Chevron Left
Back to Developing Front-End Apps with React

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Developing Front-End Apps with React by IBM

4.3
stars
415 ratings

About the Course

React is one of the most popular frameworks in the Web and Front-end application Development category. In this course, you will - build rich Front-End applications with React and ES6 - connect React components using data and state - write rich React components with advanced features like Hooks and Redux In addition, you will explore how to access the React web framework user interface (UI) library and run rich React applications. You will find ways to use React components and change their properties and states in a dynamic user interface. You will learn to connect to an external server from a React page. The course introduces different testing tools that you can use to test the component without manual verification. Throughout the course, you will complete numerous hands-on labs to gain practical experience. At the end of the course, you will demonstrate your React skills with a final project to add to your portfolio. This course will help you succeed as a front-end or full-stack developer. It suits those in IT looking to step up in their careers or new graduates seeking to establish their client-side skills. Note: This course requires knowledge of HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and Git/GitHub...

Top reviews

PF

May 28, 2023

The course provides a real learning experience. I was able to understand and put into practice what was taught in class and deliver the project.

Y

Jan 30, 2023

I have learned a lot of things in the same time I love the hands-on activity it makes me interact with the things that I learned before

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 112 Reviews for Developing Front-End Apps with React

By LiHsuan C

Jan 3, 2024

I can't really learn much as a beginner. Frankly, the course use too many distinct approaches to describe a single task, often in a single material. Personally, I do not think it's wise to bring two different tools in a same context for people who has 0 knowledge. It took me more then 4 repeated time going through this course just to link up the materials with the projects. It is stressful especially you are asked to create a brand new feature with few similarities of other features(i.e no pattern).

By Fábio V

Apr 11, 2023

O material é muito resumido a apresentação é muito monótona com a voz meio robotizada, dá tédio assistir ao curso. O exercício de conclusão é o que salva o curso todo, você acaba aprendendo nele o que não entende no curso em si. Precisa melhorar o conteúdo, o laboratório e a apresentação do curso.

By Michael C

Jan 20, 2024

Dives very deep into React very quickly, covering advanced React features. Which is great but I think more practice labs and explanations at the start would be better. A little challenging due to lack of a strong foundational knowledge at the start.

By Subham A

Dec 24, 2023

Not much focus into practical knowledge. As a beginner, it becomes extremely tough to understand the coding structure. Maybe you can take some simple projects and make a video describing how the code and the file structure works in react.

By Majid H M

May 19, 2023

course was rerally good but the final test is unfair. we musted send screenshot. I can make the screenshots with photoshop

By anas a

Mar 19, 2024

Good course but needs to be updated

By Arnab S

Jan 9, 2024

course was too theoritical

By NEEHARIKAAVARASREE Y

Apr 13, 2023

ITS GOOD

By Jerwin L

Aug 6, 2023

oudated

By Patrick K T

Sep 14, 2023

thanks

By Daniel F E

May 28, 2023

El curso en la teoría entrega un buen material pero esta lejos de ser suficiente para completar el curso. La practica al menos en este curso es bastante mala , no ayuda para el desarrollo de habilidades requeridas para completar el proyecto final. En mi caso para completar el proyecto final tuve que ver muchos tutoriales relacionados al tema y además aprender a entender la lógica de programación en React ,que para los principiantes no es nada fácil.

** El Proyecto final debería ser cambiado por uno acorde a lo enseñado en los módulos y con una dificultad que coincida con las clases practicas que ofrece el curso.

By Diane J

Oct 18, 2023

The way the content is presented does not facilitate deep understanding and makes the final graded assignment impossible to complete within the context of the material. You have to study on your own outside of the content to finish it. I have un-enrolled from this module and from the IBM Full Stack Developer Course and enrolled in the Meta course. It goes at a more natural pace and explains terms and technology in depth enough to get the knowledge and understanding of the material.

By M. F M

Oct 4, 2023

I agree with some of the other negative reviews. This course was quite a poor experience. It needs to be completely revamped. It is too theoretical and there is not enough explanation on the "WHY", no video explanations of the code or code walkthroughs and there are not enough small exercises to practice coding except the quite complex and difficult project at the end. I had to use lots of outside resources to try to finish the project.

