Chevron Left
Back to Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Finance for Non-Finance Professionals by Rice University

4.8
stars
1,749 ratings
368 reviews

About the Course

This short course surveys all the major topics covered in a full semester MBA level finance course, but with a more intuitive approach on a very high conceptual level. The goal here is give you a roadmap and framework for how financial professional make decisions. We will cover the basics of financial valuation, the time value of money, compounding returns, and discounting the future. You will understand discounted cash flow (DCF) valuation and how it compares to other methods. We also step inside the mind of a corporate financial manager and develop the basic tools of capital budgeting. We will survey the how, when, and where to spend money, make tradeoffs about investment, growth, dividends, and how to ensure sound fiscal discipline. Our journey then turns to a Wall Street or capital markets perspective of investments as we discuss the fundamental tradeoff between risk and return. We then synthesize our discussion of risk with our valuation framework and incorporate it into series of direct applications to practice. This course requires no prior familiarity with finance. Rather, it is intended to be a first step for anyone who is curious about understanding stock markets, valuation, or corporate finance. We will walk through all of the tools and quantitative analysis together and develop a guide for understanding the seemingly complex decisions that finance professionals make. By the end of the course, you will develop an understanding of the major conceptual levers that push and pull on financial decision making and how they relate to other areas of business. The course should also serve as a roadmap for where to further your finance education and it would be an excellent introduction of any students contemplating an MBA or Finance concentration, but who has little background in the area....

Top reviews

KH

Mar 28, 2020

Great Course, Very solid start for those who are trying to enter Finance world.\n\nIt makes you love this field if you are not familiar with it and have no previous experience.\n\nGreat Job Professor.

RM

Aug 17, 2020

This is a very well designed course. Taking you through basics and in the end puts you in a real business scenario where you are expected to take a decision based on the tools and concepts you learnt.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 368 Reviews for Finance for Non-Finance Professionals

By hussain f

Jul 05, 2020

excellent course, really have to think hard and use your wits to and use all the tools to get the answers. grateful for doing this course

By Charity B

Mar 27, 2019

This is an excellent course taught by an excellent Professor. It was easy to follow and very interesting. I highly recommend this course.

By DEEPAK K S

Feb 10, 2019

This had been a great learning experience. I wish Prof. James keep providing such courses with Financial Aid option for students like me.

By Jay P V

Sep 08, 2020

Beautifully structured. Thanks to the Professor and the team who provided me with such a great knowledge I gained attending from my home

By Omri G

Feb 08, 2017

A great introduction to finance concepts such as DCF, NPV, IRR, discount rates, and the usage of these in the capital budgeting process.

By Yana S

Jun 08, 2020

Amazing course and a great professor! Recommend to anyone who wants to study Finances but does not know where to start from! Thank you!

By MOHIT H D 2 D

Sep 06, 2020

The case study is amazing. It is complicated enough that a sincere attempt lets the student learn about many of the topics discussed.

By Priya M

Jun 17, 2020

I learned a lot in this course about the finance field. Professor Jones was really superb in teaching and very engaging lectures.

By SHUBHAM V

Jul 10, 2020

Amazing content. Although I do not have a commerce background but still did not face much difficulty while learning this course.

By Raghuram N

Oct 21, 2019

Great course for beginners who are interested in learning about key basics of finance. Instructor teaches the concepts very well

By Sachin G

Aug 22, 2020

Very well designed course for non finance professionals. Gives fundamental knowledge of finance in an easy and interactive way.

By AHMET

Jul 31, 2019

It conveys the topic as fun as possible and with nice examples. Concepts are told in such a manner that it makes a great sense.

By Yi T Y

Jul 22, 2019

Exactly what I needed to increase my financial knowledge. This will give me a good base to continue on other financial courses.

By Beng H S

Apr 02, 2017

This is one of the classes that I would recommend to anyone whom is interested to horn their skills and knowledge on finance.

By Mario G

Jun 08, 2019

Excellent basic course for non financial professionals. I have learned how to apply some tools into my day to day activities

By Matteo V

Feb 18, 2017

Fantastic course that gives you an overview of all the financial tools needed to evaluate companies and projects performance

By Prompiriya P

Aug 23, 2020

Informative, interesting, and very insightful. A bit too difficult for someone with weak math skills. But a good challenge!

By Cathy Q Z

Jul 21, 2017

Very nice course. The instructor is great and it's a perfect start for anyone who wants to learn the basic finance concept.

By Rahul N

Jun 08, 2020

Brilliant for people who have no background of Finance or people from Science Background. Thanks to James for such classes

By Joanne

May 26, 2018

this is a great head start for anyone transitioning into a new (or more financially based) career or academic training.

By Roberto R

Mar 03, 2019

the best course on finance for the ones who wants to understand and get better on their skills, I recommended 100%.

By Kazi A 1

Aug 11, 2020

Very well structured course. The instructor explained complicated topics in a very simplistic and interesting way.

By VAIBHAV T

Apr 14, 2020

Excellent course. The professor was very clear and to the point and always tried to make it easy for the learners.

By Russell M

Jan 23, 2017

It's cool to do classes from prestigious universities, especially when learning how to be financially literate!

By Elie A

Jan 20, 2017

I really enjoyed this course as it simplifies the subjects and we build some excel sheets.

Thank you professor