Chevron Left
Back to Digital Marketing Capstone

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Marketing Capstone by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.5
stars
475 ratings
139 reviews

About the Course

The Capstone is the culminating project in the Digital Marketing Specialization. The corporate partner for the specialization is W.W. Grainger(http://www.grainger.com/) . They are the largest supplier of Maintenance, Repair and Operations (MRO) products. Millions of businesses and institutions worldwide rely on Grainger for pumps, motors, hand tools, janitorial supplies, fasteners and much more. In 2017, they had sales of US Dollar 10.4 Billion, and about 60% of orders originated online. You will be working on a problem specified by the Digital Marketing team at Grainger, to develop a channel strategy to increase sales of Bosch power tools on Grainger.com. You will have the opportunity to combine the tools and techniques obtained through all the courses in this specialization and apply them to a real business problem. The Capstone project will be 6 weeks long. You must take the Capstone project class after taking all the other courses in this Specialization. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

DG
Aug 14, 2020

The capstone is interesting, challenging, and give space for finding practical solutions to a real-life scenario. Great way to try implementing all the theoretical knowledge learned in other courses.

AR
Oct 18, 2016

My very first specialization. It wasn't that easy. But I'm sure worth it. Thank you, Coursera. Thank you, teachers! Hope that knowledge (and certificate, as well) will help me to enhance my career.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 132 Reviews for Digital Marketing Capstone

By Nandini G

Sep 24, 2020

good

By Mauricio P

Sep 19, 2017

Overall the Digital Marketing Specialization was a great starting point! For a traditional marketing communications individual like me, diving into this digital course was a great experience to better understand the constang changing world of digital marketing. Most of the courses met my expectations. Presenters were very knowledgeable in their subject areas and the specializations content in general was excellent. Areas to improve revolve around updating reference materials or study elements. Some were 8-9 years old. With such a dynamic world of digital it is important to have updated and current information at hand. Other improvements could be made around some of the presenters which tend to read a lot from the prompter and miss the cues, their slides are plain, some times boring. Last but not least, I would strongly recommend that there be a human element, name it, teacher, monitor, T/A that was at hand to guide you at some moments. The forums don't always fill the gap. Particularly in this last module, I would have wanted to get a serious grade and feedback from some form of authority at the University of Illinois. Nonetheless, I reiterate this was a great opportunity and one thing that I will continue to do is come to Coursera from time to time to check on continuous education courses. I find it refreshing and enhacncing for my career! Thank you!

By Sofia P

Jul 1, 2017

This capstone is a great way to tie together all skills learned throughout the first five courses of the Digital Marketing specialization by the University of Illinois. The main issue with it is that the assignments are written in quite a confusing way, and the peer grading process doesn't quite work as intended - simply because each learner understands something slightly different.

Still, it can be quite useful, especially if you get over the desire to have a high grade.

By Sangeetha

Jul 4, 2017

Overall the course was a good one and the Capstone really encouraged us to think in a structured manner. The other plus was that it was a live project which certainly made the problems and the challenges real and helped us orient our thinking more practically than academically.

The guide provided for each module also steered us in a particular direction rather than making it just an academic exercise. Good project to work on overall

By Lee P W

Nov 5, 2020

Had a great experience with the capstone project. It definately helped me better understand the complete process to develop a well rounded digital marketing plan. I would recommend this course to anyone who would like to have an understanding of the scope of what digital marketing will encompass.

By Carlos E L D

May 23, 2018

Can't give it 5 stars as I thought the scope of the project lacked a bit of a more clearer direction, but the fact that you're asked to work on a real world case scenario is amazing. The Capstone really does ask you to use each and everything you've learned throughout the course - great job!

By Harish E

Apr 3, 2017

Overall the course content and quality is good and the lectures are pretty good and highly informative, but the course content need to be highly practical oriented and geared towards meeting the real-time needs of digital marketing professionals.

By Aracely R P

Jan 18, 2021

Excellent, allows you to practice the concepts learned. It would be important that some exercises or tasks within each course or topic serve as preparation for this capstone. Many thanks! Especially thank goodness!

