Chevron Left
Back to Food & Beverage Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Food & Beverage Management by Università Bocconi

4.8
stars
4,471 ratings

About the Course

Managing a company in the food and beverage industry is a fascinating task. Food and beverage products are so deeply rooted in the culture of most countries that making and selling them is not only a matter of making and selling good and tasty products, but products that nurture people's body, soul, and heart. Given this, it's not difficult to see that the task quickly becomes complex. The objective of this course is twofold: first, we will focus on contemporary challenges that managers and entrepreneurs in food and beverage businesses should be able to face; and second, we will provide models and tools to design and implement appropriate courses of action to satisfy customers and build an advantage over the competition. This course is made up of four modules and an introduction, each exploring one dilemma that food and beverage companies face. You will be presented with a set of video lectures and guest speakers. These lectures combine an accessible introduction to specific topics integrated with interviews of managers and experts that will give precious insights and examples to the participants. To enhance your learning experience with us, we will make a Documentary on the Excellences of the Modena District available for you, which is in a format that we have developed specifically for this course in order to give you the chance to experience first-hand the territory as our on-campus students usually do. Each module is paired with an evaluated quiz and weekly discussion forums to reflect on the variety of the F&B world, its complexity, and the power of the network that we will build together during the course. Successful completion of the quizzes is required for a course certificate as explained in the Grading Policy. Below the guest speakers of the course: Masterchef Italia Sky – Nils Hartmann, Head of Movie Channels at Sky Italia – www.masterchef.sky.it Eataly - Paolo Bongiovanni, Marketing Director Italy – www.eataly.net Berlucchi – Paolo Ziliani, Owner – www.berlucchi.it Joia Restaurant – Alta Cucina Naturale – Pietro Leemann, Owner and Chef – www.joia.it Branca – Nicolò Branca, Owner – www.branca.it Barilla – Giuseppe Morici, President Region Europe – www.barilla.com Proyecto Expo 2015 Chile – Guillermo Ariztia, Chile Pavillon Director – www.expomilan.cl Winery Il Cavallante, Milano – Sergio Morpurgo, Owner Heineken – Floris Cobelens, Marketing Director – www.heineken.com TRDN – Martin Oetting, Managing Director – www.trnd.com GROM – Federico Grom, Owner and Founder – www.grom.it/en Tetra Pak – Matthew Hatton, Director Competitor Intelligence – www.tetrapak.com BioHombre – Matteo Panini, CEO – www.hombre.it Acetaia Maletti – Carmen & Claudio Maletti Cantine Riunite & CIV – Vanni Lusetti, CEO; Francesca Benini, Sales & Marketing Manager; Elena Lottici, Export Manager; Mario Vandi, Brand Manager – www.riunite.it GlemGas – Marco Guerzoni, Program Product Manager – www.glemgas.com Bibendum Catering – LaFranceschetta58 – Sabrina Lazzereschi & Marta Pulini, Owners and Founders – www.bibendumcatering.it , www.franceschetta58.it DISCLAIMER - Since most of the videos are conducted with those whose native language is not English, we have decided to sometimes preserve their more emphatic speech to keep a tighter match between the audio and the subtitles....

Top reviews

SF

Jul 31, 2022

It's not easy, but it shouldn't be. If you go in with the intent to learn with interest in the subject. You will learn a lot. More than I thought I would. I'm a little sad that it is coming to an end.

JL

Sep 12, 2020

Very interesting introductory course to food & beverage management. Clear setup and interesting topics. ALso, the interviews with guest speakers are very interesting and relate to the topics covered.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 1,202 Reviews for Food & Beverage Management

By Rosario H G

Jun 11, 2020

I'm so happy to took this course and finished with hight score, I think this course it was make with information and essential subjects that we need and it's easy to understand because not only had sliders to study also the interviews are very important to be clear the meaning of those concepts that explain it. Well, I already just to say, Thank you very much to our profesor Gabriel Triolo and Bocconi University for amazing, useful content that give me an important new knowledge about the whole Food & Beverage World and I love you so much to have this opportunity. Thanks a lot and I hope visit you one day...

By Shamim R

Mar 28, 2022

Loved it!

Contemporary challenges of food and beverage industries and taking necessary managerial, strategic roles through entrepreneurship leadership roles are briefly addressed, discussed, and presented in four modules introducing dilemma on the beginning.

The course instructor has done an excellent job briefly explaining and nailing down each fact, issue, and business activity to likable situation solutions.

Would have been great if technological aspects of these, their leverage on food and beverage business operations are introduced to learners for learning.

