Chevron Left
Back to Dog Emotion and Cognition

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Dog Emotion and Cognition by Duke University

4.7
stars
4,529 ratings

About the Course

Dog Emotion and Cognition will introduce you to the exciting new study of dog psychology, what the latest discoveries tell us about how dogs think and feel about us, and how we can use this new knowledge to further strengthen our relationship with our best friends....

Top reviews

GA

Invalid date

It is a very interesting course. Does not tell you how to train your dogs but makes you understand the way dogs, human, great apes and other species think and solve problems which is very interesting.

CG

Invalid date

Great course! It develops each topic comprehensively and combines old and new approaches to how we can improve our relationship with our dogs and help dogs learn to be included in our society.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,345 Reviews for Dog Emotion and Cognition

By Joyce D G

Oct 30, 2020

Gives a lot of historical background and scientific observations regarding dogs. Very insightful!

Citizen science is the best way to go about collecting factual data about our dogs since millions of us have them as part of our homes. It's a brilliant scientific approach!

By Shelby L M

Aug 20, 2015

As a dog trainer I found this course very insightful into the mind of a dog and will be putting many of the games and ideas I learned into action with the dogs I teach. I will also suggest the Dognition site to all of my clients looking to do more with their dog's training

By WL W

Jun 6, 2020

What a great course! Thank you so much Dr. Hare, Duke University, and (of course!) Coursera for making this class available. I've learned quite a bit and will use this as another building block to continue my studies in animal behavior, welfare, biology, and psychology.

By Toni-Ann M

May 3, 2020

Excellent, excellent course. Very science-based but accessible to the layperson. I have a background in biology and animal care and can say that Dr. Hare knows dogs! I thought I knew a lot about dogs, but I learned SO MUCH MORE by taking this course. Highly recommend.

By Deirdre F

Jul 11, 2017

As an educator and advocate, I am so grateful to have had access to such an amazing course. Between the book, Dognition site, and coursework, I feel like many aspects of behavior and genetics have been demystified. Thank you!

Deirdre Franklin, CEO of Pinups for Pitbulls

By TOP D H T S

Sep 23, 2022

Really enjoyable contents narrated by an interesting, engaging and fun expert on the subject. I had already read his books but hearing him explain things on videos reinforced what I had already learned. The questions in the assignment are really badly worded however!

By Jennifer m S

Feb 25, 2021

Dr. Hare presents with ease and a high level of professionalism. He uses research to support his lectures which is fabulous. The dog world is full of so many theories not empirically supported, breath of fresh air. I would recommend this course to colleagues for sure.

By raksha h

Jun 7, 2020

I absolutely LOVED this course and the way it was conducted. The content of the course is of great quality and I have learnt a lot. I would definitely recommend this course to all dog lovers and anyone who is interested in understanding these beautiful animals better.

By Benjamin S

Jun 3, 2020

By far one of the most interesting animal studies courses that i enrolled in.

Informative in so many ways.

I would however - whilst aim is to loop back to dogs over time - change the title as this course covers a whole lot more topics, than only concentrating on dogs.

By carolf1209

Mar 16, 2019

So interesting and the way he spoke and explained things as well as in conjunction with the book and Dognition site, really made this course fun and exciting. I feel comfortable to move forward in my studies of dog behavior and am thankful for this type of learning.

By Erkut S

Oct 20, 2019

"Dog Emotion and Cognition" by Dr. Brian Hare does not only present you with remarkable information on the subject, but also provide you with great insight that is crucial to understand human and animal psychology to begin with. Definitely a very informative course!

By Carey S

Jan 13, 2018

I learned so much about the questions we all have about why dogs are the way they are regarding man's best friend. It's facinating to understand better why dogs do what they do, how they've learned to do things, and what we can do to better understand their intent.

By Daniel H

Aug 27, 2020

The course has given me better understanding about animal behaviour, our bond with dogs, as well as an insight to how humans and other species might have evolved. I would recommend that another course which would go more indept into animal psychology be developed.

By Inés R F

Feb 18, 2021

Me pareció excelente. Aprendí mucho, de manera entretenida. El profesor muy bueno. El formato de videos cortos muy didáctico. Todo el material muy bueno. Los contenidos muy bien ligados entre sí. Dan ganas de seguir aprendiendo. Muchas gracias por la oportunidad.

By Ewald H

Jul 5, 2020

Absolutely brilliant! I've always loved dogs and certainly enjoy their companionship, but this course really helped me gain insight into how my dog thinks. With this knowledge, I can devise new games that will keep us both entertained and help us bond even more.

By Philip b

Nov 25, 2020

Dr Hare has a well deserved reputation in the field. This course is a “must have” for anyone serious about understanding our closest allies in the animal kingdom. Understanding dogs helps teach us how we must protect all our fellow species on our amazing planet.

By Helen J

Feb 28, 2020

This course revealed to me that science is very interlinked as the course covered topics of animal behaviour, genetics, evolution and psychology. It also showed that discoveries are found when scientists are brave enough to test a hypothesis that could be false.

By C P

Aug 13, 2015

Great course. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn about the evolution of our relationship with dogs--a unique relationship to be sure. Good opportunity to input into citizen scientist data base if interested, and willing to submit a fee.

By David G

Aug 19, 2020

Professor Hare did an outstanding job of sharing his research about dog emotion and cognition. I was especially impressed how his ecological cognition principles can be applied to understanding human evolution and behavior as well. Thanks for a great class!

By Bethany B

May 11, 2016

This is an extremely interesting course that delves deeper than just dog cognition by connecting the evolution and domestication of dogs with that of humans and apes. I thoroughly enjoy this course and will be looking for other courses conducted by Dr. Hare.

By Wendy M

Nov 28, 2016

It was a very informative course, it went into great detail and allowed you to try experiments/games with your dog to see their own cognitive abilities. I really enjoyed this course and would recommend it to anyone who wants to learn more about their dogs.

By Chiara

Feb 28, 2018

This was such an insightful course and I would recommend it to anyone interested in animal cognition. Dr. Hare is not only a great scientist, he is also a very down to earth and charismatic individual who makes this course a lot of fun and easy to follow.

By Angelina W

Sep 23, 2015

Brief, but informative. This is a great course for general dog lovers, owners, and scientists. It's surprising how short the course is, though. The videos are quite brief, but there are many every week, so the coursework looks longer than it really is.

By walter j m

Nov 2, 2015

great course if you're a dog lover, dog trainer, dog walker, or just someone who's interested in the interface between canine human relationships. My only qualm is that some of the questions may have been written better, but all in all a capturing class!

By Ingrid G

Aug 6, 2020

Absolutely loved it, opened my eyes about the Genius of Dogs, which I intuitively already suspected :). Brian's approach is educational and fun, and very easy to follow. I can highly recommend this gem to anyone wanting to understand their dogs better.