Chevron Left
Back to Drug Commercialization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Drug Commercialization by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
976 ratings
184 reviews

About the Course

The University of California San Diego, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Drug Commercialization course brings you lectures from both faculty and industry experts. With this course, recorded on campus at UCSD, we seek to share our access to top people in the field who bring an unprecedented range of expertise on drug commercialization. This course will cover pharmacoeconomic, marketing strategy, intellectual property strategy, portfolio management, managed markets and strategic alliances. It will also have a lecture case study from startup to success. In addition, the course will discuss post-marketing clinical trials or Phase 4 trials. These are conducted after a new drug has been approved by the regulatory agencies and launched. In these studies, the new drug is prescribed in an everyday healthcare environ­ment using a much larger group of patients. This enables new treat­ment uses for the new drug to be developed, comparisons with other treatments for the same indication to be made, and determination of the clinical effectiveness of the new drug in a wider variety of patient types, and more rare side effects, if any, may be detected . Pre-marketing strategy should be instigated as early as Phase 1 clinical trials to ensure that the market's needs are incorporated into the new drug's overall develop­ment. Later phases when clinical results are presented at international medical conferences the marketing strategy is then refined in order to develop an awareness amongst the medical community who will be prescribing the new drug. In addition to the marketing strategy, pricing strategy and a tactical plan will be developed. Promotional material, and the sales force will be trained so that when the product is approved they can promote the drug to physician, pharmacist and nurses. This course is intended as part 3 of a series: Drug Discovery (https://www.coursera.org/learn/drug-discovery), Drug Development (https://www.coursera.org/learn/drug-development) and Drug Commercialization. We would highly recommend that you take the courses in order since it will give you a better understanding on how a drug is discovered in the lab before being tested in clinical trials and then launched in the market place....

Top reviews

JR
Jan 7, 2017

Excellent course on strategies for drug commercialization including pharmacoeconomics and how pharma partners with other stakeholders to accomplish this. Excellent examples of drug lifecycles.

AM
Nov 9, 2020

Excellent content and lecturers. Great course to finish this specialization. I strongly recommend the three courses for those interested in pursuing a career in pharma or willing to shift.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 187 Reviews for Drug Commercialization

By Utku U

Apr 8, 2020

Excellent!

By Sourav M

Nov 3, 2018

Thank you.

By PANDYA Y U

May 28, 2020

Excellant

By Afroj K

May 19, 2020

Excellent

By Ngân Đ N T

Nov 30, 2020

Love it

By Lokesh

Oct 19, 2020

Amazing

By MRS. S

Aug 26, 2020

Helpful

By Mintu S T

Sep 30, 2020

Cool!!

By Atocha C S

Nov 29, 2017

Great!

By Md. R Q S

Sep 11, 2020

great

By Farhan s

Apr 24, 2021

good

By 19BBT006-ANASWAR S B B B

Sep 13, 2020

Good

By Uma M K

Jul 17, 2020

Good

By Mohammad j s

Sep 25, 2017

good

By Julen D L C

Jan 12, 2020

The course is pretty good and really interesting, but it is too out-of-date. I think that this course would win a lot if actualized. Sometimes, the content should be more accurate, and in order to make it more useful for (future) workers on the pharmaceutical industry, I think this scheme should be followed in all subjects: present a topic --> main keys to follow when working on this area --> practical examples. Thank you!

By Aedrian A

Jan 16, 2021

This is a highly insightful course on the reality (both the highs and lows) of the drug commercialization process. Unfortunately, as of this writing, the material is relatively outdated. I hope the instructors provide a necessary massive updating of the contents as soon as possible.

By Olivia P L M

May 22, 2020

Great course that allows me to look somewhat into health economics and other areas such as marketing. It also shows me statistics that can be quite alarming at times. Definitely learnt a lot of interesting terms and built on new knowledge due to this course. Thank you!

By David L

May 24, 2020

Nice introduction to drug commercialization. It's a bit out of date though. The examples were current at the time, but new modalities, i.e. mAbs, cell and gene therapies, have rapidly overtaken small molecules as the "hottest" entities for commercialization.

By Abram S

Jun 25, 2020

Holistic view of the commercial side of the industry from many different angles. Excellent and varied speakers with interesting cases. The only negative point is the lack of more current data (ending around 2015).

By Anindita R

Sep 20, 2020

Liked the course and learned some interesting information about the pharma and biotech industry. I would have appreciated more updated information, however, those can be found on the internet with some research.

By Jamie L F T

Jun 25, 2020

interesting to learn about how the pharma industry works (as i'm not majoring in any related field) but i think you'd have to take the other 2 courses before this to gain a more complete understanding

By 201Rutesh A

Aug 15, 2020

As a student of biotechnology, this course gives us a thorough knowledge of economics of new compound. The market view of the biotechnological development is very much necessary

By Momchil N

Mar 10, 2020

very good course! Especially weeks 2 and 3 are very interesting and the lecturers were well-organized and structured! I enjoyed it more than the previous two courses

By wungmi m

Jun 3, 2020

Overall a decent course. Content seems to be outdated as most of them are that of 2013 data. Pharma business model section was really informative and interesting.

By Matthew F

Sep 12, 2017

Interesting course with some interesting and relevant case studies. This is a great 101 course with stronger focus in certain areas of commercialization.