Chevron Left
Back to Dog Emotion and Cognition

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Dog Emotion and Cognition by Duke University

4.7
stars
4,525 ratings

About the Course

Dog Emotion and Cognition will introduce you to the exciting new study of dog psychology, what the latest discoveries tell us about how dogs think and feel about us, and how we can use this new knowledge to further strengthen our relationship with our best friends....

Top reviews

CG

Invalid date

Great course! It develops each topic comprehensively and combines old and new approaches to how we can improve our relationship with our dogs and help dogs learn to be included in our society.

KE

Invalid date

Interesting insights about how dogs think and what we perceive through their behavior. Taken purely for personal enrichment. Wish I'd had more time available to work with the lab material.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,345 Reviews for Dog Emotion and Cognition

By Diana V

Jul 20, 2019

I really liked this course and the way it explains evolution and cognition for dog and how studying dogs made us understand many other things about evolution, about us, about other species and about what is domestication and the processes behind it. This course doesn't focus solely on dogs, it has chapters where the focus is on other species (humans, primates, foxes, wolves etc), but that is done to help you understand how and why dogs' minds began to be studied and how important it was for our understandiong of many other things.

The only thing i didn't like about it was the limit on Dognition and the fact that, for me, it felt like i was missiong a lot for not having the book and not paying for Dognition.

By Rosie E

Jun 13, 2020

I'm so glad that I found this course when quarantine had just started in my country. Learning so many new and exciting things about dogs, became a beautiful and educational escape for me during this crazy time. I'm sure I'll never forget this experience, mainly because of the way that Dr Hare explained each lecture. He did it in a very fun and exciting way, with videos and very interesting studies that showed me the way into the beautiful world of dog emotion and cognition. I totally recommend taking this course, it changed the way that I see one of my favorite animals in the world (dogs) and it changed the way that I see myself. Thank you for sharing all of your knowledge and your love for dogs Dr Hare!

By tania w

Dec 26, 2019

As a dog trainer I'm hugely interested in the advancement of science in canine cognition and how this can help us advance our training, compassion and understanding of dogs. Dr.Hares course was engaging, very well taught, and fuelled my enthusiasm and admiration of our beautiful dogs. I will participate in Dognition as a result (excited!) and have plenty further reading to do also with regard to studies and papers cited in the course. Science-based dog trainers will learn that there's more to our dogs than classical and operant conditioning. We need to understand and embrace cognition also if we are to advance our ethical relationship with these amazing animals that sleep in our beds. Highly recommneded!

By Mary B

Nov 3, 2019

This course is excellent. I am always interested in the science of dog learning. While I have clicker trained dogs, I do not find it to be a "perfect" method for training all dogs. Everything depends on the individual and understanding more about how dogs learn most definitely helps with creating training plans for each individual. While the course does seem to push dognition, it isn't necessary for understanding or completingleting the course. The course, while covering the science is presented in a manner that allows for people of all levels to understand. I would like more on the science of how dogs learn and will be looking for more on this subject, hopefully from Duke and Dr. Hare.

By Deleted A

Aug 23, 2020

As a PhD in a completely different area of biology, I found some of this a bit basic but the teacher was charming, and I enjoyed the connection of his own research to the everyday experience of being around dogs. I appreciated how often he acknowledged the contributions of his colleagues, and brought his own experiences into the subject matter. It felt like a course that would have been fun to take in person. There were a few quirks in the wording of the test questions not quite matching the material that was presented orally... but who cares? This was nice and I will certainly be following up on some of what I learned, and perhaps even torture my 13 year old dog with Dognition.

By Wendy M

Apr 13, 2017

Dog Emotion and Cognition is a clear, well-structured course with some wonderful 'added extras' that really help round out the MOOC experience. Dr Hare's enthusiasm for the subject is infectious and the material presented is more wide-ranging than I had anticipated -- again, adding to the experience. I have learned a fair amount about my dog, which has been fascinating, but have also learned about dog cognition against a wider species-comparative context, which has strengthened my understanding considerably. A superb course (and the accompanying book, The Genius of Dogs, and citizen science website, Dognition, are wonderful too). Thanks Dr Hare, Duke and Coursera!

