Chevron Left
Back to Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health by Stanford University

4.7
stars
20,724 ratings
6,227 reviews

About the Course

Around the world, we find ourselves facing global epidemics of obesity, Type 2 Diabetes and other predominantly diet-related diseases. To address these public health crises, we urgently need to explore innovative strategies for promoting healthful eating. There is strong evidence that global increases in the consumption of heavily processed foods, coupled with cultural shifts away from the preparation of food in the home, have contributed to high rates of preventable, chronic disease. In this course, learners will be given the information and practical skills they need to begin optimizing the way they eat. This course will shift the focus away from reductionist discussions about nutrients and move, instead, towards practical discussions about real food and the environment in which we consume it. By the end of this course, learners should have the tools they need to distinguish between foods that will support their health and those that threaten it. In addition, we will present a compelling rationale for a return to simple home cooking, an integral part of our efforts to live longer, healthier lives. View the trailer for the course here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7x1aaZ03xU...

Top reviews

CN
May 13, 2021

Really good as an introductory guide to general human nutrition. Gives great insights on cooking, planning meals and health diet habits. It's a rather short course with actually impactful information.

NF
Dec 5, 2020

Foods and us have a relationship, and this course defines that relationship. Personally, this course provides positive experience for me in regards of food, meal preparation, and eating in moderation.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 6,198 Reviews for Stanford Introduction to Food and Health

By MIRELLA L Q S

Jun 2, 2020

Es la primera vez que llevo un curso de nutrición , aunque en realidad la carrera que actualmente llevo en la universidad de mi país de de negocios internacionales. siempre me ha gustado mucho el mundo de la salud, al comienzo quise estudiar psicología o nutrición pero por motivos económicos no se puedo por ahora pero pienso lograd mi objetivo de aprender y estudiarlo ya que también estoy muy metida en el mundo de la comida saludable. Agradezco esta iniciativa de ayudar por medio de cursos libres. ¡Muchas gracias!

By Sayali T

Feb 12, 2017

I found this course amazingly helpful and informative about the various kinds of foods we eat. Different facts and tricks and checks are listed out here to make sure that you stay healthy and fit. This course makes me want to cook more and not regard cooking as a tedious activity anymore. It is effectively explained by professors Maya Adams and Micheal Pollen. They are passionate about food and the need for everyone to be healthy. This is an excellent course and I would recommend for everyone to take this course.

By Grace L L

Sep 22, 2019

I like the course overall arrangement (the contents, the lecturer, the vedio..) in view of reading time and the digestion of useful food information. Though the program itself may not be all new to me, definitely an excellent reminder, reinforcement to exceed my expectation to improve the family eating behaviours. I enjoy learning all the practical tips given in the courses, easy to apply to daily life and I already exercised the key eating principals since day-(1) I joined the course. Thank you very much.

By Tim B

Jun 12, 2020

This is a very accessible, instructive course that everyone who has never thought about the way they eat or the foods they buy should be taking. It is the kind of 'grandma' knowledge + scientific background that is useful to all. The course format made very easy to engage with the content in a way that suited me, and I think I got valuable lessons out of this.

Since it is also a short course, it will only take a small bit of your time; there is little reason not to do it, time-wise. Definitely worth your while.

By Cecilia C

Nov 1, 2019

I loved this course because the information given was of easy access and understanding. Everybody can feel related to a situation of not paying attention to our diet. I love the recipes also!

I want to share the videos with my friends and family who I know are struggling with their health because of poor food decisions. I wish that everybody could understand the imperative of having a healthy and delicious diet and also to have access to information and more and better food options. Thank you for this course!

By Ashley R

Jan 18, 2016

I love this so much, and I think everyone should watch these videos. This is a work of art really. There is so much useful, globally applicable information packed into a concise, interesting, and credible collection. I love that there are scientific explanations and that the chemistry is shown. I also love how understandable it is to the lay-person, and how there are so many sensible pieces of advice that I feel the need to take and run with. Thank you for this; I will be passing this along to everyone I know.