By Arsen M

Oct 29, 2020

I worki in F&B industry for last 2 years and I wanted to grow as a professional in this fiels so I decided to find opportunities to master my skills and extend my knoweledge about industry. So, since I successfully completed this course I confidently can say that I learnt lot of things I didn't know before. Hopefully all information and insights I got from this course will help me understand food and beverage world better and give more opportunities to grow.

Special thanks to Professor Gabriele Troilo, wish you best of luck in your career!

By Victor M B

Mar 8, 2021

Curso muy completo, tengo +7 años de experiencia en finanzas/comerciales en Kellogg y PepsiCo, y siempre me he sentido decepcionado por la falta de mentalidad estratégica de muchos de mis compañeros de equipo en areas de mercadeo/comerciales. Creo con este curso se puede alcanzar un muy buen nivel de profesionalismo y pensamiento estratégico en question de horas. Me gustó la elegancia con la que se presentó el volumen de mercado, inmediatamente te pone a pensar en que variables o actividades incurrir para incrementar el consumo.

By Tae G K

Jan 31, 2022

Thank you professor for the best course, which gave me lots of insight and entrepreneurial mindset!! I really loved all the interviews conducted with local but at the same time global business owners. It was also very interesting to know more about Italian culture - especially culinary one - as well as your passion for delivering not only marketing/business techiniques but also true love for this F &B industries!! Sinceramente, Grazie!! Much love and repsect from Seoul, Korea!

By Juana B

May 9, 2020

I would like to thank the Coursera team for approving my financial aid. The same gratitude also goes to Bocconi University and Professor Troilo for carefully planning this course. The syllabus and the video lecture is user friendly, one can really understand the topic. The module is also provided so the learner can print and file it. This course improves my knowledge about food and beverage management.

Kudos to the whole team for crafting this course! I am beyond grateful!

Xoxo

By Micaela E R

Aug 22, 2020

Un curso completo, lleno de estrategias, experiencias, un montón de entrevistas y diferentes puntos de vista de profesionales increíbles, que comparten su conocimiento, sus logros y te abren los ojos a querer crear nuevas empresas y emprender nuevos negocios. Ayudando a tomar decisiones utilizando como base tu producto y tu mercado, en fin curso increíble, del que aprendí muchas cosas y las cuales deseo aplicar Dios mediante en un pequeño emprendimiento. Muchas gracias.

By ivana s

Mar 22, 2021

because I was a public relations background that which is required to establish cooperation with companies engaged in the field of food and beverages and I am also a student who is being send in pursuit of project which incidentally relates to food and beverages. On campus is not described in detail and depth of food and beverages so I find it difficult to send in pursuit of this project, I was recommended by a friend to attend coursera because here helps all

By Ronny D C M

Jul 7, 2021

Me ha gustado mucho el curso, la verdad es que los videos son muy dinámicos y concretos, los resumen de una manera que puede ser de fácil entendimiento para cualquier persona, además, te da la facilidad de encontrar artículos relacionados al tema y que son interesantes, por otra parte, las entrevistas te permiten conocer la opinión de varios chef o gerentes de restaurantes, los cuales han aplicado este sistema y conocen perfectamente el medio. ¡Felicidades!

By Alfio V

Dec 17, 2020

If you want to learn the basics of the Food and Beverage world, I recommend this Bocconi course. Well structured, the prof clearly presents the problems of this sector that many times managers and entrepreneurs fail to grasp and the ways in which it is possible to solve them. I find the interviews with managers and entrepreneurs in the sector really beautiful and stimulating, as they stimulate and give useful advice for entering or improving in this sector.

By Omar E M M

Aug 22, 2020

Mille grazie per le migliore curi, io non parlo molto italiano ma, so qualcosa.

I could't be more happy knowing that I've passed this great course and thanks to you, I have my own Certificate because you paid for it. I have earnt a lot of good content in case if in the future I have in mind to open and manage my own Restaurant... as i've said before in some comments, i'm here to adquire information rooted to the food to become a great chef. Thank you <3

By David M D R

Jun 28, 2020

Since I am an entrepreneur in the food and beverage business (specialty coffee), this course was truly useful for me and I believe it will be for anyone trying to make a living out of food and beverage. One of its key components is the fact that they present a formal framework to deal with the four dilemmas presented in the course while also explaning how real companies, big and small, applied such frameworks and ideas to make their businesses successful

By Sagar S K

Apr 13, 2021

Thank you for making this course available. It was simple to learn the basic concepts related to F&B Management. It was also great to have insights from entrepreneurs and business owners about management and their entrepreneurial journey. However, I wish there was a module dedicated to entrepreneurship alone. Also, there should have been equal focus on large F&B companies and their management as had been on the Restaurants and Hotels. Thanks again! 👍

By Stella

Mar 27, 2024

The most comprehensive and consistent course in the field of Food and Beverage Management! The detailed curriculum left no gaps and no unresolved questions. The Professor is a master in his field and everything was over explanatory. The additional interviews by specialists showed the reality behind the theory and all the cases are admirable for their work! I can not thank enough Prof. Gabriele Troilo for the work he put into this course! Grazie!

