Chevron Left
Back to Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Markets by Yale University

4.8
stars
15,825 ratings
3,685 reviews

About the Course

An overview of the ideas, methods, and institutions that permit human society to manage risks and foster enterprise. Emphasis on financially-savvy leadership skills. Description of practices today and analysis of prospects for the future. Introduction to risk management and behavioral finance principles to understand the real-world functioning of securities, insurance, and banking industries. The ultimate goal of this course is using such industries effectively and towards a better society....

Top reviews

JC
Aug 19, 2020

Curso perfeito em todos os aspectos, me introduziu ao mercado financeiro e me fez querer escolher essa área para atuar. Robert Shiller merece o posto de maiores economistas que temos, pessoa incrível.

SK
May 9, 2020

This course is so useful to know about finance in depth it gives more examples about the finance . It help to make more decision in finance market. It also motivate students to attract towards finance

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 3,659 Reviews for Financial Markets

By Ingunn A F

Oct 7, 2017

It's informative, but not engaging.

By Gethro O

Apr 30, 2020

The videos are part of a real university course but are only snippets of lectures. The arrangement is bad. The instructor is very knowledgeable but often hard to follow. I reached week four but dropped out. I have learned quite a lot but I don’t think my knowledge is going to stay for long because I only understand small individual parts of lessons enough to pass the normal quizzes and have a ~50% on the honors quiz... Everything is quite a mess. :(

Professor Shiller has won a Nobel prize and I look up to him for that, but this course was just not planned well at all.

By Pengchong L

Dec 30, 2017

Lots of content seems to be cut out from the original lectures. There are cases where the questions in a certain quiz are related to lessons a few weeks in the future. The quiz questions are not very well designed compared to other courses on Coursera.

By Alexander J

Apr 20, 2020

Cuts up lectures and feels very disjointed, bounces from concept too concept too quickly.

By François H

Nov 2, 2017

To many discussions... not really a financial course

By Bruce

Mar 31, 2020

Good content but Presentation is quite rambling

By Abhishek V

Jul 18, 2020

Honestly, this course could have been a lot better but it was very vaguely put together. Definitely not an introductory course.

The structure was pretty much all over the place.

I later enrolled in for ISBs course on financial markets and it yielded way better results for me.

STRUCTURE BAD. CONCEPTS RANDOM. TOPICS NOT ADDRESSED IN DETAIL.

By Sara G

May 3, 2020

waste of time, I could not understand properly the concepts, as he is not going straight to the point. so I unenrolled after watching few videos

By Tanay T

Apr 19, 2020

the pace is extremely monotonous and it makes the course really mundane. i want to drop this one and take another one instead, but i just cant!

By Haritha S

Apr 18, 2020

It was very useful course. This course is very time taking but the best and worth full

But I'm not getting course certificate

By Dhanashree C W

May 12, 2020

very tough to understand ...use simple language to explain

By Steve S

Jul 20, 2020

While I was not forced to sign an honors pledge that I read all the readings and attended the tutorials that would have been required at Yale, I genuinely enjoyed the course. I'm grateful. Schiller came across to me as humble, but highly informed. He obviously crafted this course for Yalies, which I am not, but getting the same information that these privileged folks got (at great expense for them, but not for me) was a generous gift.

While I am an investor with monies I never expected to be responsible for when I was younger, the synthetic grasp of the financial markets is simply all the more valuable to me. This is a case where the more we know, the more we have ears to hear. Agreeing with all his perspectives or those of Yale as a cultural community is not necessary for me to benefit from this overview.

I appreciated the careful selection of interesting shorts, rather than just a sequential taping of an actual course. The addition of non-lecture vignettes was helpful, and lowered the monotony of the lectures.

The quizzes and assignment were quite doable, and the ability to re-take them until I got a passing grade was appropriate for me as an adult learner.

One comment I would add is that the choice to pursue financial capital first or to apply one's gifts to add value to the world now is not so straightforward as Schiller suggests. If you place your focus on finances first, that will enhance your chances of reaping a financial harvest. If you instead place your focus on reaping a relational harvest, the human capital you invest in may far outweigh any finances you forgo.

Likewise I would add that moral hazard besets all participants in financial markets. Anyone who believes themselves immune has only increased their risk. We always deceive ourselves first before we deceive anyone else, and we are all most easily deceived by the people who know us most intimately.

By sam j

Feb 11, 2020

the first time thank you, Mr Robert Shiller, his lessons

Financial Market

Understanding the Financial Markets

Financial markets play a vital role in facilitating the smooth operation of capitalist economies by allocating resources and creating liquidity for businesses and entrepreneurs. The markets make it easy for buyers and sellers to trade their financial holdings. Financial markets create securities products that provide a return for those who have excess funds (Investors/lenders) and make these funds available to those who need additional money (borrowers).

