Chevron Left
Back to Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
stars
2,149 ratings
514 reviews

About the Course

All goods and services are subject to scarcity at some level, which requires that society develop some allocation mechanism to determine who gets what. Over recorded history, these allocation rules were usually command based, meaning that the king or the emperor would decide. In contemporary times, most countries have turned to market-based allocation systems. In markets, prices act as rationing devices, encouraging or discouraging production and encouraging or discouraging consumption to find an equilibrium allocation of resources. To understand this process, businesses construct demand curves to capture consumer behavior and consider supply curves to capture producer behavior. The resulting equilibrium price “rations” the scarce commodity. You will be able to: • Describe consumer behavior as captured by the demand curve and producer behavior as captured by the supply curve • Define equilibrium and explain the impact of taxes and price controls on market equilibrium • Explain elasticity of demand • Describe cost theory and how firms optimize given the constraints of their own costs and an exogenously given price This course is part of Gies College of Business’ suite of online programs, including the iMBA and iMSM. Learn more about admission into these programs and explore how your Coursera work can be leveraged if accepted into a degree program at https://degrees.giesbusiness.illinois.edu/idegrees/....

Top reviews

FP
May 12, 2017

In the beginning I thought this was going to be a very basic course, but the way the professor explained the topics really make it interesting a practical, going beyond the classical economic theory.

KS
Sep 11, 2019

This was awesome. I did not know Firm Level Economics when I joined this course. The explanations were simple and Prof DeBrock explained really difficult concepts in a very easy to understand manner.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 509 Reviews for Firm Level Economics: Consumer and Producer Behavior

By German E G T

Apr 29, 2020

It is an excellent course for those who want to take their first steps in the consumer and firm theory.

By Deleted A

Jun 25, 2017

I enjoyed studying this course! Thanks Larry! I liked the video lectures and the real-life examples.

By Maria D D

Mar 27, 2016

nice course, with links to additional reading materials... well thought and good for busy person :-)

By Doug R

Sep 10, 2019

Excellent course. Well organized and prepares you well to go forward in deeper into microeconomics.

By neal c

Nov 12, 2020

Larry is a great lecturer - his enthusiasm and examples make a dry subject much more interesting

By mujtaba s

Jul 5, 2019

good course, the khan academy videos are a must watch if you want to full understand the concept.

By Luis F M R

Jul 7, 2020

This is a great course. I had so much fun learning about this topic, which is totally new to me.

By Lorena R

Jun 23, 2020

Excellent explanation and material. Some links don't work but the other material is very helpful

By Pedro J M D

Apr 19, 2020

Larry hace la explicacion de los conceptos algo muy facil, se disfruta y aprende mucho el curso.

By Oscar C

Feb 13, 2020

Very insightful and professor provides clear explanations of the material covered in the class.

By Dejan C

Jan 21, 2019

Exceptional course! Enjoyed watching and reading. So much new interesting and useful learnings.

By Ngo T P M

Nov 17, 2018

This course provides the fundamental knowledge about economy. I am satisfied with this course.

By Shubham P

Apr 28, 2020

A very good course to understand microeconomics. Thanks to Mr Larry for making us understand.

By Getahun K M

Jun 9, 2017

It is a very good course which gives a good insight regarding consumer and producer behavior.

By SHANU C

Aug 5, 2020

I totally had a new insight about consumer and Producer behavior,and also gained knowledge.

By Rohit M

Jul 12, 2020

One of the best instructor on the Coursera, explains each concept very easy to understand.

By Priya R

Nov 4, 2020

Fantastic teacher who has explained the tough concepts of microeconomics in simple terms.

By Tam T

Sep 11, 2019

Great course and Prof. Larry DeBrock is a very engaging. It is a joy to be in his class.

By Miguel A O E

Feb 9, 2020

Well organized course, clear, motivating. Very helpful to learn microeconmics from zero.

By Arya J K J

Aug 3, 2020

This is a very nice course to take up. The professor explained each concepts very well.

By Sreehari S

May 30, 2020

Good course , I can acheive an excellent knowledge about the firm behavior and economy

By S D

Jul 14, 2020

Explanation is very simple and all basics are explained well, very easy to understand.

By Steven v d M

Nov 5, 2017

What a great lecturer! Provides a perfect introduction for any beginner into Economics

By Reuben M M

May 23, 2020

The classes were held very well and the explanations were given in a very simple way.

By Andrew P

Sep 11, 2019

Great content and process. This was my first Coursera course and I really enjoyed it.