Chevron Left
Back to Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Markets by Yale University

4.8
stars
24,502 ratings

About the Course

An overview of the ideas, methods, and institutions that permit human society to manage risks and foster enterprise. Emphasis on financially-savvy leadership skills. Description of practices today and analysis of prospects for the future. Introduction to risk management and behavioral finance principles to understand the real-world functioning of securities, insurance, and banking industries. The ultimate goal of this course is using such industries effectively and towards a better society....

Top reviews

BK

Oct 25, 2021

This course is so useful to know about finance in depth it gives more examples about the finance . It help to make more decision in finance market. It also motivate students to attract towards finance

SK

May 9, 2020

This course is so useful to know about finance in depth it gives more examples about the finance . It help to make more decision in finance market. It also motivate students to attract towards finance

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 5,450 Reviews for Financial Markets

By Ramandeep K

Oct 27, 2020

I did not like this course. The professor simply started the course without the explanation of basic things and I did not understand at all.

By Dhanashree C W

May 12, 2020

very tough to understand ...use simple language to explain

By Roman K

Dec 16, 2018

Thanks to the course team and Coursera. Many areas of modern finance were covered and many life examples were given. I really enjoy Professor Shiller lecturing style.

By R k

May 25, 2019

I am glad to have that best experience with your portal , it helps me alot to explore my knowledge in finance field.

By Stanley W

May 18, 2019

Great course on financial market and benefit to non-financial background personnel.

By Pengchong L

Dec 30, 2017

Lots of content seems to be cut out from the original lectures. There are cases where the questions in a certain quiz are related to lessons a few weeks in the future. The quiz questions are not very well designed compared to other courses on Coursera.

By PRITAM P D

Mar 4, 2021

This course is a joke. Its just a compilation of clippings from offline lectures and random discussion sessions where some concepts are discussed which were not taught beforehand making it extremely difficult to keep track of things. Coursera should scrap this course from its website as it is not designed for online teaching purpose.

By Adrian V

May 15, 2020

I don't have a degree in Finance or Economics, I am not a complete beginner in these fields either, but I have found this course more than helpful in understanding the bigger picture. I loved the history of financial innovations and the lectures about behavioural finance.

I would have appreciated better audio/video quality but it is understandable since the course is adapted from a real-life lecture. Probably more practical exercises and examples would have been helpful to better understand the mathematical concepts (applied to different scenarios) as an optional section of this course.

Overall I’d recommend this course to anyone that wants to get started in finance but make sure you expand on the information received here.

By Marc L

May 19, 2019

Incredible course. The course is difficult, but that's the great thing about it. Having Prof. Shiller as a teacher, even online, is priceless.

By Irwan L L

Dec 29, 2018

Interesting video and professor Shiller is great !

By Scott D

May 21, 2019

Great course. Great instructor.

By Mike Y W

Apr 24, 2018

This is an MBA level finance fundamentals course developed in 2016. Professor Shiller covers a very wide range of topics, but not in as much depth as I would have liked. The course could have been better arranged by splitting it into two (or even three) in order to provide more depth in the topics covered. I enjoyed the Professor's humor, and the application of a number of the topics in real world scenarios. I also enjoyed the salon's (Q&A with MBA students), chalk talk, and his TA providing important informational tid-bits during the lectures. I spent a lot of time pausing during the lectures to take detailed notes, forcing me to spend a lot more time than I would have liked each week, and so I didn't have time to contribute in the discussion forums.

By Shreyansh J

Jan 14, 2018

It's more of a course for the people who have prior knowledge on Finances. I wouldn't recommend it to laymen just looking for an introductory finance course. All in all, it was a good course.

By Ingunn A F

Oct 7, 2017

It's informative, but not engaging.

By Alexander J

Apr 20, 2020

Cuts up lectures and feels very disjointed, bounces from concept too concept too quickly.

By François H

Nov 2, 2017

To many discussions... not really a financial course

By Bruce

Mar 31, 2020

Good content but Presentation is quite rambling

By Aditya N

Apr 6, 2021

What a non sensical course !! The professor keeps on doing uhmm,uhmm half the lecture. Moreover, the professor is teaching a bunch of students already present for his class and we are given only a 10% part of those long lectures. Waste of time! My local finance tutor will teach better than this Yale University guy.

