Chevron Left
Back to Everyday Chinese Medicine

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Everyday Chinese Medicine by The Chinese University of Hong Kong

4.7
stars
588 ratings
220 reviews

About the Course

This course aims to serve as an education platform on Chinese medicine (CM) for the general public. Our primary goal is to empower healthcare choices by promoting awareness and practical application on CM diagnostic and therapeutic approaches, as well as regulation on CM services and herbal products using international examples. In the first part of this course, learners will develop skills in applying basic theory of Chinese medicine (CM) for understanding health and illnesses, and be able to compare and contrast views from Chinese and western medicine perspectives. In the second part, learners will be able to diagnose their own CM body constitution, and to apply appropriate CM self-care practice including food therapy, acupressure, Baduanjin and meditation. Learners will also be able to identify commonly used Chinese herbs, and to describe the core principle of acupuncture. Specific competencies include: 1. State the basic theory of Chinese medicine and compare it with the principle of western medicine. 2. Apply the diagnostic approach of Chinese medicine and describe one’s body constitution. 3. Describe the core principle of Chinese herbs and acupuncture, and to understand their role in promoting health and wellness. 4. Develop self-care plan according to body constitution, using the practice of food therapy, acupressure, and Baduanjin....

Top reviews

AA
Feb 19, 2019

My interest in herbalism and alternate medicine brought me to this course. It was very informative indeed and I made notes often. The tests are also to the point. Thank you, professors and Coursera!

AP
Dec 28, 2020

A very nice program for understanding the diagnosis and treatment of diseases. Quite analogous to the Ayurvedic Medicine that deals with imbalance of vata (air), pittha (fire) and kapha (cold).

Filter by:

201 - 219 of 219 Reviews for Everyday Chinese Medicine

By Sharon E L

May 14, 2019

Excellent foundation course to understand the practice of TCM. Thank you!

By Julie M

May 3, 2020

Material is presented well but too much detail for an overview course.

By Joy S

Dec 4, 2018

Comprehensive. interesting to compare this to western medicine

By Anna C

Dec 30, 2019

A nice brief overview of the basic principles. Thank you.

By Dimitrios V

Mar 31, 2020

Very simple and informative.Happy to have taken it

By Lina F

Aug 19, 2020

Very nice introduction! Thank you!

By Ebru T

Aug 17, 2020

its a great course to begin with

By Yudy S

May 2, 2020

Good and easy to be understand

By George M

Dec 23, 2018

very good as intro

By Ahmed A

May 25, 2018

great

By Dave C

Nov 2, 2020

While the topic was of interest, the notes, readings and videos did not provide ample substance for the topic. I would have liked more depth.

By John A G C

Dec 22, 2020

There's nothing on herbal medicine and its application. Perhaps there might another course next to this.

By kamhon t

Nov 2, 2020

The logic of the course is not very clear.

By maneet k b

Jun 13, 2019

good introductory course.

By Ilaria C

Nov 27, 2020

very basic

By Jonathan G

Dec 3, 2017

this was an okay course, however a lot of the questions on the quizzes were not covered in the course and as such it poorly done. Here are some of the quiz questions were not relevant to the course and whenever I got some questions right they were marked wrong. Quizzes were poorly done. I would suggest this course be redone or edited properly.

By peigee W

Sep 10, 2019

The course contents are ok, but no one to ask or to discuss. The discussion forum isn't useful and active and no one from the school monitors and answers questions. Just some clipped-together teaching videos and quiz. No reading materials and no staff participation from the School.

By Scott U

Dec 31, 2020

I was expecting a general overview, with a clear picture of the history and practice of Chinese medicine - with a focus of practical applications. I was disappointed in the course being dry, hard to follow, and full of information that was both detailed and hard to follow at times. The speakers' English was also a challenge to follow.

By Arshad R

Aug 27, 2020

Not a good course by facilitators