Chevron Left
Back to Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Markets by Yale University

4.8
stars
17,237 ratings
4,006 reviews

About the Course

An overview of the ideas, methods, and institutions that permit human society to manage risks and foster enterprise. Emphasis on financially-savvy leadership skills. Description of practices today and analysis of prospects for the future. Introduction to risk management and behavioral finance principles to understand the real-world functioning of securities, insurance, and banking industries. The ultimate goal of this course is using such industries effectively and towards a better society....

Top reviews

JC
Aug 19, 2020

Curso perfeito em todos os aspectos, me introduziu ao mercado financeiro e me fez querer escolher essa área para atuar. Robert Shiller merece o posto de maiores economistas que temos, pessoa incrível.

IH
Mar 9, 2021

This course is easy to follow and interesting. Professor Shiller is very motivating. It not teaching about finance but more importantly how finance can build a better life for all. Really recommended.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 3,979 Reviews for Financial Markets

By Wyeth H

Oct 4, 2017

Great lectures from a professor that makes information relevant. The very thorough explanations and lecture accompanying salon's made this course even better. Also, the quizzes were not very difficult, they felt like they were just reinforcing what you learned, not challenging you to think more in depth. I did not mind that, it felt much more helpful than the quizzes and tests I take in school right now.

By Utkarsh S

Jun 12, 2020

This course is a great course for anyone who is new to finance and wants to get a basic understanding of it. Professor Shiller deals with a lot of topics in such a short course and thus leaves us wanting for more. A possible way to guide your way through this course could be attending the lectures and then surfing the internet about the topics discussed. It will definitely enhance the learning process.

By Adriana J G G

Jul 23, 2020

It's a great course, includes broad aspects of finance that you will find interesting and useful. From the professional perspective, I could enhance my knowledge in finance, but most of all, understand why and how the different financial instruments really work, what are their upsides and downsides, how to use them smartly and make them useful, not only for self purposes, but for the good of society.

By Priyal S

May 2, 2020

An excellent introductory course. I especially love how Dr. Shiller relates every concept to real-life scenarios. This makes it more encouraging as the concepts then become easier to grasp and the class is based on a more practical approach rather than theoretical one. I would recommend this for anyone who has the slightest interest in Finance/ Economics. This course would enable you to explore more.

By Teodorus R A

Sep 22, 2020

This course is very good for us to know a lot about finance, behavioral finance, and managing risk. There is a lot of knowledge that can be used and implemented in our daily lives. Lessons that are easy to understand even though they do not come from a finance background because the explanation is simple, comprehensive and based on reality in life. Very Excellent Course about finance that I ever had.

By AKSHAI R

Jun 16, 2020

This course should be taken by anyone who is interested in gathering the basic knowledge of finance and the way it works in our society. I feel really lucky to have had completed this course and it goes without saying that the course content and Professor Shiller's way of teaching stood way beyond my expectations. I absolutely loved this course and will surely miss being in Professor Shiler's class.

By Hana P

Aug 24, 2019

Whether you're already in the world of finance or currently looking for places to enter the finance sector, this course would do it for you. The course is excellent, but just an introduction to the topic, so anybody who wants a very deep, graduate level study might be disappointed. Prof. Schiller is an excellent lecturer. The course gives a personal, close feeling of the himself, of Yale University.

By John M

Feb 18, 2018

This was an excellent update to Dr. Shiller's first Financial Markets course. The lectures as always were excellent. I liked the addition of the salons, chalk talks, and the balloons that appeared from time to time to explain a concept in a lecture. The only small problem was that I was unable to see the pointer's laser in the lecture. I hope Dr. Shiller does more courses - behavioral economics?

By Svetlana Y

Aug 3, 2020

Hello, this course is very useful for me as a student with a degree in Business Administration. The material is presented in an accessible and interesting way!

I would like to extend the training period for this course for a few more days, as I am busy at work and did not have time to finish all the assignments. Certification is very important for me and for my training in the profession. Thank you!

By Vitor Y C P

Sep 6, 2020

Curso incrível! Vale muito a pena para quem quer ter um aprendizado sobre como o mercado financeiro se iniciou e quais suas verticais mais importantes (e qual o motivo de existirem). Um ponto importante: Se você quer aprender a operar no mercado financeiro ou então ficar rico com o mercado, esse curso não é para você. Esse curso é para quem é apaixonado por este ramo e quer aprender as bases dele.

By Francesco M

Jan 29, 2021

This course has been really valuable, offering a comprehensive panoramic of the financial world, along with inside wisdom. Professor Shiller has a great personality, he is extremely competent, very clear, positive and engaging, and all of his guests are extremely competent people as well who can provide insights into real world financial dynamics, projects and realities. A great place to start.

