Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Graphic Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Graphic Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.8
5,994 ratings
1,450 reviews

About the Course

Graphic Design is all around us! Words and pictures—the building blocks of graphic design—are the elements that carry the majority of the content in both the digital world and the printed world. As graphic design becomes more visible and prevalent in our lives, graphic design as a practice becomes more important in our culture. Through visual examples, this course will teach you the fundamental principles of graphic design: imagemaking, typography, composition, working with color and shape... foundational skills that are common in all areas of graphic design practice. I don't just want you to watch a video of someone talking about design, I want you to MAKE design! If you want to be a designer you have to be a maker and a communicator, so this course will offer you lots of opportunities to get your hands dirty with exercises and with more practical projects. At the end of this course you will have learned how to explore and investigate visual representation through a range of image-making techniques; understand basic principles of working with shape, color and pattern; been exposed to the language and skills of typography; and understand and have applied the principles of composition and visual contrast. If you complete the course, along with its optional (but highly recommended) briefs, you will have a core set of graphic design skills that you can apply to your own projects, or to more deeply investigate a specialized area of graphic design. To succeed in this course you will need access to a computer. You can complete this course without one but it will be tougher. Access to, and a beginner's level knowledge of Adobe Creative Suite programs, such as Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign will help you, especially if you want to complete the optional briefs....

Top reviews

AR

Apr 18, 2016

very good introductory course. i enjoyed the assignments, they are not overwhelming, easy to start, and the optional ones offer great opportunity to dig little deeper into graphic design fundamentals.

GA

Aug 21, 2018

Very interesting, I liked the format. Easy to follow, nice excercises. It's actually good to cover the basics of design, even if you are not an absolute beginner, and especially if you are self taught

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,408 Reviews for Fundamentals of Graphic Design

By Mariel G L

Feb 01, 2019

I discovered new ways of creating design through this course!

By Ksusha

Feb 13, 2019

Good course, everything is clear and intelligible!Thanks you!

By Art F D S

Feb 13, 2019

Very detailed and informative.

By thomas d

Jan 19, 2019

Great course, I learnt a lot, the teacher is passionate, precise and clear. Thanks a lot

By Maja L

Apr 03, 2019

This course was extremely informative and it encompassed numerous information which will be useful in my further professional development.

By Swati R

Apr 02, 2019

It was a very nice course and the video lectures was so helpful and thanks coursera for approving my financial aid.

I loved this course.

By Natalia B

Apr 04, 2019

Excellent course!

By Alvaro M

Apr 07, 2019

For anyone who wishes to understand and develop the essential fundamentals of Graphic Design.

By Marcela M

Apr 07, 2019

Really good introduction to most concepts in Graphic Design. The homework for each week is very useful and should not be skipped, even when optional!

By harshita r

Mar 31, 2019

The way of teaching is very creative and easily understandable.

By Paula R C R

Apr 13, 2019

very satisfactory!

By Aura M C

Apr 15, 2019

I really enjoyed every bit of this course!

Awesome content and teacher. It was also nice to get feedback on my work from peers as well to view the work of others! :)

By Enrico J

Apr 08, 2019

It is a great course and I learned a lot!

By Diana A

Apr 11, 2019

Great instructor, cannot wait for the next one.

By Senith M F

Apr 12, 2019

all the Knowledge!

By olaleye i

Apr 15, 2019

very helpful

By Shahadat A

Mar 12, 2019

Very Amazing course easy to understand Thank you all Coursera team

By Dongwan A

Mar 04, 2019

Very helpful

By Maria P

Mar 13, 2019

For someone who has always been a little bit afraid of Graphic Design for lack of completely knowing what it was about, this was a great course to tackle those fears while really understanding that to start entering the world of Graphic Design the only thing one needs is taking the time to learn the basic concepts, try thinking about them and then apply them. Thanks for a really great and eye-opening course.

By Pratik z

Mar 06, 2019

its good to learning new course

By M G

Mar 05, 2019

So practical fo me

By gerard w

Mar 15, 2019

I really enjoyed the course and the pace, it suited my time schedules jumping on when I can and I found the tutorials well delivered and easy to understand.

By Kirit S

Mar 15, 2019

Very good course to get started with Graphic Design.

By Alma Y A O

Mar 08, 2019

It's a very comprehensive course on the fundamentals of Graphic Design such as composition, image making, etc. It has very interesting exercises, the videos are well recorded, dynamic and full of useful information.

By Kozubova D

Mar 07, 2019

I like this course and the way how it gives information. I