Chevron Left
Back to Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Markets by Yale University

4.8
stars
24,477 ratings

About the Course

An overview of the ideas, methods, and institutions that permit human society to manage risks and foster enterprise. Emphasis on financially-savvy leadership skills. Description of practices today and analysis of prospects for the future. Introduction to risk management and behavioral finance principles to understand the real-world functioning of securities, insurance, and banking industries. The ultimate goal of this course is using such industries effectively and towards a better society....

Top reviews

SK

May 9, 2020

This course is so useful to know about finance in depth it gives more examples about the finance . It help to make more decision in finance market. It also motivate students to attract towards finance

BK

Oct 25, 2021

This course is so useful to know about finance in depth it gives more examples about the finance . It help to make more decision in finance market. It also motivate students to attract towards finance

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 5,444 Reviews for Financial Markets

By Stepan B

Jan 3, 2021

The course gives a solid basic understanding of core concepts in the financial markets and of the common financial instruments. The teacher is very good at keeping the students engaged and explaining fairly complex concepts with aid of simple examples. Furthermore, he excels at showing the social importance of finance and its purpose beyond making money. This course has had a tremendous inspirational impact on me, besides the knowledge learned.

By Shreyas K

Oct 23, 2021

I'm so glad I took this course. It was a really good mix of classroom teaching, a very good essay on a good topic, salon discussions that were shown intermittently. I really like Professor Shiller's emphasis on innovative thinking. I like how he thinks critically, doesn't agree or dismiss an idea from a biased perspective but really tries to interrogate the idea and find value in it and conclude (not permanently) about things.

By Dickens L

Apr 3, 2018

I really enjoyed this Financial Market course. I would recommend anyone who is interested in advancing his or her career in the financial services industry, and/or those who would like to gain financial knowledge to be able to make better personal finance decisions, to take this course. Professor Shiller is truly an inspirational person and his course would make you look at the world in a completely different way.

By Noland J

Nov 9, 2020

Financial Markets delivered by Professor Robert Shiller was excellent. I achieved great insights into numerous topical financial theories such as CAPM, Efficient Frontier and Markets, Risk Management, just to name a few. I would recommend that Financial Markets be learnt by everyone since financial literacy could be a driver for the reduction, if not elimination, of poverty and inequality around the world.

By Aviram V

Oct 29, 2019

Excellent course, quite intense and allowed for multiple levels of involvement with the honors quizzes. It is a privilege to learn from Prof. Shiller the exact same material that students at Yale learn, at a fraction of the cost from the comfort of your home. Thanks to the team who put this together and to Yale + Coursera. Highly recommend this to everyone who is related to any form of business.

By Supanut L

May 25, 2020

It is my honor to learn with Professor Shiller. This course would change my life and my view of the financial sector. I would recommend everyone to take this course your point of view would never be the same after that. This MOOC demonstrates how wonderful education could change people. Also, I want to express my appreciation to Yale university to give this opportunity to everyone.

By chinmay P

Mar 22, 2021

It was an eye opening session for an Finance aspirant. It develops our thought process and motivates us to be a long term player in the market. The best part was, Prof Shiller related finance history with most of the aspects. I'm very happy that I did this course. Thank you so much Prof Shiller for your efforts and kindness. Also a big thank you to Coursera. Love from India.

By Utills

Aug 3, 2020

Excellent course. Gives a broad overview of why Financial Markets exist covering the social aspects of financial theory. Would be an excellent first foray into the world of Finance especially for those looking to potentially study Finance in Further Education to get a taste of what the subject material is all about.

By Pratik K

May 25, 2020

This course is a complete package to learn finance. It is an A to Z review which encircles the surface and core of finance and gave me a deep understanding of the working of finance. I believe this will help me a lot in the future to make important financial decisions in both my personal and professional life.

By Pradip M

Oct 18, 2021

All aspects of Finance, even the dirty & dinghy, are discussed openly & in a morally justified manner. Crooks beware your days are numbered as Finance takes a glorious space in Academia. This course also covers the moral & ethical dilemmas of finance in an open & honest manner. Thank You.

By spectrum

Oct 29, 2022

Professor Shiller is a wise man for choosing practicality as a way of teaching. Anyone who doesn't even have a background in Finance can learn a lot from him. He's teaching out of his experiences; that's why everything is effective from the start upon completion.

By FONTAINE S

Jun 13, 2020

An excellent overwiew of key aspects of financial markets with accurate information, relevant and concise explanations help understanding techniques including behavioral finance. Brilliant course, I learnt a great deal, thank you so much !

By Maoti G

Apr 5, 2019

Very pleased with this course. Professor Shiller presents the information in a way that kept these concepts interesting and relevant to current events. I could not tell that these lectures were from years prior. Truly a wealth of insight!

By Suman C

May 9, 2018

I rate this course very highly. I learned the concepts and most importantly I developed critical thinking ability on the regulations and operations of financial markets. I would surely recommend this course. Regards, Dr. Suman Chakraborty

By Parth M

Jan 12, 2021

This course on Financial Markets is a concise but informative one and the instructor is also really knowledgeable and is able to explain the concepts with ease which, otherwise seem quite difficult to understand.

Course highly recommended

By Aman S

Jul 13, 2020

Exceptional course by Yale and my thanks to coursera for providing me with a platform to learn from such a learned man. Special thanks and respect for Professor Schuller who is really a very wonderful and knowledgeable man of this field.

By Amin k

Apr 16, 2020

It's a fantastic course and Robbert Shiller is a genuine and humble teacher who has intensive knowledge and experience in financial markets. I highly recommend this course to everyone who wants to understand financial markets better.

By Pramod K S

May 26, 2019

Hello everyone

I recommend to you all to join this course because this course will give more knowledge about financial market. It will explain your all theoretical doubt and it help you to achieve financial goal. Thank you so much.

By Ashwini P

Jan 17, 2023

This course is to get knowledge on finance and economics.

Specifically, Stock markets and portfolio, Risk management and how we can make money.

This course gave me basic understanding of financial markets.

By Nicholas K

Apr 23, 2020

Great course for people to understand the nature of the financial market and how understanding the concepts will benefit yourselves to understand how finance play a big role in every aspect of life.

By FREDERICO G S

Feb 26, 2021

Excellent course, driving to understand the principles of Financial Markets. If you want to understand the fundamentals of financial markets, then you should do this course.

By Mitali J

Nov 26, 2018

Incredibly well taught course by Professor Shiller which is very informative and covers a broad range of topics. So glad that I took this course! I highly recommend it!

By Jessica N R D

Feb 9, 2022

it is an excellent course! About the certificate, I would like it have written the hour load that was required to finish the course in there. Thank you.

By Carlos E D O

May 21, 2019

This course allowed me to have better knowledge of the financial market, I feel more confident about some subjects that I needed to understand a 100%

By Alex Q

Jun 25, 2020

Robert Shiller has clear insight of the market, and doesn't hesitate to show a path of knowledge and humanity in a market as "cold" as finances.