Chevron Left
Back to Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography by Michigan State University

4.8
stars
5,092 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to Course One of Photography Basics and Beyond: From Smartphone to DSLR! In these first 4 Modules you will gain the knowledge and the confidence that will help you make good choices as you consider qualities of the camera you own, and the qualities of the other types of digital cameras you might be considering. You will learn about the basic functions that most digital cameras have in common. You will also go beyond the "technical" matters and learn about how you can make exciting pictures by emphasizing the aspects of Frame and Vantage Point to interpret old subjects in new ways. Discovering accessories that photographers find useful, and the types of camera bags from mini to carry-on sized, is also in store for you. You will also make your first photographs and, if you are a subscriber to the specialization, upload pictures to the web gallery and start interacting with your fellow learners in our "Gallery." Let's get started with Module One!...

Top reviews

RP

May 31, 2020

It's a very good course for beginners and I got to learn a lot and improve my photography in every way possible! I recommend it to everyone who's interested in Photography and want to do more with it.

R

Dec 22, 2017

This course was very informative and provided just the right amount of challenge for me to stretch my creativity and newly obtained knowledge. I enjoyed it and I am looking forward to the next course.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 1,559 Reviews for Cameras, Exposure, and Photography

By Heather T

May 24, 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. I found it helpful, informative, an excellent overview as well as removed some of my intimidation around cameras and photography. I'm looking forward to the remaining courses in the Specialization!

By Melanie M

Aug 21, 2020

I learned a lot in this course. As aspiring photographer it helps me to understand more about photography. It is well explained from the idea of the camera to the different composition of photography. I enjoyed taking this course.

By Abhishek U

Aug 16, 2020

This course taught me not just the technical terms but also gave me confidence to tweak the settings in a camera and get the effect I want from a photo. Things make much more sense now. A perfect beginning for an aspiring clicker.

By Yadira N

Jun 15, 2020

I really enjoy the course, specially the videos concepts and explanations very clear thanks Professor Peter Glendinning and Professor Sullivan, a complete course for beginners like me to start learning more about the photography.

By PRASAD V J

May 21, 2020

This course is must do course for photography enthusiasts. Prof. Peter is just amazing at explaining the concepts right from how camera works to how one should compose the image.

Excellent course!

Thank you MVPS'S KBTCOE & COURSERA.

By Alex S

Aug 28, 2020

Absolutely astonishing and intriguing subjects that brought so much curiosity, enjoyment, satisfaction, as well as awareness brought to the eye!

Thank you for a wonderfully taught course-- I look forward to taking the next one!

By Deepika J

Aug 10, 2020

Wonderful course! Got to learn a lot on how to click good photographs. Sometimes, video lectures which are a bit too long can get somewhat monotonous. But overall, it's a great platform to learn and explore more on photography.

By Olesya K

Jan 23, 2018

You get to know how to use your camera in this course. I enjoyed the course tremendously. I did it as a part of Specialization that led into creating series of photographs. Professor Peter and Mark are great mentors. Thank you!

By Karla V A P

Mar 18, 2018

I learned so much in so little, i was always excited for every course and assignment given. I didn't know i had this capacity and motivation. I had fun, and did so much i would like to a more profesional learning at a faculty.

By Linda M H

Apr 1, 2022

III really enjoyed this course. I learned a lot, and plan to listen to it again to catch things i may have missed. I am looking forward to the next series. The only thing I would say to improve is getting the reviews sooner.

By Nadine W

Feb 12, 2021

it is an amazing course! the teachers are so cool and experienced! unfortunately i had to go through it quickly because of running out of time! but, definitely i will be referring to it later again! i cannot get enough of it!

By Dee A

Jan 28, 2017

Excellent instructors! Each has a no-nonsense approach, and yet, easy-to-understand and follow lectures. Highly recommend this course for beginning photographers and those that want to refresh their photographic knowledge.

By Souvik 1

Oct 22, 2020

this course really taught me everything.Professor Peter Glendinning is so calm and composed.I really liked his lecture and his way of talking.Such a great teacher!! Thanks for letting me know the fundamentals of photography.

By Meetkumar P

May 19, 2020

Really i learnt so many things from this course.Many many thanks to all people who already enrolled in the course and Specially thanks to PeterSir and Marksir who make this course really great and Michigan State University.

By Gautam B

Feb 3, 2020

A great course to enhance your photography skills, I have learnt a number of things which was not possible without this type of course.

thanks to coursera and Michigan State University

and specially prof . Peter Glendinning

By Natasa S A

May 11, 2017

Excellent course for beginners. If you wan´t to abandon your auto mode and start using real possibilities of your camera here you can learn how to do it. It gives you basics where to start from. Much more than I expected.

By Kimberly D

Sep 26, 2023

This course is a wonderful one. It is easy to understand, interactive and fun. I'm grateful to Mr. Glendinning ad Mr. Sullivan for making photography as interesting as I experienced. I look forward to starting Module 2!

By KARLA I C R

May 18, 2020

El curso estuvo de lujo.

Espero puedan añadir el Español a los cursos, ya que resulta un poco difícil entender el curso al 100% por no ser de mi idioma. :(

Aun que por otro lado, también me ayudó a practicar mi Inglés . :)

By Matheus d M H

Sep 9, 2019

I'm a begginer at the photography and this course helped me a lot to understand the basics functions of the cameras, it's accessories and opened my mind to different ways to shoot a photo. I would certainly recommend it.

By Melissa D

Dec 22, 2018

I learned a lot about how to use my camera, how to think about photography (my own and that of others) and a little about the history of cameras. A lot of information packed in a short course. Would definitely recommend.

By Michael V

Apr 18, 2017

Great introduction to digital photography.

After completing this session, I now have a much much better understanding of the workings and options involved in digital photography

I would recommend this course to others..

By Luciana M C M

Mar 21, 2016

I learned a great deal with this course and have become more confident in photography. There are a few little problems with the quizzes, but considering this is the first time the course is offered, that is quite normal.

By Jennifer S

Apr 24, 2022

I do not like peer review projects. mY GRADE WAS LOWERED BECAUSE OF LANGUAGE BARRIER AND misconceptiiON BY ONE REVIEWER. IT WAS ONLY A FEW POINTS BUT it is my grade.

Other than than the course was useful and taught well.

By Shrinivas P

Aug 16, 2018

Learned from Zero. Thorough knowledge of history of photography, types of cameras, different functions of camera, type of photography, etc. is provided. Teachers are very knowledgeable and are experienced photographers.

By Laurie S

Jan 11, 2022

This was a review in some respects for me but also had information that was very useful. I took photography classes 30 years ago with an SLR and film so the change to DSLR required learning new things. Great course!