Chevron Left
Back to Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development by University of Geneva

4.8
stars
526 ratings
181 reviews

About the Course

Ecosystem services are a way of thinking about – and evaluating – the goods and services provided by nature that contribute to the well-being of humans. This MOOC will cover scientific (technical), economic, and socio-political dimensions of the concept through a mix of theory, case-studies, interviews with specialists and a serious-game. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: • define the concept of ecosystem services, its principles and limitations • understand the key services associated with any ressource (e.g., fresh water) through readings and case-studies • appreciate the advantages and potential risks of monetising ecosystem services • appreciate the social dimensions (power issues, cultural biases) embedded within any method • integrate tactical advice on mainstreaming this approach into policy and standard government practices • Optional: learn how to map ecosystem services with GIS tools The session that runs May 29th- July 10th will be actively monitored by the instructors, and learners will have the opportunity to ask questions. This course was developed by instructors from the University of Geneva with the help of numerous researchers and input from the Geneva Water Hub and the Natural Capital Project. The course was financed by the University of Geneva, the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC), and the Luc Hoffmann Institute. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Water Resources Management and Policy » (www.coursera.org/learn/water-management) and the one in « International Water Law » (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). We look forward to you joining us!...

Top reviews

DS
Sep 6, 2017

Great course. Awesome introduction to Ecosystem Services. Well-balanced portrayal of the many tensions and difficulties in the field. Also a great exposure to MANY experts and many diverse opinions.

C
Jun 4, 2017

I found this course very exciting and informative!! I learned a great deal about valuing ecosystem services and its complex challenges. I will highly suggest this course to fellow learners!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 183 Reviews for Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

By Janos C

Sep 25, 2017

I enjoyed this course and found it highly informative. Very much appreciated the well balanced and critical perspectives and insightful practical examples.

By RANJEET K

Dec 21, 2018

A course change my outlook towards biodiversity conservation and paved way to explore innovative means for better decision making in environmental policies

By Lisa A

Jan 8, 2020

The concepts introduced in this course will be extremely useful in my work when trying to communicate the value of ecosystem services to decision-makers.

By Saleem K

Aug 22, 2020

Awesome MOOC on ecosystem services, very well explained by respected instructors. I learned good amount of new things which I was alien sometimes ago.

By Jharison B V H

Jul 22, 2020

Un excelente curso que permite conocer las potencialidades que tiene gestionar de una manera adecuada los servicios ecosistémicos. Curso recomendado.!

By Joshua M

Apr 28, 2020

Very well put together course providing helpful instruction on the wide variety of considerations and skills within ecosystems analysis and reporting.

By Cristian A A S

Oct 13, 2021

muy buen complemento entre tecnologías de la información y el análisis de los ecosistemas para así poder contribuir con el desarrollo sostenible

By Bhuvanesvari S

May 25, 2021

I got a new idea about ecosystem services, economic valuation of ecosystem service, and this course helpful for my research work also. Thank you

By Tulaci B

Aug 19, 2020

Great and complete course! I have never seen anything like this here. The professors are very good and make us feel like their students.

By Mariana R O

May 12, 2020

Excelente curso, muy buenos docentes. Vale la pena hacerlo y poner en práctica todo el conocimiento y habilidades adquiridas.

By Karnik A

Nov 20, 2019

The course was smartly constructed to teach slowly along with building the foundation. Interface and tasks were efficient.

By Yolandi S

Dec 17, 2021

An excellent course. Ecosystem services will become more and more important in ever evolving planetary health science

By Christine K

Dec 7, 2021

The best couse i have ever done! I highly recommend this course, very professional lecturers and very good standard.

By Karla F S C

Mar 26, 2019

it was a good module, with a good information, but the most important, that it was very practical in the metodology.

By Urs B

Jul 1, 2017

Very interesting and inspiring course. Excellent teaching material and very motivated presenters. Thank you a lot!!!

By Elena F

Jun 8, 2020

Great course. Well crafted and executed. Presents Ecosystem Services and explores a variety of viewpoints about it.

By Elena T

May 26, 2020

I really appreciate the fact that the instructors guide the learners through a constructive critic of the concept.

By Ashutosh K P

Oct 6, 2019

Provides concepts, methods and implications of using ecosystem services as a method of Sustainable development.

By RAJATH B

Feb 24, 2021

A Wonderful course with very important insights and much needed knowledge about the real-life business case

By Ritika B

Apr 13, 2021

Such an incredible course. I have learned so much from this course. Wish keep exploring such more courses.

By Sean B

Apr 5, 2020

Very informative. I learned a great deal about the pros and cons of the Ecosystem Services accounting.

By Jelle v H

Mar 18, 2021

Well structured and interesting course to get acquainted with the core concepts of Ecosystem services.

By Jonathan Z

May 1, 2018

This was an amazing course and ahead of our time with helpful content for this and future generation !

By Mario A F M

Feb 8, 2021

Un curso muy crítico y completo con suficiente información para tener un backgroud sólido en el tema.

By Wei-Harng L

Aug 29, 2017

Excellent course with lots of new ideas / concepts being imparted. Truly Swiss made quality. Love it.