Chevron Left
Back to Financing for Startup Businesses

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financing for Startup Businesses by Duke University

4.5
stars
168 ratings
44 reviews

About the Course

This course will teach you how to manage a startup’s financing strategy, where you will learn how to build capitalization tables (or “cap tables”) in Excel. Cap tables will help you explore different financing strategies for your startup company and determine which financing decisions are best for your entrepreneurial venture. You will also learn about innovations in the digital space that allow new ways to finance entrepreneurial ventures. These include different forms of crowdfunding, and alternative credit scoring mechanisms based on web-based data. This course concludes with a module featuring cutting edge research from Duke University’s Fuqua School of Business on the financial technology industry. In this module, you will learn how financial technology companies are disrupting the credit scoring industry by developing new methods for credit scoring using consumers’ digital footprints. In addition, you will explore how financial technology platforms have introduced new, experimental forms of financing, such as crowdfunding....

Top reviews

YW
May 15, 2021

The course is very innovative and informative! The professor is very good at explaining concepts and all knowledge is well-delivered with excellent and clear examples.

DD
Apr 29, 2020

The concepts are high level for who are not from financial background. But by going through the lectures more often you can learn the concepts.

Filter by:

26 - 44 of 44 Reviews for Financing for Startup Businesses

By Fadumo H A

Apr 22, 2021

I liked this course because I understand many thinks

By Rajeev S

Aug 23, 2020

Very good knowledge and understanding of Finance

By Ramla M A

Apr 22, 2021

I liked the course and helped me very well

By Peïo B

Jun 13, 2021

Very good class, complete and interesting

By Hope F T

Nov 2, 2020

Great explanation of research work

By Nidhi S

Jun 27, 2020

Thank You for this Course.

By Ibrahim H A R

May 24, 2021

It's very helpful for me

By JENIFFER J

Jul 10, 2020

Good to develop our self

By Anil J

Jul 20, 2021

Quite value adding.

By BAPTISTE B

May 11, 2020

Very good course

By Bharat k

Aug 6, 2021

well explained

By Mohammad A

Aug 2, 2020

awesome course

By Jose M P A

May 22, 2020

Great content!

By Zenka A C & T

Dec 4, 2021

e

By Gopinath B

Jun 18, 2021

T​he digital footprint section is a touch dry. It could be enhanced with an interactive case study that uses the theory provided (charts, graphs, datasets, readings etc.) as backups... the focus instead being to apply the information to an actual potential default sitiuation for a person or group and how information is layered to arrive at default likelihood and potential interest rates being offered based on that default lieklihood.

By Devendra D

Oct 4, 2020

1 time in 24hour is too long could shorten the time to retake tests

By Luis C

Jul 28, 2021

Excelent , and very intresting ejemply

By Miski M A

May 24, 2021

HaHvHV

By ananda

May 21, 2021

Five Stars for subject matter; 1 star for execution. tl;dr: In hindsight, I would have skipped this class. There are too many short comings to go through so I'll focus on the deal killer from my perspective. The course quizzes are set up so that you get 1 try per 24 hours. A big component of the convertible security quizzes are based off an excel model that you will have to build out/replicate on your own. Even if you reverse engineer and back test your excel model to confirm the output of the various scenarios highlighted in the lecture slides, there is no guarantee that your model will give the correct answer on the quiz. And there is no effective mechanic for reconciliation. This negative learning experience is compounded by the lack of moderator support in the discussion boards. So for me, the worth of this class - high level conceptual overview of how convertible securities work in a VC setting - was more than outweighed by the negatives of reverse engineering the course's slide deck. And you can get the former by reading through relevant wiki type links while skipping the grind of the latter. Part of me wants to say that the reverse engineering was worth it but the truth is, you only go through scenarios with three security types where, in contrast, most real life modeling has more security types and features and thus exponentially more complex modeling requirements.