By Chris A

Oct 22, 2023

This course covered a ton of complex issues without sufficient practice. There were only one or two practice activities per module, and those were copy and paste exercises. They provided you with the code. There was no opportunity to actually learn how to write and use the code until the final project, where you were thrown in the deep end and told good luck. That project was way too hard for how little preparation we were given.

By stathis p

Oct 30, 2023

Even though i love the course series of IBM, this course did not gave me the resources to understand the fundamentals of Reat.js...During the biggest part of the course i did not have the chance to practice React, yet at the end i had to deal with a project that it's difficulty was beyond the curriculum of the rest course. I had to transfer to third party resources in order to learn the basics of React and to fulfill this course

By Jesse C

May 4, 2024

This course does not prepare you to work with React. It gives you a brief overview of abstract concepts, but the labs are essentially useless (as they consist of copying and pasting code into an editor with minimal explanation of what the code does). The requirements of the final project are widely outside the scope of what little preparation this course gives you.

By Adrián T

Aug 24, 2023

I´ve learn a little bit and the final project was to complicated. I didn´t found most of the info required in the course, and I had to look for outside the resources to complete this course. In my opinion it´s not a good course if you want lo learn, but I began the IBM Full Stack professional certificate and I had to complete it to obtain the certificate.

By Davon Q

May 11, 2023

This wasn't a great course didn't really learn react well in this and it seemed rush and didn't go into the commands more about the definitions which did not help in the end test

By Tasnuva M

Dec 12, 2023

Okay I expected I will have a project to attach in my CV from this course.Also course's hands-on labs are not beginner freindly.

By Mohammad S

Sep 27, 2023

Requires more training material for coding with React

By Daniel O

Sep 25, 2023

Lack of deepness on the subject.

By Vinay K

Feb 5, 2024

good course

By Colin S

Feb 22, 2024

This is by far the worst IBM course I have taken out of 15 courses so far. I'm a university lecturer with many years experience, and have a good understanding of effective programming pedagogy. This course is poorly delivered and does not provide a good learning experience. Too many of the key concepts and ideas are abstracted away from practical examples, leaving the learner unsure of how to implement the information being delivered. There is heavy usage of jargon, despite a low level of indicated prerequisite knowledge, making it difficult to follow lectures. Large quantities of template code is provided without sufficient context or explanation, so the learner is unable to easily follow it. Worse still, the learner will not have confidence in writing their own front-end app, as almost all the examples and lab exercises simply require copy-pasting. This approach doesn't engage the learner or challenge them to understand it, which would be difficult anyway due to the lack of context or explanation provided. The assessed final lab is extremely difficult, as it requires comprehension of significant amounts of template code that is poorly documented and explained. This was evident in the peer review process, in which I only encountered other students who performed very poorly as they were obviously overwhelmed by the lab difficulty. It took me around 3 hours to successfully complete the final lab, versus their indicated 2 hours, but I had 15 years of programming experience to draw on. I think the fundamental issue is that they try to cover way too much ground in a short amount of time, in order to facilitate a cool-looking app at the end. It would be much better if they either restrict the scope of the course (e.g. don't go to the extent of a huge react-redux app) or extend the number of weeks and content. As an aside, the course includes numerous typos and issues (including critical issues in the final lab) which do not help with the learning experience. Overall, a disappointing experience.

By Brendon L

Jul 29, 2023

Disastrous. Covers only theory. I had to go to youtube to study so that I could even understand what they're doing. Otherwise I had would just be reading and passing by guessing and not understanding. The final project was decent in a way that it tested you for your general JSX. But as usual the peer assessment concept ruined it. People who don't even understand the assessment criteria and failing people. I know there's a bit many people to assess on your own, but letting people random people grade your learners is just wrong.

By Lindsay J

Sep 2, 2023

The point of the course is to learn for understanding and to gain some demonstrable skill. The best way I can describe this course is that you already need to know React to learn React from these videos. When you reach the lab/project, good luck figuring out on your own... which is fine! But then why bother with the course?