By Natália M

Apr 16, 2020

O Curso DOG EMOTION AND COGNITION é muito interessante porque não aborda apenas a espécie canina, relacionando-a com outras espécies. Apercebe-mo-nos da lógica que levam à realização de certos experimentos e como são realizados os respectivos controlos. Actualmente, vejo a minha cadela também com um outro olhar, paralelo àquele com que sempre a vi. Quero explorar e compreender ainda mais a sua parte cognitiva e juntar-me ao estudo DOGNITION. Também vejo outras espécies de outra forma, nomeadamente os pássaros, que estão tão perto de nós e ainda assim, tão distantes.

Professor bastante interessado e claro na apresentação do curso! Recomendo vivamente.

By Zhou C

Dec 30, 2016

Thanks Professor Hare and Coursera since I do enjoy this amazing course which challenges many stereotypes. For example, dogs evolved from wolves not because of human's intentional domestication but due to "self-domestication" 12 -15000 ago. Also, it is generally regarded that certain breeds of dogs are smarted than other. However, in this course, Professor Hare points out that cognition involves many types of intelligence rather than one and there is even tremendous variation within a dog breed in temperament, behavior and especially cognition. Strongly recommend this course especially when you ca n taste this class with your own dog!

By ANA P A D

Mar 27, 2021

Best course I have taken in Coursera. The instructor is great, knowledgeable, eloquent. His didact is excellent. The videos are at the adequate length as are the quizzes. The material is very good. The topic is super interesting not only for those who like dogs but also for those who are interested in animal cognition and evolution. I really like the fact that a lot of experiments and their results are mentioned and showed in videos and imagine which really helps to remember the content learned. I just wish there was a continuation of this course so much I loved it. Thank you professor and Coursera for this wonderful course!

By Laís N

Jul 4, 2020

Sou brasileira e vou escrever em português para chamar atenção de outros brasileiros. Comecei o curso sem muita expectativa, para passar o tempo durante a quarentena. Na verdade, nem sabia se conseguiria compreender um curso ministrado em outra língua. Para minha surpresa, passei a me encantar com os experimentos do Dr. Hare e a cada aula eu achava o curso ainda mais interessante. Acabei adquirindo o premium para ter o certificado.

Sobre o idioma, eu tenho noção básica de inglês. Não sou fluente, mas mesmo assim a linguagem do curso foi bastante acessível para mim. Eu adorei e recomendo muito.

By Mallika K

May 10, 2020

Absolutely fantastic course. Super interesting and so well organized by the professor ofcourse, but also by the app as well. Loved every minute of it and wished it was longer!! Didn't want it to end. Helped me alot since I am a professional Canine Trainer and Behaviourist, and work with Dogs all day and night. So interesting! And Brian Hare is such an amazing professor and human being too. And is so good with explaining his points foward. So humble too! Really happy and glad to have done this course! Looking forward to more interesting courses on Dogs and from Dr. Hare as well! Thank you :)

By Mari T L E

May 31, 2020

I really enjoyed this course! The work load was well-distributed such that the content in each week's module was just the right amount for it to be digestible and understandable. I like that the way the lectures were given were in such a manner that it was very easy to understand and that the quizzes were short but can really check if the student listened throughout the lecture. Despite my assumption that I already knew a lot about dogs, I still learned so much more about dogs, which is super cool! Every minute I spent on this module is worth it! Thank you Duke University and Dr. Hare! <3

By Sarah W

Aug 2, 2020

As someone without a background in science, I found this course extremely accessible and very smooth in its transition from foundations of cognitive behaviour to the specifics of dogs and their behaviour. This course far exceeded my expectations and was more foundational than I thought it would be, which I appreciated. The lectures were chunked appropriately with appropriate time frames and I most appreciated the flexibility about completing tests as I was working full time and missed some deadlines. Thank you for helping me understand my dog more. This was an excellent course to take!

By Rodrigo T

Feb 9, 2023

Didn't have big expectations when started the course but I was wrong. It's an amazing and detailed course on dog cognition AND human-canine evolution/relationship. Sure, you have to contrast Dr. Hare's information with the point of view of other scientists that see animal cognition and behavior trough a different perspective (mostly behaviorism) to have a more complete view of the topic, but this course is really an eye opener.

The only thing I didn't like was the constant reminder of the book and the website dognition. However, even with that, this course is great. Five stars it is!

By Alejandro P

Aug 14, 2015

This course was great, and I'll do the experiments with a friend's dogs. I love dogs, but don't have one. I do have a cat, and would be interested in a similar course about them.