By swetha m

Jun 29, 2023

Very informative course covering fundamental concepts. The examples from food and beverage industry helped in understanding the content better. Add on was the interviews with experts after each week. The instructor Ass. Prof. Gabriele Troilo made the course very interesting. I would recommend this course to all beginners in food and beverage industry. I'll surely refer to the course content whenever in doubt regarding fundamentals of marketing.

By Erika P

Dec 4, 2020

I really enjoyed this course and every subject covered, especially the frequent focus on the wine industry. These are certainly notions and testimonies that will be useful to me in my career. I also want to thank Professor Troilo for having explained all the key concepts of the F&B world in a very effective and concise way. Super recommended for those who want to approach food and beverage products and services! Thank you very much

By Nicolas M

Feb 19, 2024

You should change the name of the course because it underestimates the value of this course. I started the course because I am looking for a job in a restaurant. When I saw the name, I didn't give it too much thought, and I started, and I love it. Currently, I am studying strategic marketing communication in Canada, and I find the course so many correlations and new interesting concepts you can apply to out side the industries.

By Silvana N

Jun 15, 2020

El curso me pareció muy completo y con mucho contenido relevante para las empresas que están en el sector. Como gerente de marca, podré aplicar muchos de los conocimientos adquiridos en el curso, sobre todo sobre segmentación, diferenciación, posicionamiento y comunicación de la marca.

Muchas gracias por dejarnos participar en este curso y darnos tips claves para crecer profesionalmente y crecer nuestros negocios.

By ABRAR M A

May 13, 2020

‘Varied & interesting’‘Used a good range of visual and discussion-based activities’‘Ready to use’ resources from professionals who are in touch with classroom practice.‘Incredibly informative’‘Useful Ofsted information on ‘Deep dives’’‘GCSE Pod – Heard of it but didn’t know how it worked until now.’‘A range of different activities/talks/presentations.’‘Found the take-away resources hugely helpful – thank you.’

By Luciana B M

May 28, 2020

Ótimo curso, qualquer pessoa interessada em abrir seu próprio negócio, na área da alimentação e bebidas deveria fazê-lo. O curso aborda o mercado, dentro da perspectiva do marketing e tem uma vasta gama de materiais disponíveis, além dos vídeos com as aulas, tem slides muito completos, outras sugestões de leitura e vídeos de entrevistas com grandes nomes da indústria, abordando o tema discutido nas aulas.

By Batuhan K

Jun 12, 2020

Prof. Troilo is amazing. He has good energy, his tonality, and the lengths of the courses are just right. Slides that provided with the course are really beneficial. And loved each interview and insights from the market-leading professionals. Quizzes and small questionnaires are mindfully selected and do require your knowledge about the topic. If you are in the Hospitality business, highly recommended.

By SITTIE A M

May 16, 2024

Super in-depth analysis of different aspects of food service businesses, and spectacular entrepreneurial education. This course gave me wide insights regarding food products in the market and is very helpful since my future career is closely related to the food service industry. The instructor is great at explaining details. Inclusion of interviews with business owners was well-appreciated. Thank you.

By Vick S

Nov 10, 2021

A very well done comprehensive and well structured course on the foundation level concepts and materials of food and beverage management. Useful and understandable basics of the industry at both regional and international levels. The website is really amazing and easily accessible, no much trouble. Great use of interviews with real business owners of top brands in the industry as well.

By Suvidha S

Aug 11, 2020

It was an amazing course, got to learn a lot on product and brand management. The interviews added in between helped to see the practical side of the matter. The speaker had a good command and excellent knowledge. "Think Big, Act small" The motto is something im going to keep in mind forever. This has overall helped me to have a better approach to my own small scale business.

By Brainerd P

Aug 14, 2020

Absolutely brilliant! The course teacher, Gabriele Troilo, is a wonderful teacher who is passionate about his course and subject. He has gone out of his way to make sure we get a rounded learning experience of his subject. His passion and love for his subject can be seen in every interaction with him. Thank you. One of the best Coursera courses I have done! Cheers.