Chevron Left
Back to Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Markets by Yale University

4.8
stars
17,321 ratings
4,029 reviews

About the Course

An overview of the ideas, methods, and institutions that permit human society to manage risks and foster enterprise. Emphasis on financially-savvy leadership skills. Description of practices today and analysis of prospects for the future. Introduction to risk management and behavioral finance principles to understand the real-world functioning of securities, insurance, and banking industries. The ultimate goal of this course is using such industries effectively and towards a better society....

Top reviews

JC
Aug 19, 2020

Curso perfeito em todos os aspectos, me introduziu ao mercado financeiro e me fez querer escolher essa área para atuar. Robert Shiller merece o posto de maiores economistas que temos, pessoa incrível.

IH
Mar 9, 2021

This course is easy to follow and interesting. Professor Shiller is very motivating. It not teaching about finance but more importantly how finance can build a better life for all. Really recommended.

Filter by:

3601 - 3625 of 3,999 Reviews for Financial Markets

By Tosin O

May 16, 2020

Gives a very good basic understanding of the fundamentals of the financial world by covering a very wide scope of topics. Very good, general flavour is given here by Professor Shiller and from this course, you can identify what specific part of the finance world you are drawn to.

By Viv V

Feb 14, 2018

A concise and very well constructed course which provides a broad overview of how Financial Markets functions, the history and its implications. This course seems to be heavily bent on the US Markets, which can be looked at in future, so that it can be made more a generic course

By David C

Nov 7, 2020

Some things which are taken in tests aren´t in the videos, like the forms from efficient markets hypotesis, etc. Besides, there is a lack of examples when it comes to mathematical formulas. Apart from that everything was good, he made every topic looks really easy to understand

By PALAK J

Jul 30, 2020

Great course! It really helped me obtain a better perspective on Finance. The only improvement I would want is a side note or annotations on a little keywords here and there, since I have had to google a lot of things during the course, which disturbs the flow of the course.

By Nisha P

Jul 19, 2020

This course id awesome for all whatever your field , but everyone should understand the financial behavior of human being and understand the financial market.Finance is not all about money,it is beyond the money , its about management of scare resources and managing the risk

By Leandro A M G

Apr 12, 2020

Me gusto mucho este curso. Solo falto traducir al castellano los cuestionarios de cada clase y tal vez subtitular los vídeos para hacerlos mas educativos y no tener que estar leyendo el texto como si estuviera apartado del vídeo. Por lo demás, un magnifico curso.

By Pedro G C d S

Sep 7, 2020

Robert Shiller is an outstanding lecturer and he goes over a very large range of topics of financial markets. However, I think the course treats its different contents in an irregular manner: some lectures are very superficial while others go deep into details.

By Akshay G

Aug 30, 2020

A detailed course with fabulous insights for the most part. However, simplification or additional explanations or material to make some of the more complex concepts and equations/formulae would have gone a long way towards helping absorb the material better.

By Carrissa A Y W

Jul 21, 2020

Some of the lectures and forums are pretty boring so it is my personal issue as other people might find this differently. The material itself is really good and covers a broad range of information that I would probably never learned from my current school.

By Domenico B

Dec 19, 2017

Excellent course, it could be improved by more technical details and less focus on the US history. I was a little bit disappointed by the quiz part, that was not very challenging and sometimes asking for details that were not very relevant in the lessons

By Kingdom L

Jul 14, 2020

Prof. Shiller covered a wide range of topics in finance. I highly recommend everybody to take this in order to have an understanding of finance and our world. However, to fully comprehend the concepts, further research on the internet will be required.

By David M

Jun 6, 2020

Great course to take if you are interested in finance and the markets. Professor Shiller is passionate about the subject, which was a huge plus. The teaching assistant feature was a nice touch for more difficult concepts but could have been better.

By Vinod R

Jun 7, 2020

I come from an engineering background and this course serves as a good introduction to some of the basic aspects of finance. Though, with the current global economy being more interconnected I would have preferred more general and global examples.

By Aaron C

Dec 11, 2020

Information is very helpful.

Needs an update due to the ever changing landscape of finance.

Recommend as a solid foundation for anybody with no experience or background in finance.

I enjoyed the course overall.

Professor is very knowledgeable.

By Mittal C

Jun 30, 2020

Great course learned a lot on the perspective of USA market and how it influences the world trades and insides of financial analysis.

But there should have been an interaction with the Professor Robert Shiller that would have been Awesome!

By Karla G

Jun 22, 2020

I really enjoyed all of the material, it helped me understand the financial markets in a more profound level. The only think I would've liked would be for the teacher to invest a little more time explaining the graphs and the formulas.

By veenit k s

Jun 29, 2019

the lectures are kind of uninteresting. you loose interest while watching it. i think it could have been more fun by adding some interesting things like fun quizzes and games or unknown facts. i was not fully satisfied with the course.

By Marcos P L S

May 23, 2018

Valuable content, definitely worth completing the course. There are some irrelevant content for international students though, such as specific U.S laws. I would say the course could remove such content, reducing the course easily 30%.

By sarita

Jun 13, 2020

The course content was very insightful.It would definitely help student like me,who have no financial background but trying to understand the concepts of same.Thank you professor for the great content and easy lecture.Love from India.

By ROSA A R G

Mar 1, 2018

It will give you a good idea of all the financial world, it explains the history of financial development and it helps understand the human financial behavior. It is very ambitious to go over all the topics but it is worth completing.

By Roberto G S

Jul 13, 2020

It helps a lot on the understanging of financial markets although is focus mostly on the US Market but should be more global

The editing left a lot of topics out which might have been relevant. The professor is funny on his own way

By Harmeen K

May 24, 2020

This course was very helpful and informative. This was also based on practical approach and tried to ensure full fledged learning through the Marked quizzes after each lesson and video lessons as well and peer graded assignments.

By Diogo J

Mar 9, 2018

A exceptional curse!!! Professor Shiller made one course that combine a high range of content with a deep overview about the subjects. However i miss anything about the cryptocurrencies, fintechs or other kind of stuff like this.

By luiz.cunha@axa-im.com

Mar 17, 2018

A good general introduction course to Finance, very engaging presentation from Professor Shiller. Very clear and worth the knowledge/effort ratio is much worth it. Only mitigating comment is the course is not very challenging

By Patarin E

Feb 26, 2021

Very interesting course about Financial Markets. Pr Shiller is very engaging. He gives a lot of anecdotes and likes to discuss the history & goals of finance rather than going into details. I've broadened my knowledge a lot !