I believe probably cats don't have the same communicative abilities as dogs, as they don't cooperate that much as wolves, but for instance my cat can differentiate between "give me the paw" (where in one hand I have food, the other is an open palm, and he has to inhibit going to the hand of the food and putting his paw in my other palm), and "eat" (going directly to the hand with the food and eat it).

By Patti R

Oct 8, 2021

This course was amazing. I enjoyed the lecture aspect of this course especially. The Dognition addition has proven to be very interesting. I have 20 plus years of understanding human cognition with my Montessori teacher training and years of observation. I am fascinated by the connections between dog cognition and human cognition. Passionate about real science I also found this course refreshing, as the focus was on reliable data and sources. I wish I lived closer to Duke or Yale and my dog could participate in dog labs. Thank you for offering this course.

By Lyliah H

Dec 13, 2020

I found this a very interesting course. I learned a lot and also realized that some of what I thought was true really is not. I enjoyed learning about other animals and not just dogs. I found the professor's manner interesting and easy to follow, as well as, he was animated in a way that kept my interest. The number of quizzes along the way helped me to pay closer attention, as well. A very good class. I have taken well over 50 online classes due to being house bound during covid and I would rate this one of my top 5 favorite.

By Maria C J

Jun 12, 2020

The delivery of the data was very engaging, having Dr. Hare deliver the content himself with interspersed slides and visuals. In a concise but information-packed way, this course has opened my mind to the possibilities in which I can improve my relationship with my dog. At the same time, the course has given me numerous other topics to explore. I love how the research on dog cognition is related back and forth with cognition of other species, pointing out opportunities and possibilities in understanding them - and us - better.

By Meghan J

Apr 13, 2016

I really liked this course. I have owned and trained dogs from a very early time in my life. I found it very interesting how dogs evolved from wolves and how that is apparent in dogs today. I typically like courses to be heavy on the science side, but this class was well presented for mid-level people or people who don't have a science background. Of course people will disagree with some of the material but overall it was an interesting class and the book recommended for the class was a good read. Mahalo from Hawaii

By Deleted A

Aug 29, 2017

Wow! I loved every piece of this course! Both the teaching and the content were superb and I couldn't believe how fast I completed this course since I couldn't stop. The content itself follows really logical steps so everything does make absolute sense. Brian is a phenomenal guy, not only because of his outstanding research but he seems like a really cool guy you want to have a beer with! His passion for this topic is contagious and the way he sees the (canine) world is something everyone should be doing more!

By AJ D

Mar 8, 2016

Dr. Hare did a great job explaining the results of experiments and what they mean in laymen terms. The information was well presented, and he is an enthusiastic professor. Although the super science-y stuff at the beginning may be a bit of a turnoff or seem boring for people like me without a science background, it really sets a good foundation for the more conventionally interesting material later in the course. I strongly recommend this course, and the accompanying activities via Dognition.

By Kirsteen N

Oct 6, 2020

I found this course very absorbing, and Professor Hare very engaging, with an infectious enthusiasm for his subject. I have enjoyed learning more about evolutionary theory, the growing awareness of evolutionary changes due to domestication, and the methodology and techniques used to identify and measure strengths in dogs. I'd have liked to continue to learn more about Dognition and other projects which are studying animal intelligence and behaviour.

Thanks very much for a most enjoyable course.

By Coursera

Jul 24, 2022

I love this course so much with a passion. I absolutely loved all the quizzes and the instructor's teaching skills was extremely great and I loved every second of his lectures. I also want to thank him for not making a retarded cat course because I hate hate hate hate cats! Also I want to thank my friend ደ for asking me to take this course. He was right about it being fun. I would love to do this course again sometime, but I have to do the classical music course first. Thanks ደ

By Viktoria R

Oct 30, 2016

This course was a positive surprise! Professor Hare is a really good lecturer, you can feel his energy even if it's all recorded and the course is very well structured (and does not take too much time). I'm a dog lover and owner (I have 2 dogs), but I would strongly recommend this course to anyone who is interested in extending ones common knowledge, plus, it is a very interesting topic to bring up when networking as well as a conversations starter!

Thanks for an awesome course!

By Cindy-Estelle S

Apr 25, 2016

I really enjoyed the course. It was divided into clear parts that were short and thus easy to follow anytime during a quick break. It was not too demanding as there were no assignments or things to write. I felt I was learning interesting information. I would have liked more detailed information though on what dogs can and cannot do... perhaps a follow-up course. As I just adopted my dog a month ago from the shelter not sure if I can already use dognition with him.