By Eunice R

Jun 18, 2021

I​ enjoyed this course. I am pre-diabetic and have been told by my physician that losing weight will help me control my blood sugar. This course is informational and very easy to follow. I have gained a lot of valuable insight into what I can do to improve my nutritional health. I am not a big fan of using medicine for all of our ills. Therefore, I am happy to have taken this course and I know it will be a useful catalyst in helping me improve my journey into improving my health as well as my families health.

By Mauro G M

Jan 14, 2021

El curso es muy buena, se aprende a valorar a las comidas por su valor nutricional.

Lo más importante en la alimentación es aprender a balancear los nutrientes de las comidas,

En cada plato debe predominar el 50% comidas vivas (frutas y vegetales, el 25% de carbohidratos y el otro 25% de proteínas. La nutrición es según el trabajo desempeñado, Un deportista debe consumir nutrientes con mucha energía, Un profesional de la salud más comida viva y un obrero de la construcción civil, más carbohidratos.

By Deleted A

Jan 24, 2017

Should be required for everyone, even if you think you already eat healthily! Essential and up-to-date information about food and health is presented in an extremely clear and engaging manner. The quizzes are exceptional and you'll know you learned a lot when you are not only able to find the right answer, but correct the wrong answers in your head. Thank you so much for creating this course, I truly hope it helps change the world's eating behaviors and eliminates our population's chronic health crisis.

By Samar A A M

Sep 28, 2020

I have completely enjoyed that course .. that seems to be very beneficial to me and overall to my country's culture about nutrition facts and health issues ,, that encourages me greatly to change our thinking of food and eating habits ,, moreover it helps me to focus and learn more about nutrition and health with your online courses ,, thank you so much 😍

Finally I wished if you let me to move on and finish that course and will be very grateful if you could allow me to certification.. thanks overall

By Arianny R d C P

Jul 25, 2019

Sou muito grata por ter recebido a bolsa e ter conseguido concluir esse curso que já me engrandece e que certamente me ajudará em breve levar tal conhecimento para os meus pacientes e conhecidos. Obrigada equipe! Continuem proporcionando aprendizado e enriquecendo ainda mais essa plataforma. Gostaria de sugerir mais cursos de especialização na área da nutrição, acho que seria muito bom se tivesse pós graduação e mestrado com assuntos mais específicos para essa área. Obrigada mais uma vez, até breve.

By Desiree N B

May 13, 2020

Great class. Videos were great and I like that there is a visual (video) provided along side the notes.

I am a vegetarian and have learned a lot about nutrition and healthy eating in my personal quest to overcome some health conditions. In this course, I learned a little more about nutrition, macro nutrients, nutrient density, quality of foods, portion sizes and practical tips when food shopping, etc. "Eat food (real food). Not too much. Mostly Plants" is simple and sound guidance for anyone.

By Anu A

Dec 19, 2018

This is a wonderful intro to healthy eating, including the science behind foods and the psychology behind food advertising. I would highly recommend this to any teenager going off to college or really anyone who is learning how to cook or lose weight. I appreciate the nice graphics and the clear explanations. Even though I've taken other food and health courses before, I still learned some things with this class and it was so short/concise that it was worth it. Thank you, Dr. Adam and Mr. Pollan!

By Candice V

Jul 17, 2019

I really enjoyed this course and the supplemental videos, recipes, and resources at the end (Week 5). A lot of it was a refresher for me, but a helpful motivator to get back on track in certain areas of my family's nutritional life such as breakfast. My husband handles breakfast with boxed cereals, boxed pancakes, and bacon. I now have some motivation to make tweaks and implement new recipes (such as the blender pancakes) to help steer this meal in a healthier direction. Thank you Dr. Adam!

By Ana P

May 2, 2018

Hello, i am a nanny and i loved this course, because makes me understand how much important cooking could be in our lives. I would love to know more. Unfortunately i have finished my weeks in few days because i was too interested in it and i didn't have time to take notes . I would love to have the possibility to have the text regarding all of the videos so that i can keep them and review them whenever i feel like i need a motivation because i can say it LOUD: this course motivated me soo much!

By DINESH S S

Feb 28, 2021

A EXCELLENT DYNAMIC COURSE for Clearing CONCEPTs .