By Brett C M

Dec 21, 2019

This capstone is significantly intense. Hard questions and lots of incremental research. Very valuable to do the peer reviews and see how other learners interpret the questions and apply their knowledge.

By Nelson D C G

Feb 8, 2016

There were parts where the lack of context felt worse than others. In general, it was OK but I think with the years it will improve.

By ASTHA P

Oct 7, 2020

Good application based module, it made me apply all the techniques previously learned.

By Zeynep A K

Jan 8, 2017

Excellent course, the only advice is it takes 10-12 hrs per week, plan accordingly.

By Nicole W

May 26, 2020

It was a good course to apply all of the lessons in the first six courses.

By Enoch D A

Jun 17, 2020

i enjoyed applying what i learned to a real life project

By Gisela S

Jun 23, 2020

I have enjoyed the 6 courses before this capstone. I have more expectation that what i got from this course. For example, the project material should be updated and client should be international based instead of US focused. The video lecturers were not one as great as the previous courses and outdated too. It was harder to understand what was said in the lecturer; some speakers were too soft/low (volume), unclear pronunciation and some was clear for sure. It was almost giving me impression that the call/ interview with clients were impromptu instead of well prepared.

There was some part of video when Mr Sachdev mentioned "Marketing in the Digital World with Dr. Eric Rindfleisch. Then the two courses on analytics with Kevin Hartman, and then two other courses on managing the channels or understanding how you manage channels in the digital age with Dr. Yannon Clifton." At one point i got confuse who is Dr. Yannon Clifton???? I didn't attend/ take any course with her/him.

The idea of capstone is essential for completion of this specialization. However, this course will really need a major update in both material (client) and video lecturers. Nonetheless, It has been a great and enjoyable 6.5months journey in learning Digital Marketing Specialization. Thank you to all the lecturers and peers!

By Deepak V

Feb 12, 2016

It wasn't structured that well, Plus most of had to make a digital marketing report for the first time without even a sample of how industry experts expect to see when they look ata repot

By Hardik M

Sep 18, 2020

The course outline is well-defined, and the project is also a good one. The only drawback is that the course materials have become a little outdated.

By Erin P

Feb 17, 2016

Lack of information and clear direction. I could have produced a more cohesive document if all of the deliverables were described from the beginning.

By Andrejs V

Feb 24, 2016

Just three stars for the topic chosen Grainger, a bit to complicated and sometimes not strait-forwarded tasks.

By YunLi

Jan 9, 2017

It is ok, and not as good as the marketing class from warton

By Roya G

Aug 23, 2020

Course topics and material were outdated.

By Siddharth C

Sep 23, 2020

1. Very good way of applying what was learnt in the courses done earlier.

2. Purge old submissions from 2015/2016

3. Content/Problem statement should be reviewed E.g Visitors to Boschtools website can now visit Grainger directly, without leaving the website.Similarly We are working on Bosch & Grainger using Display & Email in their strategy, whereas these seem to be least drivers of traffic to their websites.

4. Share what the client actually did – to see how far what was proposed , was used.

5. Mandate a document upload for assignments. I have flagged assignments that do not have the mandated attachments. Peer grading in this course boarders a sham here, with people openly asking for a full rating because they have done the same for your assessment.

6. Please Control plagiarizing- Initial Submission can be made using any file and then someone else’s work can be copied and the original submission , be edited back. I have seen many such cases

7. Need a Reference Response in Key areas, as peer grading does not highlight all the aspects that should be considered. Yes, protecting this content from plagiarizing, will be an issue. - Donot know if the answers we gave were generally in the correct direction or way off the mark

8. Module -5 could be scheduled earlier, as Research guides Actions

9.The Background/momentum built in week1 , is lost in rest of the weeks

By Emily W

Oct 3, 2017

The assignments were extremely vague and confusing. This problem has been known for years, according to the discussion boards, but no one has fixed it. Extremely disappointing.

By Alexis C

Jun 22, 2020

the assignments are wayy to hard for no reason

By Romain V

Oct 7, 2016

The capstone topic was not very interesting.