By Alexandros M

Jan 5, 2021

Wow - this was amazing! I'm doing my Bachelor's in Business Administration and was eager to do this course because I wanted to deepen my knowledge about Finance and in order to assess whether there were still things I didn't know about. I am happy to say that the amazing Prof. Shiller really made me learn a whole lot of new things. I love the way he is able to spread his enthusiasm for Financial Markets and how he manages to explain all this stuff really easy to understand and down-to-earth. But what I liked most about this course is the way it connects Finance to finding one's own purpose and doing something good for societies around the world. Even though studying this topic, I was having a rather negative image of the financial world before taking this course. Now my picture has changed and I believe that this industry has a lot of good people in it, which I want to be a part of in the future in order to help make the world a better place for everyone. No matter if you just finished high-school or graduated with an MBA: You should definitely take this course!

By Daniel a p p

Aug 6, 2020

Estoy feliz de haber completado este curso, es realmente bueno para conocer los temas importantes que determinan el funcionamiento de los mercados y me da elementos como para poder invertir. Tambien, destacar que me ayudó a pasar de mejor manera el periodo de cuarentena (Covid-19) de una manera positiva y ocupar este tiempo confinado en crecimiento personal .

El curso es muy bien estructurado en todos los temas y el profesor es muy buen pedagogo, a la vez ,que lo hace con un toque de humor. Por último, las entrevistas y presentaciones son buenas, para mostrar que tambien a traves de las finanzas se pueden hacer cosas buenas para la humanidad.

Agradecer a Coursera, a la universidad de Yale y al Señor Shiller.

By Prem P K

Aug 1, 2020

It's been very long journey for me to complete this course but I assure you that in future I will look back many times on how professor shiller teach not only about the world of finance but also that finance is not only about making money.

I had done many courses on coursera till now on finance but this is one of the best course I have ever taken on finance.

In this course you will learn about stock market, bond market,history on finance, the origin of finance and every thing about finance.

If you're thinking about doing course on finance then I assure you that this is one of the best of course ever made on finance.

You won't regret after enrolling in this course.

By Nicole D

Jan 22, 2020

A comprehensive, insightful, and inspiring introduction to the world of finance. It was a privilege to be able to learn directly from one of the most formidable experts in this area, and completing the course has contributed invaluably to my formal studies and informal reading in finance. Professor Shiller adeptly traverses across history, recent times, and the future of the global financial industry, tapping into psychology, law, and sociology, skilfully switching from micro to macro perspectives, delivering the lectures and salons in a way that is highly engaging, witty, and and has enthused me to learn more.

By Pim M

Sep 17, 2020

A must take course for anyone that is interested in Finance. Right away, you know you have found a very special professor. Prof. Robert Shiller is a great instructor. He can explain and elaborate concepts in a way that is engaging, interesting, and is well paced. The course is designed to give over all understanding of financial markets as well as inspire students to think creatively on how financial instruments and regulations were developed in the past to help address human problems and what financial instruments may be innovated in the future to help us thrive in the new environment.

By Sadman H N

Apr 19, 2020

Yale University did an outstanding job. This course was presented in an organized way and it was easy to understand the topics thanks to our honorable Robert Shiller sir. Now I have a lot of knowledge about financial market and I think Yale Universities teaching standard is one of the best in the world. I would love to learn more from this university and my goal is to admit myself in masters in Yale University. This would change my life completely. Thanks Yale for giving me an opportunity to be a part of you.

By OSAMUYIMEN G I

Oct 6, 2020

Professor Shiller has a very welcoming and inclusive approach to teaching. His ability to simplify complex financial terms and theories, allowed me to gain invaluable in-depth knowledge of Financial Markets and understand the important role of Finance in the world and how it relates to our life experiences. I'm so glad I participated in this course. It was definitely time well spent, and I believe it adds immense value to anyone looking to understand Finance.