Chevron Left
Back to Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Markets by Yale University

4.8
stars
17,313 ratings
4,029 reviews

About the Course

An overview of the ideas, methods, and institutions that permit human society to manage risks and foster enterprise. Emphasis on financially-savvy leadership skills. Description of practices today and analysis of prospects for the future. Introduction to risk management and behavioral finance principles to understand the real-world functioning of securities, insurance, and banking industries. The ultimate goal of this course is using such industries effectively and towards a better society....

Top reviews

IH
Mar 9, 2021

This course is easy to follow and interesting. Professor Shiller is very motivating. It not teaching about finance but more importantly how finance can build a better life for all. Really recommended.

SK
May 9, 2020

This course is so useful to know about finance in depth it gives more examples about the finance . It help to make more decision in finance market. It also motivate students to attract towards finance

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 3,993 Reviews for Financial Markets

By Nandan A

Apr 21, 2019

Hands down will give this course 5-star. If there was an extra star, wouldn't mind to give that extra. Robert Shiller, Fin Markets Veteran, has excellent knowledge regarding the course and its surrounding. Overall experience is great. Kudos to people, behind and before the course. HatsOff COURSERA!!

By Karthick

Apr 11, 2019

Very useful course with a broad scope of coverage. I specially liked topics like Finance and Society and the assignments. It would have been useful to get into more depth in the typical finance areas like Options, Futures, etc. but I guess that we couldn't have mustered time for that given the scope.

By Larry C

Feb 7, 2021

My initial learning goals were to simply improve my ability to manage my portfolio. While I wouldn't say I'm there yet, the course did provide me with broad knowledge of Finance and corresponding history of Finance. This foundation will be the basis for continuing education in this field of study.

By Andrés S

Sep 20, 2020

Un muy buen curso. He podido aprender nuevas cosas y complementar conocimientos que de hecho me servirán para la vida, no solo para mi carrera profesional. La manera de enseñar del profesor R. Shiller ha sido muy buena y todos los conceptos se entendieron claramente. Muchas gracias Coursera y Yale.

By Padmakar S D

Jun 26, 2020

Instructor is very good. They make this course funny relaxing clear and easy. thank you for great efforts. This courses helped me to understand financial market. I request you to make course little small because it is taken month of me to complete. But the overall course is very easy and knowledge.

By Ruth R M

Mar 9, 2018

AMAZING TO HEAR A NOBEL PRIZE WINNER IN ECONOMICS TALK ABOUT FINANCIAL MARKETS. HIS LECTURES OFFER INSIGHTS ON HOW THE FINANCIAL MARKETS HAVE EVOLVED, WHY THEY EXIST, HOW THEY CONTRIBUTE TO SOCIETY, HOW THEY CAN IMPROVE...SO GLAD I TOOK THIS COURSE. COMPLETELY DIFFERENT FROM OTHER FINANCE COURSES.

By Alex U

Nov 22, 2020

I am so glad I took this course during the Covid Pandemic in 2020. A necessary knowledge to apply in today's world and so relevant to the events that are happening right now. It is even crazier how some content in this course has predicted the economic situation at the time this course was taken.

By Harikumar M I

Jun 30, 2020

Economics and finance are offshhots of moral science. Financial or an economic health of a country in the long term is a reflection of the social equity or how good is the collective concience of the society at large. Financial instruments are powerful tools to achieve higher standards of living.

By JOHNSON A

May 15, 2020

Prof Shiller gives a thorough and broad explanation of how things work in Finance. The variety of teaching methods and discussion fora with students presents a lively and multi-faceted approach to learning. Though a Finance professional myself, I many learnt things that improved my understanding.

By Aakash A

Sep 6, 2017

A complete understanding of the importance and the modern role of Finance with examples from across the globe particularly the United States. The course topics were brilliantly complimented by the "Salon Sessions" which involved a lesson related question and answer session with Professor Shiller.

By Ricardo C

Mar 23, 2021

Extremely complete course. With content that helps from beginner to advanced.