The stock market is just one type of financial market. Financial markets are made by buying and selling numerous types of financial instruments including equities, bonds, currencies, and derivatives. Financial markets rely heavily on informational transparency to ensure that the markets set prices that are efficient and appropriate. The market prices of securities may not be indicative of their intrinsic value because of macroeconomic forces like taxes

Some financial markets are small with little activity, and others, like the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE), trade trillions of dollars of securities daily. The equities (stock) market is a financial market that enables investors to buy and sell shares of publicly traded companies. The primary stock market is where new issues of stocks, called initial public offerings (IPOs), are sold. Any subsequent trading of stocks occurs in the secondary market, where investors buy and sell securities that they already own

By Quiana B

Dec 21, 2017

Absolutely the BEST MOOC I have taken to date. I am in the process of a slight career change and needed pertinent background information to begin pursuing a higher degree in my new chosen field - namely Economics and Finance. This course was PERFECT for such an endeavor. I learned a wealth of information that I could immediately apply to both every day financial situations and to understanding the current state of the global market as a whole. I truly wish that Yale would offer more such courses on this topic on the Coursera platform. The professor's lectures and round-table student discussions were clear, concise, and provided an immense amount of insight into this field. Thank you, Prof. Shiller for presenting such an amazing course to the general public. I am also so pleased that this MOOC offered Honors quizzes, to truly test the knowledge that was applied. There is a written assignment for peer review, which was based on a current global financial topic, and I am so glad that it was needed to complete this course. Once I read the material and had to apply the knowledge that I learned throughout the course, I surprised even myself as to what I had acquired from the lectures and how passionate it made me regarding the subject at hand. Overall, great course from a highly prestigious school and a teacher that seems truly sincere about his field and sharing his experience with all. THANK YOU!!

By Isaac A S D

May 8, 2020

I thing this course was very useful as an introduction to financial markets. The professor is very enthusiastic and committed to what he teaches. Its a pity that there are people that things this course is a waste of time. If you want to know what I think about this people, you can use Google Translator as an example that you can search for what you don't know on the INTERNET.

Por mi parte este curso me fue muy útil como introducción a los mercados financieros, lleno de ejemplos y que cambió mi perspectiva de los mercados financieros.

He leído las opiniones del curso y son muy variadas, pero hay una en especial que me molestó demasiado. Un sujeto llamado James R. dice ser doctor (no se en qué) y tener casi 20 años de profesor titular (quien sabe donde). Se la pasa criticando el curso alegando que hay muchas cosas no explicadas o que no se encuentran en el curso. Sin embargo, creo que basta con poner la definición en Internet para encontrarla. Si bien muchas formulas no están explicadas, estoy seguro que la razón es porque para poder explicar de donde vienen se necesitaría más teoría. No se si la gente no es capaz de leer antes que este curso es para principiantes, lo importante es entender los conceptos como tal, ¡SABER QUE EXISTEN!, esta diseñado para personas que no tienen conocimientos avanzados en finanzas ni economía.

By Nermeen N

Jul 5, 2020

Professor Robert Shiller is WONDERFUL!

I am so proud of this certificate. After much deliberation, I decided to develop my interest in financial markets by enrolling in this course. A challenging journey of seven weeks, 19 quizzes, and one assignment taught by the Nobel Prize winning renowned economist Robert Shiller whom I most admire. And how rewarding it has been! I loved learning about ideas, methods, and institutions that permit human society to manage risks and foster enterprise. About risk management and behavioral finance principles so that I can understand the real-world functioning of securities, insurance, and banking industries. Professor Shiller’s ultimate goal and unabating message was to teach us how such industries can effectively build better societies and how innovations in finance can enhance financial equality for generations to come. One would think that a course on financial markets would be boring, I couldn’t disagree more. I learnt so much about the world around me and how it’s all interconnected. I learnt about human psychology and how that influences economic bubbles (or as Professor Shiller prefers to call them; epidemics), and how they burst into great recessions. So challenging, and so enriching. I am very happy today.

By Winnie W

Jan 15, 2019

Great course! This is my first time using the online study platform Coursera to join a single course, and I would like to say it is a nice engaging experience for me when learning the course. I really appreciate the Coursera Platform for providing us the opportunity to study the course from the prestigious professor and university.

The course financial market for me is an excellent courses to involve in the financial backgrounds and basic financial instruments. The course does not dive too deep in the mathematical side but more likely to be the outline and theory side. The most great bones point for the course is that Professor Shiller included so much real life scenarios and single cases into each theory and definition, which really helps me understanding and memorizing the content.

And I got an advice for the platform as well, the single videos and ppt slides are separate with each other, when I study them one by one, sometimes I cannot found the inner logic for each tiny topic and sub-point. Maybe the platform could provide something like the outline for each module to guide the study and show what the connection among all the single topic is.

Thanks for all the staff and Professor for providing great course for us.

By Chan W K

Apr 12, 2020

I thought the course was very useful, contemporary and insightful. Professor Shiller clearly explained all the concepts well and did a good job in linking financial theories to real-life practical events. The course is certainly not at the beginner's level as it touched on certain topics well beyond the undergraduate level. Being a course offered by Yale University, it is no surprise that the contents were structured within the US context, with acts and statues originating from the US's jurisdiction. The only shortfall I felt in this course is that a number of questions in the quizzes were skewed towards an economic approach rather than from the finance perspective, with these set with a finance tone initially but ended up with how it produced various economic effects. Otherwise, the entire course was an excellent opportunity for learners wishing to pursue a career in finance or anyone having an acute interest in this field.