By Artod d

Feb 12, 2021

Pretty broad, with lots of history excursus. Pretty good as an introductory course for those who wants to get some understanding of finance market. Gives you a point where to start, what to read.

If you are looking for some guide about how to trade, you will save tons of time with just some related course on Youtube. But in my opinion, this course will be a solid foundation for further studies.

By Chio W P

Aug 17, 2018

This is a general course letting you understand the Financial Market. Professor Shiller is a very passionate finance & economic people, he emphasis a lot times that Finance is not about making money. I enroll this course because of this. There's a lot technical terms being discussed but you need to further research if you want to deepen the knowledge. Anyway, it's a great course and I like it.

By Ankit S

Apr 27, 2020

It was everything I can ask for. Living in India, I always wanted credible information to understand how the financial system works in countries like the USA and the history of things that are so common around us.

Most important and a huge shoutout goes to the ever humble and charming professor who made it a point to keep the course simple yet informative and relevant.

Thank you to everyone.

By Akash K

Jul 1, 2019

It was a really a great opportunity to be a part of this course, which ultimately enhanced my skills towards finance and its related concepts.

As mentioned before at this very moment i wish to send my love and support to Prof. Shiller for his contribution to the entire course session, Yale Management, and the entire Coursera team for there support and guidance

Thank you,

Regards: AKASH KURIEN

By Carol B

Oct 26, 2020

The class was awesome, I wish I could take more of Professor Shiller's classes, he's so knowledgeable and that really comes across in his lectures. For someone that is not a finance or economics major, this class has really shed light on many little intricacies of different financial markets and risk management. I really applaud Shiller and his team for sharing this class with the masses.

By Mangesh S R

May 6, 2020

The good thing about the course is it takes you through several topics and historical facts which one might not find on the internet easily. The Course is quite good but they have not mentioned the reading material as pre-requisite beforehand which they should include since some topics require previous knowledge. It was me who saw the available resources later after completing the course.

By Brandon C

Mar 11, 2020

Prof Shiller has created a thorough yet concise overview of all the major financial markets out there while providing well thought out solutions to a variety of important economic issues. Shot with a mix of lectures, small groups, and coffee shop chats. You feel like you're at Yale learning alongside everyone. Refreshing and doable. You're bound to learn something useful from this course.

By Jagadabhi R g b

Sep 11, 2020

I can say it is one of the most useful courses out there, for starters looking to start somewhere or what to pursue in finance you will get a clear picture by the end of the course. It covers all that is required and you will learn a lot more than you can think of and Robert J Shiller is an amazing teacher and his sense of humour is just great. Very interactive from the start to the end.

By Rocío M T

Aug 7, 2020

I enjoyed this course because It's easy to understand although I don't have too much knowledge about Financial Markets. It is a course that helps you to get into the very importance of Economics in the world and the view that it's not just about making money but about putting that knowledge at the service of Society. I recommend it if you want to have a different but very realistic view.

By PLN R

Apr 13, 2019

Just fabulous course! Professor Shiller does an amazing job, explaining the basics of finance! I completely recommend the course to every single person, irrespective of their background, to help get bird's eye view of the basic financial terms and tools! Helps you understand why finance is essential, not only if you have taken it up at graduate or undergraduate level; but is life indeed.

By M S

Oct 30, 2020

I was astounded all the way to have Professor Shiller on my vritual Classroom teaching me all these weeks.

There are no words to qualify his knowledge, and devotion to pass knowledge, to try to understand why things that are so important in our lives happen, all arround our small world, all connected to Financial Markets. A human point of view, plain facts, and hard science, all in one.

By Devesh B

Oct 16, 2020

This course by Yale University and professor Shiller is not only great for those who want to understand the basics of complex financial world but also for those who want to brush up their concepts, to those who want to explore about so many unheard aspects of finance. Of course the course being a bit long requires patience but at the end of the day it is extremely well put and thorough!

By Facundo C

Mar 6, 2021

What a magnificent course! Professor Shiller is a genius. He managed to open my mind regarding finances, emphasizing the social aspect of the issue and covering each and every topic related to finance in general. I am very grateful for having had the opportunity to do this course. Without a doubt, a before and after in my academic life. Thank you very much Coursera and Yale University!

By YASSINE K

Oct 2, 2020

Un excellent cours concernant les marchés financiers. Les thématiques abordées sont détaillées et décortiquées par le Professeur Robert Schiller.

Le cours aborde de nombreuses notions, allant de la Finance Comportementale aux bulles spéculatives, en passant par les mécanismes de passage d'ordres...

Le Professeur Schiller transmet son savoir avec beaucoup de passion. J'ai adoré ce cours !