Chevron Left
Back to Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Markets by Yale University

4.8
stars
19,086 ratings
4,384 reviews

About the Course

An overview of the ideas, methods, and institutions that permit human society to manage risks and foster enterprise. Emphasis on financially-savvy leadership skills. Description of practices today and analysis of prospects for the future. Introduction to risk management and behavioral finance principles to understand the real-world functioning of securities, insurance, and banking industries. The ultimate goal of this course is using such industries effectively and towards a better society....

Top reviews

IH
Mar 9, 2021

This course is easy to follow and interesting. Professor Shiller is very motivating. It not teaching about finance but more importantly how finance can build a better life for all. Really recommended.

JC
Aug 19, 2020

Curso perfeito em todos os aspectos, me introduziu ao mercado financeiro e me fez querer escolher essa área para atuar. Robert Shiller merece o posto de maiores economistas que temos, pessoa incrível.

Filter by:

3901 - 3925 of 4,406 Reviews for Financial Markets

By hritik c

Jul 7, 2021

y

By ABDULMAJED Y A

Jun 22, 2021

By Mumthaj H

Jun 18, 2021

h

By Praveen S

Jun 5, 2021

5

By Aaditya K

Mar 28, 2021

I

By Ivanna B

Jan 3, 2021

.

By Teo M

Jan 1, 2021

.

By Burak B

Dec 29, 2020

.

By OBREIN T

Apr 7, 2020

G

By Nayel a H a

Sep 14, 2017

v

By 고미라

Jun 23, 2020

This course is absolutely not for beginners, I would know, I'm a beginner. I have no background in economics or finance, and my math was rusty at best (had to brush up on my probabilities). I'm currently on week 3, and I will say it takes me usually 1 to 2 hours to get through some of the 11- and 8-minute videos. The first week alone I spent 6 hours a day for 5 days just getting through the information. Let me explain, if you want to actually understand how the topics in future videos relate to the ones you're watching now, Investopedia, Google, and random undergraduate papers on the internet will become your best friends. Finance at first seems like a jumble of models that vaguely overlap, but you have to actually dive into the concepts and understand the maths and economics behind them to see how they relate to one another. CAPM was barely mentioned in week 1 and 2, but had I not taken 3 days to give myself a crash course on CAPM, nothing in week 1 and 2 would have made any sense at all and moving forward I wouldn't have understood how future formulas related to past concepts. This week I've spent 5 hours teaching myself how bonds relate to the discount rate we see in the DDM/GGM/ and PDV models, how yield and interest/ central bank policy are related, and what coupon rates are. This was to understand an 11-minute video, one of 8, in the first half of week 3. Be prepared. Gird your loins. If you want to get the most out of this course, use it predominantly as a template to direct you to new topics that you can research on your own, if you do this I promise you will learn more in 8 weeks than you could possibly imagine.

By Mikolaj W D

Jul 6, 2020

I have learned some good points about financial markets, some aspects of how corporation works and how they are governed, as well as different types of corporations were very interesting. i was also surprised how much i knew already, without having any kind of finance background. I guess it's four stars cause i was expecting more maths and statistics and there is very little of that( just in the beginning) it is still very interesting though. As a science graduate i was surprised that same formulas used in statistics in biology, can be applied to the financial markets. The course if worth a try especially for beginners in financial markets but also I would make essential for general public, to broaden their knowledge about finances. I also wish there was one or two more peer reviewed assignments. I think it was great to read other people work as views have differed so much! Also the peer review should have few more options for scoring points. but other than that it was a really interesting. Very good opportunity to get into civilised debate.

By Melvin L A M

May 27, 2020

I love Robert Schiller's talk and lessons on this topic and I have learned a lot under his years of wisdom on financial markets around the world and how they play a huge part in the world overall. I also find the instructor to have a friendly fatherly approach as he speaks to his students and how in each of the videos he would smile, laugh and shares his personal stories and it doesn't make the lessons to be dull or boring. However, for someone who is not from finance or economic background, I find the quizzes hard and only to find that the theme of the quiz were actually taught later on. I also wished that the lessons could be made simpler (especially on the graphs and charts) could be elaborated better and simple before each lesson so I could understand what was explained. In some cases, the graph is shown and explained what it was and then the quiz appears. I did not know how the graph works or what it is for. I'll be sure going to miss Robert as an instructor as I graduate from this course. Thank you Robert.

By Adam T

Apr 29, 2021

The course was mostly great. Robert Schiller is amazing and I appreciate the chance to learn from such a brilliant man. The peer reviewed papers have absolutely no value to me. It was a waste of time and not even on a topic that really relates to the course in a meaningful way. A paper on the stock market or something along those lines would be a much better option in my opinion. I also think in a beginner class as this is supposed to be, the mathematical equations could have been more glazed over and not such a focus early on. It made the course seem much more daunting than is actually necessary to get the point across. Last criticism is in regards to the transcripts. They are poorly edited and need to be gone over again to delete redundancies, etc.

With that said, thank you! I feel like I learned a lot.

