Chevron Left
Back to Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution by University of Alberta

4.8
575 ratings
167 reviews

About the Course

Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origin of vertebrates. Students will explore the diversity of Palaeozoic lineages within a phylogenetic and evolutionary framework. This course examines the evolution of major vertebrate novelties including the origin of fins, jaws, and tetrapod limbs. Students also explore key Canadian fossil localities, including the Burgess Shale (British Columbia), Miguasha (Quebec), and Man On The Hill (Northwest Territories). Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-vertebrate-evolution...

Top reviews

TO

Jun 21, 2016

WOW, I learned a lot form this and it was fairly educational but not overwhelming or difficult. This instructor really gets the points across without being to easy or hard. A very good class.

JC

Mar 03, 2018

Celebrate your inner fish as you swim along with this awesome course charting our earliest ancestors. Very well constructed and delivered once again by the team at the University of Alberta.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 165 Reviews for Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution

By Carlos G

Jun 24, 2017

Very good the course, I consider it a personal training material of great value for those who like this science but unfortunately we can not access them in our country, as it is in Venezuela. Thank you.

By Luis J H C

May 08, 2017

I did enjoy this course as well as I've learned more about the transition from water to earth.

By James M

May 27, 2018

Excellent course! A goldmine in helping to understand Vertebrate evolution

By garima s

Aug 19, 2017

nice

By Joshua M

Jul 20, 2017

This was a really interesting course which was very well presented.

By Marcos d S

Aug 11, 2017

Excellent material and course.

By Elena M

May 25, 2016

Very interesting and well presented! Wish I lived closer to Alberta, Canada!!

By Pritvik S

Mar 01, 2018

Absolutely amazing and truly incredible to see just how much we have in common with these extinct creatures

By Fernando R E

Jul 14, 2016

Very light and comprehensive content. The geology part is pretty well explained!

By Kendra M

Apr 06, 2017

Very in-depth, an excellent starting course for paleontology and prehistory education.

By Richard R

May 25, 2017

Really informative, I recommend doing further reading

and writing things down/taking notes rather than just watching the videos.

By Linda A

Apr 25, 2017

Excelent

By Erika P

Aug 25, 2017

So in depth, wonderful

By matthew b

Aug 16, 2017

Great class! Very informative and the quiz material was challenging.

By Rodrigo R A

Jan 19, 2018

Great course! Congrats for all who made it possible.

By Will G

Feb 18, 2017

A very enjoyable course. Fantastic for those who want to learn about early vertebrates, particularlly those thar gave rise to tetrapods. While a small amount of biological and geological knowledge is useful, s

By Piotr H

Jul 21, 2017

Very interesting course! Well done University of Alberta!!!

By Ahmed S

Jan 22, 2018

v.good course i love it but it slightly Expensive for certificate thanks university of alberta

By Hamilton J S

Jun 19, 2017

Excellent course! I learned so much!

By Chris B

Apr 01, 2016

Typical of UofA MOOC's, very high quality. Excellent content. Well paced.

By Christian S

Oct 09, 2016

The professor explains well, however it's a introductory course.

By Clarice H

Feb 07, 2017

Very informative, great course!

By Marcus V B C

Aug 23, 2017

Excelente! Quanta informação objetiva, concisa e atualizada!

By Chris V

Jul 15, 2017

The provided material and videos are just amazing and Scott is an awesome presenter. *thumbs-up* It was really easy to follow along and learn heaps of new information. I was always interested in the early processes of evolution and I am happy I found this course. I would definitely recommend this course to friends and anybody else who has an interest in palaeontology.

By Paul A

Mar 31, 2018

A very impressive course.