you are here to learn React. You'll probably be doing lots of coding and learning how react works, right? This course is 4 weeks and mostly has you watching about 45 minutes worth of videos where they just blow through every concept of react as fast as possible. Then come the projects. Maybe here, you'll start coding, and LEARNING React, right? Nope! Without exaggeration, EVERY SINGLE PROJECT (except the final) has you doing NO coding of your own, simply, it has you just copying and pasting extremely large blocks of code. The end result is your "project" but along the way you've learned literally nothing else other than to follow their own instructions.

Then the final comes, and after you have done 0 coding yourself and have only copy and pasted everything, now it expects you to be a React expert and complete the final without any help. Lololol. I have no idea what they were thinking developing this course but it was such a waste of time and money, I know probably 1% of React now instead of the 0% i knew before. I guess that's an improvement though....

By Joel J

Jan 3, 2023

Very Poorly put together. Bad narrator.

By Alex S

Feb 18, 2023

Some concepts are not explained or demonstrated very well.

By Sean M

May 5, 2023

Labs documents are really poorly written.

The course material is often an info dump on how the technologies work rather than what important functions do and how to use them. Results in having to learn how to code React elsewhere in order to tackle the labs by oneself without just copying the code from the samples.

Also the lab docs are frequently disorganized and are written in broken English at times.

By Nimesh K

Apr 14, 2023

My experience was very disappointing. The course content was not up to par, and I felt like I learned very little from it. The lack of interaction with real lecturers was also a major issue for me.

Additionally, the last assignment was extremely difficult and I was unable to complete it with the knowledge and skills that were taught in the course. I believe that IBM should reconsider the level of difficulty of their assignments and ensure that they align with the course content.

Overall, I would not recommend this course to others. While the course had potential, there are significant areas for improvement. I would strongly suggest that the course provider invests in hiring real lecturers and improving their course content to make it more engaging and effective for learners.

By Curtis H

Mar 30, 2023

The information presented was a great introduction into React. However, the course did not prepare me for the final project. I found it was very necessary to get further information from forums and tutorials on YouTube just to get through the final project. I would encourage the instructors to revise the final project or tweak the course labs to be more aligned with the final project.

By Zachary W

May 27, 2023

Neither the lectures or labs taught anything useful. The lectures were all vague overviews of concepts with all the voice over done by TikTok voice. Every lab was just copy-pasting code. A lot of the given code had spelling errors and very inconsistent style.

One of the requirements for the final project was to have completed a 'practice' lab - that doesn't sound like 'practice' to me.

By kiril b

Jun 6, 2023

Really bad. just use freecodecamp and "bro code" on YT.

By Sarah W

Jan 25, 2023

It was a heavily loaded, very informational course. I can see it's value... the problem was the videos moved along too quick and I wasn't able to digest the content. The other issue was the final project. None of the coursework or videos actually prepared me for the tasks required. I had to spend hours combing the internet to figure out ways to do each task.

By Disha G

Apr 29, 2023

Very theoretical. Had to refer so many youtube videos to understand concepts. Not a helpful course

By Ananth K

Aug 22, 2023

After having completed the first three course in the Full Stack Developer Professional Certificate, which were all excellent, and which I have rated at 5 stars each, I was shocked to experience how poor this fourth course in the sequence is. The lectures only cover the theoretical framework of React without spending adequate time on how to use the framework. For some incomprehensible reason, the entire lecture is based on the class based approach while even the the official React website react.dev's quick start and tutorial pages only delve into the much-easier-to-understand functional approach. The lectures are dense and while they are understandable from a theoretical standpoint for someone with some exposure to the software field if they are replayed multiple times, they are of zero value when it comes to being able to employ React hands on for anything even simple. The week 4 discussions are rife with comments from students struggling to solve the impossibly difficult final project as the lectures do not prepare an individual to be effective to take them on. This is is stark contrast to the second and third courses (html/css/js & Github respectively) which were excellent and it was truly a joy experience to work on their final projects. (The first course is an excellent introduction to Cloud Computing and does not have a project). The only saving grace on this course is the fast and apologetic speed of response of the support staff monitoring the discussions and providing hints to solve the project. I was able to solve 95% of the course's project with a lot of hacking using the code hints the course support staff made available. But at the end of the many hours of hacking, all I have learned is how to hack given the part-ways solutions and modify them to fit my needs. In contrast to my genuine increase in learning and knowledge through the first three courses, I cannot claim any meaningful increase knowledge of React through this course. My recommendation to IBM is that they update this course immediately and offer a free updated course to all previous students who have struggled through it. My opinion of IBM has dropped a lot after this very poor offering. This particular course should not be on Coursera. My opinion of Coursera too has dropped. It is irresponsible of Coursera and IBM to subject students to this useless course.

By Nurkhan N

Jul 11, 2023

Very unclear for a newbie, a few practices are given, and a ton of theoretical information.

By Madison

Aug 6, 2023

The final project was a huge jump from the hands on labs and videos in the rest of the course. It went from simple steps and walk-throughs for a beginner to what felt like an expert level expectation for the final project. I spent over a week working on the final project which was estimated to be a 2 hour time commitment. I spent hours listening to external content on React and still was not able to figure out the tasks in the final project. I cancelled my subscription and will go learn elsewhere to come back and finish this certificate.

By Josh S

Aug 2, 2023

Pretty much all lectures until the final project where they expect you to know fully how to code in React. This course would be better if each part of the final project was a separate lab leading up to the end of the course where you put it all together.

By Devkumar B

Apr 17, 2023

I just want to know ,is any student understand things without practicle?So how we can understand things.all the stuff accept the lab is theory.

By Kashif M

Nov 7, 2023

It is a good resource to start learning about developing front end applications using React

By Brandon S

Dec 26, 2023

Labs were vague, complicated, and frustrating with a complete lack of support from Tai.

By youssef n

Jan 31, 2023

I have learned a lot of things in the same time I love the hands-on activity it makes me interact with the things that I learned before

By Engr M U A

May 5, 2023

Such a great, knowledgeable, and wonderful front-end-app development course. Coursera is the best platform for learning.

By Starko T (

Feb 18, 2023

I learn about front end application with react very basic course

By Isaac F M

Apr 8, 2023

Great course feel so much experienced in front end development

By Hadil J

Jul 31, 2023

Overall, a nice course. The only problem is that the lessons are mostly theoretical while the code in labs isn't well explained. You get to copy paste code without an actual explanation. I recommend pairing this course with a hands-on react and redux course from FreeCodeCamp to get the most out of it (theory + practice). The project, however, is not easy and requires additional learning from other sources. a good course but not enough on its own to actually make you grasp the knowledge and understanding of React.

By LiHsuan C

Jan 3, 2024

I can't really learn much as a beginner. Frankly, the course use too many distinct approaches to describe a single task, often in a single material. Personally, I do not think it's wise to bring two different tools in a same context for people who has 0 knowledge. It took me more then 4 repeated time going through this course just to link up the materials with the projects. It is stressful especially you are asked to create a brand new feature with few similarities of other features(i.e no pattern).