By prateek n

Apr 17, 2021

the course itself is great especially for someone who is very new and wants an introduction into the realm of finance but deep enough to offer you most of the details and still not make it boring to learn.

would definitely suggest it to someone who is a beginner and wants to know more about Finance just for fun or maybe for revision or whatever other reason you might have. however, I am not someone from a finance background so I can't really say if this would be good for someone who already has a background in the field or not.

nonetheless, this was a very interesting course and made me aware of a lot of things I wasn't really sure about. I came here after watching "THE BIG SHORT" and now I guess I can actually understand what and why they did as they did in the movie.

By Iulian C R

May 19, 2020

Awesome course! I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to expand its knowledge in finance, financial markets, and economics. Although it does not require any prerequisite, some finance, economics & business knowledge can significantly leverage the course outcome. Prof. Shiller is a great teacher and its a pleasure to listen to his lectures.

I would have given 5* if there was more student engagement with more practical exercises especially those that required to apply maths, such as CAPM, Std Dev., insurance pool, compounding interest, etc.

I find it helpful working closely with the recommended textbook Frank. J. Fabozzi - Financial Markets. Although the last edition is expensive, there on the internet some older or similar versions that can be downloaded.

By Michal M

Nov 26, 2020

Although the course teaches some fundamentals of finance, it lacks others. For an absolute beginner, it requires quite a lot of self-study. I am also glad that I have taken other courses in investing elsewhere prior to taking this course. Whereas Financial Markets provides plenty of tools to get a young investors started, in my opinion it does not teach the healthiest mindset. I highly recommend the bonus interview with Roger Ferguson, who emphasizes the value of long-term investing, which can be seen as part of risk management. I believe that a person that is patient and willing to learn can easily invest themselves, even on a small scale. Times have changed. Just remember: invest in value, diversify, keep long-term, and know what you are doing.

By Patrick A

Oct 24, 2020

In my point of view a good overview of what finance means. Basics have been introduced and you can get really a general understanding of finance. Some courses and examples are not deep enough in my point of view: it could appear as an disadvantage for the course but it forced me to do some researches in my own for having a deep dive for the topics I was interested for. In other words, it gave me the correct inputs for my intellectual curiosity for continuing learning in my own. Do not expect from this course a concrete list of methods or use cases. See this course as a general introduction in finance in order to ask yourself if it is a topic you want to learn further or not. In all the cases, I recommend this course for beginners.

By Brandon

Jul 4, 2020

This course in my opinion clearly showed that Yale University lecturers, even students are knowledge and provide a quality education. I currently study economics at the undergraduate level, so certain theorems and concepts came rather naturally as I was already familiar with them. However, I do believe this course provides the foundation to understand concepts, even having limited -- even no prior knowledge of finance. This course was intellectually stimulating and was worth my time to complete over this summer of 2020, I recommend it to anyone interested in seeing what all the fuss of finance is about. Dr. Schiller is an excellent lecturer and knowledgeable beyond belief.

By Douglas C

Jul 27, 2020

My interest in the subject is simply that - interest. I would not wish or expect the course to be the basis of a career in finance, but for someone who occasionally reads the financial pages of the newspaper (after the news, politics and sport) it is good to understand the rules of the finance game. In particular, the Covid pandemic has resulted in the creation of vast sums of money from literally nowhere, which for non-financial people like myself is mind-blowing. Now that I know that money can be created from nothing, and that austerity was a political choice not a necessity, I realise that the people of the UK have been conned for the last ten years.

By John J P G

Jan 14, 2018

I found this course to be very beneficial, and a great place to start for those intrigued by the movement and behaviour of the financial markets. Robert Shiller is an exceptional teacher, and has a skill that enables students to engage and easily learn from. I was very impressed with this course, although I found the assessment questions at times irrelevant to my learning and direction of pragmatism. All in all, I do recommend this course for everyone - even if finance is something you're not interested in - it gives you a good footing in developing solid financial knowledge and health.

By Knut H

Apr 9, 2020

Very interesting course.

Took one star away due to the lack of interactivity in the course. It was to much talking head and powerpoint. More formative tests during the lectures would have helped. Not only questionnaires, but more interactive material. Some animations on some of the topics would also have helped.

Schiller is great at presenting the material, but it would really have helped the experience with some animations, real examples etc. to help us understand. All business schools runs case studies. Some micro case studies would lift this course a lot.

By jose r c m

Jan 9, 2020

i like to express a positive feedback for this course , driven by a great academic teacher.you have a complete outlook of financial markets and when you finish the course you achive the knowledge to understand the principles of financial markets. of course if you want a deep learning in particular matters this is not your course and probably you will have the feeling of "need more...". navigation works properly and its friendly and you feel that coursera platform is trusted. worthwhile.

By Liu Z

May 20, 2021

I really learned a lot about financial markets, which gave me a broad view into many different types of financial institutions and securities, from insurance to bonds to equities. It also taught me the history of how financial institutions, regulations, and instruments were developed, as well as how to apply math to finance, such as in the case of calculating bonds, PDV of different securities, etc. This is a good course for any beginners who want an introduction to finance.

By Thomas J

Oct 10, 2019

I enjoyed this course, despite taking longer than expected, and learnt a lot. I work at a bank as a software developer and this course gives me a better understanding of the domain I'm in. It's a course useful to anyone actually because finance plays a key role in all our lives. What an honour to have taken a course by Robert Shiller. The scripts to the videos need some revising and some parts of the videos, especially the salon segments, are a bit difficult to understand.