By Satyanarayana K

Jan 28, 2020

I recommend this course for everyone who has a grasp on high school math. It is important to understand the world we live in, we can not ignore the markets since they affect our lives. Some of the material has practical use, such as mortgages. It is also useful for you to make decisions about your 401k accounts. There were some critical reviews that claimed the math was not explained in detail. It is true that you will need to work out the math by hand yourself to get a full appreciation. Please use the forum to get help or even discuss the math in detail, I have seen fellow students who knew enough to explain. There are quite a few mentors and some students who can explain if you are stuck, there is a recommended text book that has the math worked out in detail. The historical perspective and linking of concepts of insurance, valuation, behavioral effects, and regulation is quite coherent.

By Dayger C

Sep 8, 2017

This is an essential education for everyone, finances touch every nation, community, families and individuals. Finance should be teach from a very young age and I think will make a big difference in our world.This course is base on a high advance level is not about treating investment as a gamble base on luck, it is about how have a prudential planning and basic knowledge and to have purpose driven life that we can use our finance knowledge to make a difference in life, and what I learn the most the realization of the importance of risk-management. "The problem with finance is a high inequality in this field. Some people make a lot of money, but on the other hand, you have to give it away. This is another thing about this course. If you make a lot of money in finance, it's a game, you enjoyed it, now give most of it away – that's going to be a theme." Robert Shiller (Excellent Professor)

By Adnaeva G S

Oct 15, 2020

It’s a good online course in Finance that I have never learned before. I have gained the basic knowledge of financial markets and their applications in reality. Absolutely right, finance is not just about making money that I thought before joining in this course, and as a popular opinion as well, it is more than that, it has much more meaningful. This course has brought to me the necessary skills to make more rational decisions in my life, in my future career, I think. It’s also helped me to realize how I should work in this sector to serve the right purposes, to make the people living around me to be better. And it’s true that educational finance is very important to everyone. Professor Robert Shiller is an amazing teacher, many thanks to Professor Robert Shiller and Yale’s Financial Markets Course team. I highly recommend taking this course!

By MINHAZUL A

Oct 4, 2020

It’s a good online course in Finance that I have never learned before. I have gained the basic knowledge of financial markets and their applications in reality. Absolutely right, finance is not just about making money that I thought before joining in this course, and as a popular opinion as well, it is more than that, it has much more meaningful. This course has brought to me the necessary skills to make more rational decisions in my life, in my future career, I think. It’s also helped me to realize how I should work in this sector to serve the right purposes, to make the people living around me to be better. And it’s true that educational finance is very important to everyone. Professor Robert Shiller is an amazing teacher, many thanks to Professor Robert Shiller and Yale’s Financial Markets Course team. I highly recommend taking this course.

By Pradumn A

Nov 23, 2020

To utilise the unproductive weeks in this semi lock-down period I subscribed to this amazing course named "Financial Markets" by Prof. Robert Shiller, Sterling Professor of Economics at Yale University & a Nobel Prize winner. This course was well equipped starter kit to understand how Financial Markets work & how Human Behaviour is Influenced by Finances.

This 7-week long course explained every founding stone of Financial Markets. For an instance I never knew there is something like "Representativeness Heuristic" which means "Tendency to see patterns in what is really random walk." Now this is what we learn from a Nobel Prize winner.

I would love to express my gratitude to Prof. Robert Shiller & Yale University and of course Coursera for narrowing down to the very basics and to educate people worldwide with the best of your teachings.

By Marc W

Jul 2, 2020

I think that Professor Shiller's presentation of finance was informative, innovative and insightful on the level you would expect from a Nobel prize winner. I did find it cryptic to deal with his information on the democratization of finance because of his contrasting view of the nature of human intelligence, i.e. that some are smarter then others. I realize that this view of an individuals intelligence is currently en vogue at universities. Without going into so much detail, I personally applaud recognizing the dilemma of supporting universals in the treatment of humankind collectively, while perhaps having a realistic assessment of limits. Being said, I also feel that this broad based course gave me enough of an overview to modern finance to hold a steadier course in my business career and personal life. Thank you Professor Shiller.

By Mar G A

Aug 5, 2018

It's a very insightful course on financial markets. Prof. Shiller is amazing. His knowledge and experience in the financial markets is truly amazing. He tells you the history and etymology, and the practical application of financial theories. I especially liked how the course included other finance industry leaders like Robert Ferguson, Lei Zhang, and Georgia Keohane. You get a different perspective of finance and how it has helped and shaped different regions and sectors of the society. I have so much appreciation with finance, before I thought it's just about making money, but it's only a part of that. As Prof. Shiller said, finance helped people's lives to become better, manage risks, and most importantly:

"Poverty is substantially due to unmanaged risks."

-Prof. Robert Shiller