The Most CLARITY is DIETARY CARBOHYDRATES, DIETARY PROTEINS, DIETARY FATS and GLYCEMIC INDEX of FOOD and NUTRIENT DENSITY of FOOD = Amount of Nutritional Value ÷ Energy Content of the Food .

We need to be Focussing Moderation and Focus on PLANT PROTEIN DIET and Focus on Home Made Food for Long Term Health and WEIGHT MANAGEMENT.

Very Effective Course for CREATING AWARENESS related to OBESITY PANDEMIC .

Thanks

Dinesh Suresh Shetye

By Beáta K

Oct 11, 2018

I think this is a very useful and well-structured course, but the target group maybe wasn't me. As a European, who actually almost never eat prepared food, and cook reguralry there wasn't any new information for me, but the videos was very entertaining and again, well-structured. I think this course is recommend for everybody, because it's short, not too deep, but really complex. I'm really graetful, that it's scientifically correct, and neutral, and don't want to force us some new "diet".

By Samiah A

Nov 16, 2017

An easy to understand course with practical tips everyone can adapt. It starts on a basic level and doesn't require you to drastically change your diet, such as eliminate entire food groups or grow your own produce. A follow-up course will be helpful. These type of courses are needed since there is a lot of misinformation about diet. Many documentaries telling you to basically avoid everything that leave you dismal, hopeless, and more likely to give up on improving your diet altogether.

By Bartłomiej T

Feb 25, 2021

I think its a great and quick tool for learning the basics/fundamentals of nutrition. Great to see professionals pushing towards following the best up to date scientific literature and evidence of plant based substitution, especially seeing the detrimental effects the current food system has brought upon us and the lack of common knowledge in the general public. Thank you for providing everyone with an opportunity to learn and take the first step in their journey to health.

By Tawfiq A

Sep 11, 2019

Fantastic insights on nutrition, perfect illustration and clear audio explanation, being passionate about nutrition and food and currently working on my F&B sustainable food start-up my team and I found this course really beneficial and being a home chef I can now illustrate and inform on defining healthy conscious eating. Currently I am also enrolled on Stanford's child nutrition and cooking. Thanks to Coursera, and Maya Adams and the entire supporting team of this course.

By Liezel K

Feb 23, 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and will most definitely join another one. It so easy to follow and you can watch the videos as many times as you like if you want to update your notes. I also like the fact that when you start the next week, you can go back and watch the video clips again to recap. I enjoyed the course material and learned a lot. It certainly inspires you to start cooking healthier and to plan nutritious meals for your family. Thank you for a great course.

By Adeen K

Dec 1, 2019

an informative course that acknowledge us about basic food components and human body needs. taught about the importance of home cooking, nutritional value of processed and home cooked food and how we can improve our health by taking simple changes in our routine and can connect with our family members. most importantly this course helps to learn the skill of good shopping, how we can know about the quality of food by looking at its ingredients and nutritional value chart.

By Katia N

Jul 4, 2020

I could not have found a better course considering what I was looking for. I learned so much about healthy habits, how the food industry works, how with a few essential ingredients you can make a diverse menu and how to buy my products. I am very satisfied with the way this course has been made, loved that parts of it is Maya Adams talking, others interviewing Michael Pollan and others have pictures which are super easy to follow. Thank you so much for all I have learned!

By Diana M C L

Sep 7, 2016

This has been an excellent Course. The content itself is very clear and gives you an enormous background about food and eating habits, although is focused mostly in the western diet in USA I think that at least in America continent an other parts of the globe eating habits are similar, Public health is a great concern and I think that in this way we should change completely our habits and stop eating processed food. Congrats Stanford University more courses like this one.

By pavan k

Jun 15, 2017

This course guides us how to think while buying products in grocery store. I learnt that we should look at food as mixture of Colorful vegetables, healthy fats, whole grains.....not as mixture of Nutrients (I always get baffled with their chemical names). Maya Mam explained it in so easy way, she made me look the other side of products which they (some companies) claim as "Nutritional foods". This course helped me to get rid of some doubts I had about Supplement foods.