Light didactics, which make even students with little command of the language acquire the necessary knowledge.

Also grateful for the improvement of subtitles in Portuguese. Despite arriving at the end of my course. lol

By Atharva S

Nov 29, 2020

I really liked the way this course was designed and also I liked the contents of this course

I liked the way Proffesor Shiller teaches and explains each and every concept

I also liked the salon (discussion) sessions with the students

I know I will surely be benefitted by this course in the future

By Ananth K

Sep 9, 2020

Hello all, I am Ananth from Mumbai, India. The Course was just amazing. I learnt many new things about financial markets and it's functioning all thanks to Coursera, Professor Shiller and all the teachers of Yale University. Looking forward to many more courses from Coursera and Yale University.

By Jason N

Sep 2, 2020

Professor Shiller is really knowledgeable in finance and can also draw a connection between finance and humanity. I understand now that finance is more than just about maximizing profits through financial markets, but also increasing our human capital, while also serving others at the same time.

By Nam H T

Jul 8, 2020

Very informative and exciting course. The lecturer is an expert who has deep knowledge in his field and can utilize a lot of real life examples to illustrate the concepts. His way of explaining is also very easy to understand and relate. I will be happy to attend his other courses in the future.

By Catherine T

Nov 17, 2020

Fantastic journey through the financial markets of the world, especially US markets. Prof. Schiller is an expert who can easily lift you up to the top of financial management. I am so happy to undergo this course even though it is entirely different from my areas of research. Thank you coursera

By Natalie P

Aug 10, 2020

Great course! It gives holistic understanding of Financial Markets. Lectures, salons videos and quizzes are done in a way that you learn fast and your knowledge is well structured. I enjoyed a lot the course. I am grateful to professor Mr. Robert Shiller for the knowledge and skills I have got.

By Gil d S

Apr 12, 2021

Excellent course. Professor Shiller is a superb teacher. However, this course is not strictly for beginners. It is implicit that the prospective student has a knowledge of finance and investments. In other words, has completed at least one or two undergraduate courses in finance & investments.

By Noshin N

Jul 20, 2020

It's nothing short of a phenomenal course conducted by an extraordinary professor whose way of teaching is sure to evoke an interest in finance among the learners. This course has given me a well-round understanding of financial instruments, their uses, as well as the importance of regulation.

By Disha P

Sep 18, 2020

Extremely Amazing course! Thanks Prof. Shiller for such an in-depth and insightful course. I was introduced to the financial markets and instruments available in the markets which I was unaware about earlier. Thank you coursera and Yale university for this awesome course on Financial markets.

By NIXON A E A

Aug 26, 2020

Es un curso increíble, excelente, un recorrido inolvidable por la estructura de los mercados financieros, no soy muy bueno con el idioma pero lo logre finalmente. Muchas gracias a Yale y muchas gracias al profesor Robert Shiller por brindarnos esta oportunidad tan valiosa y tan enriquecedora.

By Abhishek k

Aug 3, 2020

Course is very well structured to familiarise with the essentials of financial markets. Insights given by Professor are very useful and help understand practical part of markets lucidly. Overall course is recommended for those seeking initiation or those keen on brushing up theory of markets.

By Vineet V S

Sep 12, 2020

A wonderful overview of the American Financial Market by Nobel Prize Winner Prof. Schiller. It was absolutely amazing to understand the concepts of different fields of Finance. The addition of Psychological and Social aspect made the course even better. I have learned a lot from this course!

By Rishi R

May 22, 2020

Very good content and supporting knowledge from Professor Shiller. The Salon discussions also added a different and fresh perspective to conventional classroom training. I would certainly recommend this to anyone interested in gainer broader understanding of financial markets and economies.

By Bogdan C

May 3, 2020

Comprehensive course on Financial Markets (with interesting hints about Behavioral Finance). The didactic and inspirational level of these lectures is absolutely great. Prof. Shiller provides a clear interpretation of modern finance and elaborates on its essential relationship with society.