Chevron Left
Back to Digital Manufacturing & Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Manufacturing & Design by University at Buffalo

4.6
713 ratings
167 reviews

About the Course

This course will expose you to the transformation taking place, throughout the world, in the way that products are being designed and manufactured. The transformation is happening through digital manufacturing and design (DM&D) – a shift from paper-based processes to digital processes in the manufacturing industry. By the end of this course, you’ll understand what DMD is and how it is impacting careers, practices and processes in companies both large and small. You will gain an understanding of and appreciation for the role that technology is playing in this transition. The technology we use every day – whether it is communicating with friends and family, purchasing products or streaming entertainment – can benefit design and manufacturing, making companies and workers more competitive, agile and productive. Discover how this new approach to making products makes companies more responsive, and employees more involved and engaged, as new career paths in advanced manufacturing evolve. Main concepts of this course will be delivered through lectures, readings, discussions and various videos. This is the first course in the Digital Manufacturing & Design Technology specialization that explores the many facets of manufacturing’s “Fourth Revolution,” aka Industry 4.0, and features a culminating project involving creation of a roadmap to achieve a self-established DMD-related professional goal. To learn more about the Digital Manufacturing and Design Technology specialization, please watch the overview video by copying and pasting the following link into your web browser: https://youtu.be/wETK1O9c-CA...

Top reviews

WT

May 02, 2018

Advanced Manufacturing will hold industry discussions in the coming years. This course helps you understand the challenges that manufacturing is going through to meet the requirements of Industry 4.0.

MP

Apr 02, 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on digital manufacturing & design. It is very helpful course for me. Thank you University of Buffalo, The state University of New York and Coursera.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 159 Reviews for Digital Manufacturing & Design

By Nikhil P

Apr 04, 2018

Knowledge enhancing course

By YUNSOOHONG

Jul 08, 2018

G

By Marcel D

Dec 28, 2017

This course gave me a good idea of main topics concerning digital manufacturing.

By Arun K D

Jan 04, 2018

Good course. I feel material used and the duration is very short. it could have have more content and examples.

By saeed l a f m

Feb 27, 2017

i see course must be require for every engineer ,that because the new technology and last updata of data

By Prince A

Feb 02, 2017

Its a nice overall introduction to what's coming in the following courses.

By Antharas

Jun 24, 2017

Thank you for this course it is very interesting!

If you don't mind, I would like to enlist some of my observations on this course, which explain my 4 out of 5 stars.

It advertises DMDInstitute and DMCommons way too much - especially in the 2nd module;

Course spends a little bit too much time on inspirational and motivational part. I think, it would be more useful and interesting to put more cases and practice into this course.

Thank you for attention.

By Mayur

Jun 13, 2017

Excellent Content.

By Thillaiarasu V

Jun 16, 2017

Good Intro for Digital manufacturing

By Joaquin C

Feb 12, 2017

Everything very very good, except discrepancies grading the final quiz of m1w2... Question 3.

By Joel B

Aug 28, 2017

Enjoyed the introductory course and look forward to expanding my knowledge with DMD and IoT deployments.

By David C

Dec 01, 2017

Good introductory course with a lot of good information and resources. Could probably dive a little deeper into some topics; was very high-level.

By Adil K

Mar 13, 2018

good introductory course for DMD

By Jayasankaran B

Mar 08, 2018

The course is well designed to give the required primer/introduction for the next courses. Audio and video are not in sync at many places, please rectify.

By Tarique M

Jun 02, 2017

good course!!!

By SWETHA S

Jul 29, 2018

The course material was very useful and gave a broad idea of Digital manufacturing for a beginner. Kindly check the grammar in the Quiz provided in Week 2. Apart from that, the material provided has been very useful.

By Vishal G

Jun 18, 2019

This course is really great

By Duncan W G

Jul 03, 2019

Covered all the topics, would have liked a bit more in-depth information

By Daniel H

Jul 04, 2019

This introductory course gave me basic understanding about Digital Manufacturing and Industrial Revolution 4.0, in comparison to previous 3 Industrial Revolutions. The reference links are valuable for us who want to research further about Digital Manufacturing

By Suresh k

Sep 19, 2019

good, Informative

By Manu T

Nov 11, 2018

This is pretty basic to start with. Hungry for more...

By Somnath C

May 14, 2018

.

By Кудинов А В

Jun 19, 2018

Very basic

By Artem S

Mar 17, 2017

Not to much of interesting, but interesting

By jerin

Jun 28, 2017

Course is very basic; More content c